We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quick Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

My Husband and I enjoyed a 2 night stay after our Wedding before we flew back to Western Australia. From the moment we arrived the service was excellent !! Our room was spotlessly clean with a amazing view of the Yarra & Federation Square. We enjoyed the "congratulations" cake plate and the note left under the door. Dinner in Melba was fantastic along with the buffet breakfast . With a perfect location we both throughly enjoyed our stay !!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 13MinnieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The Langham was a great place to relax following our running of the Melbourne Marathon - the full 42km of it. From the deep bath to the huge bed and luxurious pillows, it was the perfect recovery. And the magazines and copy of Alice in Wonderland were a nice touch. We also thoroughly enjoyed the extensive buffet in Melba restaurant (although were a bit disappointed with the wine list which we believe is being updated).

Given the unsettled weather during our stay, the hotel was perfectly located for the restaurants and shops at Southgate and for a visit to the Eureka building.

The main disappointment was the view from the room. The Grand River View Room would have been better described as partial view.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smalltoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and I spent a night here in August, sorry it took so long to leave a review. This entire hotel is immaculate - the room, the bed, the view, the service, the food... everything. A real treat!
Will hopefully be returning soon!

Room Tip: It's worth spending the extra money for one of the higher/better rooms. It becomes an experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jess W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Working in the travel industry I've been recommending & booking my clients into this hotel for 6+ years. This year we decided to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary at the Langham & walked away feeling very let down. It's a tradition of ours to travel to melbourne for our anniversary every year as this is where we got engaged ! We stayed in a club room with Club lounge access & found everything to be very mediocre compared to other 5 Star hotels in Melbourne ( we have stayed at the Sofitel, Park Hyatt and Stamford on previous visits) At these other hotels we have always received some special touches when celebrating our anniversary such as welcome notes , bottles of champaign, flower & fruit baskets and handmade chocolates - all we received was a congratulations when we checked it ... further to that the lounge was a let down with the food & drink selection being limited & rather average (the hot Buffett breakfast was ice cold) Our room was nice but nothing spectacular and a little worn! There was mould in the bathroom. They do provide a turn down service but again no special touches like chocolates or anything ! It may just seem like I am having a moan because nothing was seriously wrong it's just that when paying the price you do to stay at the Langham one does expect all the bells & whistles especially when celebrating a special occasion. I will complement them on their staff that were serving us in the lounge for breakfast, the male host was more than attentitive to our needs & was so embarrassed when we mentioned that the Buffett was cold and offered to have a fresh breakfast made for us but we didn't have time. Not a horrible place to stay but far superior properties await you in Melbourne.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DLfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMelbourne, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to offer us your valuable feedback following your recent stay at The Langham, Melbourne. We are pleased that you found our Club butler attentive to your needs and attempted to resolve the unfortunate incident with your buffet breakfast. We are disappointed to learn of our lack of recognition for you and your husband’s special occasion. We have checked your reservation and appear not to have the correct information. We have contacted you directly to investigate why we did not have that. We do provide a Langham amenity for guests who are celebrating special occasions. This should go hand in hand with the hotel turndown service. At Langham we offer turndown service to all guest rooms consisting of servicing the room, turning back the bed, slippers and turndown mats, as well as complimentary Langham bottled water. As a 5-star Langham Hotel we pride ourselves on delivering luxurious and quality experiences and have passed on your comments regarding the guest room to our Executive Housekeeper as well as the Club Duty Manager so that they may be shared with their teams. Please accept our apologies we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks, UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stayed here by accident as the Westin had given my room away despite it being prepaid. The Langham is a very traditional hotel, the sort of place your grandparents would love, but the staff were very friendly, the rooms a good size, well stocked mini bar and had everything you needed. It is an old fashioned, high quality hotel

The beds were extremely comfortable and despite not being a big sleeper I didn't wake up until 11:45am! Unheard of.

If you want a good nights sleep I would recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonandSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I started an 11 day Tauck tour of Australia with 3 nights at the Langham Hotel in Melbourne. The lobby decor was spectacular--the marble fountains seemed to glow from within. Food and service were excellent. My room was spacious and beautifully decorated. The bathroom was floor-to-ceiling golden marble--I wanted to pack it in my suitcase and bring it home! I had a broad view of the Yarra River from my room, along with the elegant old-world building that houses the train station, with its background of downtown skyscrapers. This is one hotel that I can heartily reccommend as a base from which to explore the delights of Melbourne.

Room Tip: Ask for view of Yarra River. Outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kepc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Island, Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

After coming from Park Hyatt to this Hotel it is a big comedown. Realistically this hotel is overpriced rip off at best.
we arrived on Sunday B taxi ina freezing cold day only to be turned away at 2pm because room wasn't ready for at least 3pm .we went to have lunch at Melbas but at $99.00 each for the buffet we had tofillintimeoutsidethe hotel in freezing cold conditions to wait for the call that never came.
At 3.25pm we went back to see if room was ready and it was, even though we got No call.
We finally got our room and it was only small studio style with the smallest of bathrooms.
We did have a view of the Yarra River which is Not impressive at all.
The Spa was OK but pool ,too small. View was fair.
Best thing f all was the quaint Gift Shop with the room spray and Shabby chic cards .
Meals here are too small and wine too expensive .
View from Melbas is tiring and too busy especially comparing with the Park Hyatt. I would nt come here again.
What I liked best was :the Pink biros,the bed ,pillows,the room spray,the Salmon at breakfast,the orchids and that's it.ooh and I forgot to mention the dirty carpet at checkin

Room Tip: Belong to club Langham
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hardiman_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMelbourne, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to offer us your valuable feedback following your recent stay at The Langham, Melbourne. We are pleased that you found several aspects of your stay enjoyable and that you found our Flavours of Langham Shop and the items we have available to your liking. We are sorry that you had to wait for your room, whilst cheek-in time is 3:00pm there can occasionally be some delay due to varying check out times of other guests and availability of specific room types. We do endeavour to have rooms ready as soon as possible from time of arrival. We passed on your comment that you did not receive the arranged call or a SMS regarding your room to our Front Office Manager to investigate. We do hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,614 reviews
Crown Towers
#3 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,628 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing