We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed like a fluffy cloud” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Save Saved
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Club & Suite Discount
Ranked #1 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Bed like a fluffy cloud”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Just one night but it was pure bliss. Service was friendly, incredibly helpful and genuine. Thev room was gracious and calming, impeccably maintained and the beds are too wonderful. The best nights sleep I have had in years. I did not want to leave this space.
From the front door through to housekeeping, not a thing was out of place. Cannot recommend highly enough for any occasion. A delightful and gracious hotel. Thank you for giving me a divine weekend.

Room Tip: Dial a pillow type is an added bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,906
    446
    150
    39
    31
See reviews for
394
1219
154
475
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (665)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We love the Langham. Pricey but worth it whenever you truly want to spoil yourself. Great location at Southbank. Wonderful for a special occasion. Easy distance to walk into the city. Will be back again as soon as we have saved some coin!

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My Husband and I enjoyed a 2 night stay after our Wedding before we flew back to Western Australia. From the moment we arrived the service was excellent !! Our room was spotlessly clean with a amazing view of the Yarra & Federation Square. We enjoyed the "congratulations" cake plate and the note left under the door. Dinner in Melba was fantastic along with the buffet breakfast . With a perfect location we both throughly enjoyed our stay !!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The Langham was a great place to relax following our running of the Melbourne Marathon - the full 42km of it. From the deep bath to the huge bed and luxurious pillows, it was the perfect recovery. And the magazines and copy of Alice in Wonderland were a nice touch. We also thoroughly enjoyed the extensive buffet in Melba restaurant (although were a bit disappointed with the wine list which we believe is being updated).

Given the unsettled weather during our stay, the hotel was perfectly located for the restaurants and shops at Southgate and for a visit to the Eureka building.

The main disappointment was the view from the room. The Grand River View Room would have been better described as partial view.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and I spent a night here in August, sorry it took so long to leave a review. This entire hotel is immaculate - the room, the bed, the view, the service, the food... everything. A real treat!
Will hopefully be returning soon!

Room Tip: It's worth spending the extra money for one of the higher/better rooms. It becomes an experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Working in the travel industry I've been recommending & booking my clients into this hotel for 6+ years. This year we decided to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary at the Langham & walked away feeling very let down. It's a tradition of ours to travel to melbourne for our anniversary every year as this is where we got engaged ! We stayed in a club room with Club lounge access & found everything to be very mediocre compared to other 5 Star hotels in Melbourne ( we have stayed at the Sofitel, Park Hyatt and Stamford on previous visits) At these other hotels we have always received some special touches when celebrating our anniversary such as welcome notes , bottles of champaign, flower & fruit baskets and handmade chocolates - all we received was a congratulations when we checked it ... further to that the lounge was a let down with the food & drink selection being limited & rather average (the hot Buffett breakfast was ice cold) Our room was nice but nothing spectacular and a little worn! There was mould in the bathroom. They do provide a turn down service but again no special touches like chocolates or anything ! It may just seem like I am having a moan because nothing was seriously wrong it's just that when paying the price you do to stay at the Langham one does expect all the bells & whistles especially when celebrating a special occasion. I will complement them on their staff that were serving us in the lounge for breakfast, the male host was more than attentitive to our needs & was so embarrassed when we mentioned that the Buffett was cold and offered to have a fresh breakfast made for us but we didn't have time. Not a horrible place to stay but far superior properties await you in Melbourne.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMelbourne, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to offer us your valuable feedback following your recent stay at The Langham, Melbourne. We are pleased that you found our Club butler attentive to your needs and attempted to resolve the unfortunate incident with your buffet breakfast. We are disappointed to learn of our lack of recognition for you and your husband’s special occasion. We have checked your reservation and appear not to have the correct information. We have contacted you directly to investigate why we did not have that. We do provide a Langham amenity for guests who are celebrating special occasions. This should go hand in hand with the hotel turndown service. At Langham we offer turndown service to all guest rooms consisting of servicing the room, turning back the bed, slippers and turndown mats, as well as complimentary Langham bottled water. As a 5-star Langham Hotel we pride ourselves on delivering luxurious and quality experiences and have passed on your comments regarding the guest room to our Executive Housekeeper as well as the Club Duty Manager so that they may be shared with their teams. Please accept our apologies we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks, UK
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stayed here by accident as the Westin had given my room away despite it being prepaid. The Langham is a very traditional hotel, the sort of place your grandparents would love, but the staff were very friendly, the rooms a good size, well stocked mini bar and had everything you needed. It is an old fashioned, high quality hotel

The beds were extremely comfortable and despite not being a big sleeper I didn't wake up until 11:45am! Unheard of.

If you want a good nights sleep I would recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.