We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Save Saved
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Club & Suite Discount
Ranked #1 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed during Easter break weekend for 5 nights with my sisters. Though it's not the best time to visit Melbourne since most of the places was closed during Easter weekend but the hotel stay was top notch. Excellent service, this hotel is just wonderful. I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Melbourne.

The room was spacious and wonderful, the amenities was great (its pink and cute) and most importantly the bed was so comfortable.

The hotel is situated on Southbank and its's a short walk across the bridge to Flinder's station. Very accessible by foot, only 10 to 15 minutes away to the heart of the city centre (It says a lot coming from an Asian, who doesn't walk much on a daily basis).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,508 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,857
    436
    146
    39
    30
See reviews for
380
1189
152
462
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the langham for our 21 wedding anniversary . Wow " from the amazing foyer to check in the staff were all so friendly and made us feel welcome , nothing was to much trouble , the Melba restaurant was beautiful for our anniversary dinner and when we arrived back in the room we had been left a complimentary bottle of chamagne and choclates ,, we felt spoilt . our breakfast was lovely also , we have stayed here on many occasions and always feel like royalty . We will keep coming back .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed at The Langham for my husbands birthday and it did not disappoint. The staff were very professional, helpful and friendly. Nothing seems to much trouble for staff and they make you feel very special and ensure that your stay is memorable. The breakfasts are fantastic, with an excellent choice and a chef on hand to cook up anything you desire. The rooms are very comfortable and clean and the beds are also comfortable. The only slight negative, was the room next door woke us both mornings very early as we could hear the water being turned on and off. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Langham Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Like all the other reviews, this hotel is fantastic - comfy beds, large rooms, great reception staff, beautiful bathroom assessories if yr into that kind of stuff. The noise on the 24th floor (club floor) is terrible though - from 4am there is a constant beebing noise (I assume from the staff lifts???) and the sound of trollers and doors being shut. I notified the reception of the beeping as it at first sounded like a loud fire alarm that needed a replacement battery -- but nothing was done... for the extra price to have "club" privileges it's not worth having to be woken up and continually annoyed by this noise.. I needed to leave my room.... ps.I am not a morning person & at the best if times would get up at 6am not 4am!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed at Langham recently. Great service. Location is excellent with all the good restaurants along the south bank. The room is wonderful and the bed was good. Pillows are great. The gym is excellent as is the swimming pool. Pick a room facing the river for a fantastic view.

Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the river. Fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Langham Hotel is situated perfectly to be able to walk to tram station, MCG and Rod Laver arena. The club lounge was great, although breakfast selection not as extensive as Melba, but who needs chocolate fountain and lollies for breakfast. The bed and pillows are amazing and the service is fantastic on all levels. From the greet at the door to reception to everyone you meet in the hall way the staff are very friendly. The Gym and sauna are very good, and its great that the steam and sauna rooms are in the change rooms. The lunch buffet is outstanding with more food than you can ever eat and lots of choice. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Stayed on club floor with view across the Yarra river. Rooms are quiet with access to the Club loung...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunshine coast
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I had heard of the Langham, and was expecting great things. They did not disappoint.
The service at the door and at reception is brilliant
The room is wonderful - soft, old world, and the bed is amazing. Pillows are great.
The gym is excellent as is the swimming pool.
What they need to improve: the channels at the gym are too few, they need some movie channels. That part was disappointing. I really expected more.
The spa looks great but at 160 for an hour massage, a bit steep.
Location is perfect.
I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;