We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oozes luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Oozes luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Fantastic hotel that oozes luxury. From the moment you step out of your car the staff can not do enough for you. We had a suite which was very well set out. The bed and pillow was superb. The hotel is directly opposite Flinders Street Station but your heard nothing of the trains or city night life. Location is great right on the Yarra - close to transport and the city. Joshua in the Club Lounge was lovely. I would highly recommend this hotel. We will definitely stay again the next time we are in Melbourne.

Room Tip: I think any would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,135
    494
    168
    43
    36
See reviews for
432
1,383
162
523
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (769)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This review is for mid September 2012, my wife and I stayed here for our wedding night. The hotel is great, the room was fantastic and it was great how the hotel allowed us to take photos there during our wedding day photo shoot (must be approved beforehand). However i must say that i was disappointed for one reason, the reason is that after paying $600+ for one night (spa suite), you would expect the buffet breakfast is at Melba Restaurant, instead our buffet breakfast was on a different floor and was no where near as good as the breakfast at Melba. I was told breakfast was included and assumed it will be in the hotel restaurant (as is the norm in 5 star hotels), instead my wife and I were in a room eating cereal on one of the upper levels. The Langham Hotel should've explained this to my properly as i was booking, i felt that this was a little misleading. My wife and I also felt that the staff never went out of their way to congratulate us or make us feel special, any other 5 star hotel in Melbourne would have done so.To pay over $600 for this, simply not worth it. For the same price you can stay Crown Towers were you are treated like royalty.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Enter another world where the chaos of the day melts away on arrival. I had a very difficult day and checked in fully 'wound-up'. What charming service I received from the moment I got there. Lovely room with an amazing balcony and views of my town - Melbourne. I travel mainly for business so, the personal experience of this stay was going to be important. The Lanham and their wonderful staff did not disappoint. I will be back and recommend this hotel to everyone. Just lovely, soft, exclusive, calm, friendly and so efficient... Many thanks.

Room Tip: I chose one of seven rooms with a very generous balcony with outdoor furniture to relax. Great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel numerous times. I can not fault it.
Best hotel in Melbourne.
You enter the hotel to a magnificent chandelier and the scene is set. The decor in this hotel is luxe and just transports you to a different head space - truly time to be pampered and relax.
The staff are exceptional. They go above and beyond. Always friendly and willing to lend a hand.
Melba is amazing for buffet, and their champagne bar is perfect for high tea or the delectable chocolate buffet!
The rooms are so beautiful, and that bed.... Pure divinity to sleep on. Super clean and immaculately presented.
The location is perfect - walking distance to Crown and just far enough not to be in the hustle and bustle.
Love this hotel and I always recommend it to anyone who is going to Melbourne!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

It had been almost two years since I last stayed at the Langham so was pleasantly surprised to find that they still had my Langham membership details and preferences all ready when I arrived. I had a room at the end of the passage but which meant it had great views on two sides of the river and overlooked Flinders Station and downtown.

In actuality I found the walk from the hotel to Collins Street where most of the offices are was much shorter than I anticipated and the immediate adjacency to the South bank restaurants makes for almost a dozen 'in-house' restaurants.

Will definitely stick to the Langham in Melbourne

Room Tip: definitely a room with a view overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

As soon as we pulled up to the front door, we were treated like Kings and Queens. The Staff were professional, friendly, attended to ever need, went out of their way to ensure we had the best time. The food... where do I start, the best I think I have ever had. The room was stunning, loved the personal greeting on the TV as we walked in, everything was crisp, clean, and the view looking over the Yarra River was divine. Wait until you try the king sized beds!! cannot wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Langham Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australian in New York
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I like to give balanced fair reviews so I was trying to think of something constructive to write, perhaps an improvement that they could make but there isn't one. Our stay at the Langham was without fault. We arrived very early and they had a room ready for us. The staff were friendly helpful and spent time helping us even if it was late and even if they were busy. And they had a sense of humour. The rooms were immaculate, the beds comfy and spacious, the bathrooms modern. Breakfast was wonderful complete with chocolate fountain and even on a busy Fathers Day it all flowed (no pun intended) and was managed with poise. The Spa was a fabulous experience and highly recommended and sitting in the hot tub on the 9th floor admiring the view was a very nice way to pass some time. I loved the location. In the past we have stayed at The Blackman which we loved but this location is unbeatable. We were there to see the Monet Exhibition which was about 400m away if that. The famous laneways are just across the river and if the Casino is what you're after, it's just a 10 minute walk along the riverfront. I have already booked to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.