We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful as always!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Pakenham, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful as always!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This was my fourth visit to the Langham. It is a lovely hotel on the south side of the Yarra river, close to entertainment, restaurants and shopping. Most things are within walking distance or a short tram ride. The staff are wonderful, particularly those in the executive lounge who always remember us and go out of their way to ensure that our visit is memorable. The rooms are very comfortable and spotlessly clean. A complimentary trip through the city in the hotel's pink London taxi is fun. The gift shop also has some cute momentoes to purchase. If you like the way the hotel entrance smells you can buy the oil and spray here to use at home. I am looking forward to my next visit in January.

Room Tip: River view rooms give a wonderful view of the city. Executive club membership is very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,240
    531
    176
    47
    37
See reviews for
458
1,466
168
538
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (830)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Worth it even at this price for a special treat, staff were extremely good, walking distance to so many great restaurants, we saved heaps in taxi fares. Good bar and view of river pretty good too. Nothing really more to say, really enjoyed this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at the Langham for our anniversary. We notified the hotel prior via email that our stay was for a special occasion. Upon check in, we were notified that we had been upgraded to the river view room. The room was gorgeous with a fantastic view. We were also delivered many little surprises during our stay. The chocolate cake, champagne and chocolate covered strawberries delivered to our room on separate occasions were so thoughtful and made us feel very special indeed. The reviews say this hotel has first class service and we couldn’t agree more. The breakfast the next morning was also fantastic, with many options to choose from in the buffet. Thanks to the hotel we definitely celebrated our anniversary in style! We will definitely be recommending this hotel to our family and friends.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Fortunately my wife & I get to stay here together and separately a few times a year at least and it is always perfect, especially the service, for which the Langham Hotels are consistently strong on. Food was great, superb location, gorgeous bed provides a perfect nights sleep, but the staff really make this place special!

Room Tip: Riverside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

travelling around around Australia for our honeymoon so we decided to treat ourselves to two nights at the langham. Great breakfast, staff, location and atmosphere. The staff went above and beyond to make sure our stay was was enjoyable. Just a smile can lighten up your morning and the langham made our trip to to Melbourne!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bairnsdale, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My partner surprised me for my Birthday with the trip to Melbourne. I was absolutely wrapped with the quality of service and the eye for detail. Already at the check in the lady was so welcoming and friendly. As we entered the room the view over the river and the skyline of the city are breathtaking no matter how often you see it. The room was luxurious and clean. The concierge had organised a table at the Rockpool, my favourite Restaurant! When we came back we had little gift waiting for me. Thank you so very much to all staff that made our stay so special. We certainly will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here over the weekend for a kid free break. We couldn't speak highly enough of the Langham hotel. Everything was done to perfection. From the moment we arrived to the minute we left, the staff were friendly, professional, and helpful. The room was spotless and the bed was very comfortable. There were little things that were more than expected ie bottles of water next to the bed which were replenished everyday. The atmosphere in the hotel was really warm, elegant and 5 star. We found the location to also be very handy, as it was within walking distance to the Crown Casino aswell as having many restaurants/bars to choose from along the Yarra River. We would not hesitate in staying there again and would recommend it to anybody wanting to enjoy a lovely break at a reasonable price for a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.