We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location for Exploring Melbourne” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
267 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Excellent Location for Exploring Melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

It's a Langham so there's not much else to say. Excellent service, excellent room, excellent staff. A special salute to the bell staff. The location on the south bank is perfect for touring and exploring Melbourne. Suggest consider joining 1865 if you have not already done so.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The2TravelingFools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

What an absolutely wonderful experience I had at this hotel. The staff cannot do enough for you, the location is ideal for most things in Melbourne and the indoor pool/jacuzzi has the most amazing views. I can't say enough good about this experience. Would go back there in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeggyMcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed a couple of nights. We found staff very helpful, the facilities and the location excellent. The rooms, of an adequate size, were comfortable, very clean and nicely decorated. The amenities in the room and bathroom were first class. However, I did find the air-con controls slow to respond and the doona was uncomfortably hot for me (not my wife!)- I would prefer a blanket. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast which was excellent. We did have a hire car with us and used the self-parking facility under the hotel as well as the Wilson car-park opposite so as to avoid paying the high valet-parking charge. During our stay, my wife misplaced a bag with our camera, GPS, etc. Hotel staff were great in helping us locate this bag and it was delivered to our room promptly. On check-out we noticed a discrepancy in the room rate we were charged and this was fixed promptly and with a smile by the check-out staff. A nice hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BertiePMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Staying in the Club Terrace Room for well over 500 dollars per night, the Langham still felt compelled to charge $7.50 'delivery fee' for room service. Further, I would expect better coffee in the staff room at the Department of Correctional Services than was served from an automatic 'espresso' machine in the Club Lounge. Breakfast also disappointing. This is Melbourne. Too much excellent competition to get away with these downfalls. Would not stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clarence_Street
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMelbourne, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to offer us your valuable feedback following your recent stay at The Langham, Melbourne. Please accept our apologies we did not meet your expectations and allow you to enjoy your stay. The Club Terrace rooms are indeed unique in Melbourne as they have 50sq m fully furnished outdoor areas with panoramic views over the city. Each terrace room and indeed suites in the hotel include a complimentary Nespresso coffee machine for your pleasure.
The Langham Melbourne charges a delivery fee for room service that allows for an elegant refined dining experience similar to a restaurant in the comfort of any of our guestrooms. Thank you for your feedback on the coffee you were served in the Club Lounge. We will certainly review our offering. We always encourage feedback and continually aspire to improve our guest experience when any physical or service issues are brought to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stayed for 3 days and i enjoyed my stay.
Rooms were spacious and clean.
Bath was great, especially after a long day.
Had breakfast and dinner. Was pretty good but a bit expensive- but then its hotel.

Overall, enjoyed my stay. Good value for money. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victoriachch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The Langham is the number 1 hotel in Melbourne for good reason. Nothing is too much trouble and every experience a pleasure.
We stayed as the first stop on our honeymoon. We arrived around 7.30 am and our room was ready, which we were not expecting. Perfect after a 24 hr flight from the UK! A room upgrade was an amazing surprise and gave us a great city view.
The room was excellent, the bathroom luxurious and the bed super-comfortable!
When we arrived back that afternoon Francisco the service stylist had cake and bubbly sent to our room! We then decided to book a table for dinner that night, which Peter the concierge sorted out for us. These guys both really made our stay and could not do enough for us. I wish we could have stayed a week to take advantage of Peter's inside knowledge of all the cafes, restaurants and bars of the city.
I cannot wait to return and would not hesitate to recommend The Langham.

Room Tip: Go for city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mattag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay. We were guests at a wedding so decided to stay the night. All facilities were fantastic. Room size and amenities were more than adequate. The bed was extremely comfortable. Wedding chapel or room was tired and not decorated for a wedding. The views from the reception room were overlooking the Yarra and the Melbourne skyline were magical and so pretty at night. shame about the weather as it kept us inside most of the evening. Food at the reception was lovely and very well presented. invisible waiting staff were terrific. Breakfast was expensive, for what was available. the view from the windows again very good. Hotel is located close to many Melbourne attractions. Car parking was convenient. If l could get another night at a good price l would stay again.

Room Tip: Check their website for specials.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juda_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,614 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers
Crown Towers
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,629 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Amex, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing