We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location for Exploring Melbourne” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Save Saved
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Club & Suite Discount
Ranked #1 of 170 hotels in Melbourne
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Excellent Location for Exploring Melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

It's a Langham so there's not much else to say. Excellent service, excellent room, excellent staff. A special salute to the bell staff. The location on the south bank is perfect for touring and exploring Melbourne. Suggest consider joining 1865 if you have not already done so.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,511 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,860
    436
    146
    39
    30
See reviews for
381
1191
152
462
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

What an absolutely wonderful experience I had at this hotel. The staff cannot do enough for you, the location is ideal for most things in Melbourne and the indoor pool/jacuzzi has the most amazing views. I can't say enough good about this experience. Would go back there in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed a couple of nights. We found staff very helpful, the facilities and the location excellent. The rooms, of an adequate size, were comfortable, very clean and nicely decorated. The amenities in the room and bathroom were first class. However, I did find the air-con controls slow to respond and the doona was uncomfortably hot for me (not my wife!)- I would prefer a blanket. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast which was excellent. We did have a hire car with us and used the self-parking facility under the hotel as well as the Wilson car-park opposite so as to avoid paying the high valet-parking charge. During our stay, my wife misplaced a bag with our camera, GPS, etc. Hotel staff were great in helping us locate this bag and it was delivered to our room promptly. On check-out we noticed a discrepancy in the room rate we were charged and this was fixed promptly and with a smile by the check-out staff. A nice hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Staying in the Club Terrace Room for well over 500 dollars per night, the Langham still felt compelled to charge $7.50 'delivery fee' for room service. Further, I would expect better coffee in the staff room at the Department of Correctional Services than was served from an automatic 'espresso' machine in the Club Lounge. Breakfast also disappointing. This is Melbourne. Too much excellent competition to get away with these downfalls. Would not stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMelbourne, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to offer us your valuable feedback following your recent stay at The Langham, Melbourne. Please accept our apologies we did not meet your expectations and allow you to enjoy your stay. The Club Terrace rooms are indeed unique in Melbourne as they have 50sq m fully furnished outdoor areas with panoramic views over the city. Each terrace room and indeed suites in the hotel include a complimentary Nespresso coffee machine for your pleasure.
The Langham Melbourne charges a delivery fee for room service that allows for an elegant refined dining experience similar to a restaurant in the comfort of any of our guestrooms. Thank you for your feedback on the coffee you were served in the Club Lounge. We will certainly review our offering. We always encourage feedback and continually aspire to improve our guest experience when any physical or service issues are brought to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I stayed for 3 days and i enjoyed my stay.
Rooms were spacious and clean.
Bath was great, especially after a long day.
Had breakfast and dinner. Was pretty good but a bit expensive- but then its hotel.

Overall, enjoyed my stay. Good value for money. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossett, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The Langham is the number 1 hotel in Melbourne for good reason. Nothing is too much trouble and every experience a pleasure.
We stayed as the first stop on our honeymoon. We arrived around 7.30 am and our room was ready, which we were not expecting. Perfect after a 24 hr flight from the UK! A room upgrade was an amazing surprise and gave us a great city view.
The room was excellent, the bathroom luxurious and the bed super-comfortable!
When we arrived back that afternoon Francisco the service stylist had cake and bubbly sent to our room! We then decided to book a table for dinner that night, which Peter the concierge sorted out for us. These guys both really made our stay and could not do enough for us. I wish we could have stayed a week to take advantage of Peter's inside knowledge of all the cafes, restaurants and bars of the city.
I cannot wait to return and would not hesitate to recommend The Langham.

Room Tip: Go for city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay. We were guests at a wedding so decided to stay the night. All facilities were fantastic. Room size and amenities were more than adequate. The bed was extremely comfortable. Wedding chapel or room was tired and not decorated for a wedding. The views from the reception room were overlooking the Yarra and the Melbourne skyline were magical and so pretty at night. shame about the weather as it kept us inside most of the evening. Food at the reception was lovely and very well presented. invisible waiting staff were terrific. Breakfast was expensive, for what was available. the view from the windows again very good. Hotel is located close to many Melbourne attractions. Car parking was convenient. If l could get another night at a good price l would stay again.

Room Tip: Check their website for specials.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.