We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget the Rest - This is It” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Save Saved
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Club & Suite Discount
Ranked #1 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Houston, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Forget the Rest - This is It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Can't say enough about how special this hotel is - we are so fortunate to have picked it! The views of the Yarra river, the room space, the luxurious bedding - sheer elegance! Breakfast buffet terrific, dinner at the Melba,while pricey, is superb. Every person we came in contact with was helpful, particularly the Concierge who turned us on to the free hop-on-hop-off bus shuttle versus the one for money, and where Geoffrey Rush has been known to have a meal or two (The Deck). Southbank has tons to offer and Museums are right around the corner. Husband's business luckily located right next door. Running out of superlatives. Just one question - when can we come back to the Langham?

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,443 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,808
    427
    141
    39
    28
See reviews for
370
1150
150
453
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (621)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ulm, Germany
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This was my second stay this year in the Langham and I enjoyed my 5 days much more than I did during my last stay in March. This time almost everything was perfect: Reception was very efficient and friendly (very important after a 24 hours flight from Europe!) and the room was pretty good (highest floor, nice Yarra view and absolutely clean!). And I enjoyed very much the relaxing atmosphere in the Club Lounge (and of course the high quality of food and service!). Other good news: the showergel is no longer from China and the mineralwater no longer from Norway.

Well, there are some minor negative points:
- even i walked in and out several times per day for 5 days I was completely ignored by the doormen (no welcome, even no smile, simply nothing - they seem to be very selective and a bit arrogant)
- when will Wifi finally be for free?
- i always loved the fluffy slippers in the Langham... but they seem to be sacrificed in order to reduce expenses
- the last years i always found a personnel message of the hotel's managing director in my room - not this time (something I don't need but if you don't get it any longer after many years you ask yourself "why?")

So all in all I would rate the Langham somewhere between 4 and 5 stars... but they get definetely 5 stars because of Mr Sumati who is working in the Club Lounge: i can't remember to have ever seen before a hotel staff that is so much customer focussed and so enthousiastic about his job. A real 'wow'!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The only 5* I'd give to this hotel is for the price. The service is really bad. Waiting for 2 hours for the luggage, waiting for 20 min. for a coffee at the breakfast, that's too much. The fitness room's equipment is partly broken. The absolute "highlight" was a bar tender, who stopped serving drinks at 10.30 p.m. The reason: "You are drunk" (really not true!).
Too much no goes for a 5* hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Every part of our stay was excellent. The staff are pofessional and nothing is too much trouble. rooms are well appointed, but the extra little touches make it really special. just little things like the turn down service, terrific room service and a little pair of slippers by the superbly comfortable bed. A perfect nights sleep, no noise from the street or from noisy lifts "dinging" every time they land. The foyer is spectacular, but above all the staff really seem to genuinely care about the guests and alays hav a smile and a gretting. in a nutshell, we felt special. will defianelty treat ourselves again.

Room Tip: ask for a river view its delightful at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glass House Mountains, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We loved our stay. The hotel was spotlessly clean and everything was immaculate. The bed was the most gorgeous bed I have ever slept in. We had really lovely views of the river.

Reception staff were really helpful throughout our stay, as we're the cleaning staff.

The only two negatives were small, but in both cases could have been dealt with in a more customer-focussed way. a problem we had with the safe in our room (battery was dead) and when our door cards failed to work. Since we had inadvertently left the "do not disturb" sign on the door and despite the fact that we had called for assistance, no one knocked, and nor did they follow-up by phone. This caused delays that meant we had to leave valuables unsecured in our room.

The second challenge was that the door security cards both deactivated and I was left standing outside while my husband went to get the card activated. A cleaning staff member was unable to help, and for security reasons I understand that, but I felt she could have helped by calling for assistance. The delay seemed excessive, but to be fair I was very tired, so maybe not the most patient at the time.

However, in spite of these two issues we really loved our stay, and will stay again when we are in Melbourne and I would absolutely recommend this hotel as among the best we have stayed with worldwide.

Room Tip: We had a river-view room on the 17th floor and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa Heads, Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

On a recent business trip to Melbourne, we enjoyed only 1 night at The Langham at Southbank. We got a great package room/valet parking and breakfast. Every now and then we all need to spoil ourselves with some luxury, comfort and style. Stunning hotel, very friendly and helpful staff as nothing was too much trouble for them. Easy walking distance to the Convention Centre where we attended a trade fair. Great spot right on Southbank with lots of activity going on. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Our room was lovely it didn't face the river, but we spent little time there it didn't matte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
188 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
482 helpful votes 482 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was our first trip to Melbourne. After a two nights stay at the Grand Mercure Flinder's Lane (see my other review), we walked 8-10 minutes to The Langham, across Flinder's station underpass and the footbridge - easy & scenic. Check in at 12 noon was not a problem but even though they knew it was the eve of my birthday, a request for a small upgrade was turned down right away at Reception.

Having booked a Grand River view room, we were impressed by the commanding views it afforded over the Melbourne CBD and Flinder's Station - very nice indeed! The room, though not big at 32 sqm, was very well formed - writing desk with two chairs that doubles as a dinning table, arm chair with ottoman (great!), very small tub and a separate shower cubicle (cosy), TV with many channels.

Then why the 'average' rating, you may ask? Other than no free upgrade (received a hand written congratulatory note though, thanks!), the left hand bed had sacked terribly and the pillow, too soft to provide any neck support! Husband did not sleep well and woke up with a sprained neck! No free Wifi in room (at this modern times & technology, high room prices?!), and very expensive breakfasts.

We had stayed at both of their Langham hotels in Hong Kong and had fond memories of the one in Shanghai Street where once you open their minibar, you will find a note that says 'Now that you have found me, I am yours for free' - a tag placed right next to some ice creams. It is little things like this that guests would remember for a long long time.

To us, though The Langham in Melbourne is in an enviable position (5-8 minutes walk to The Crown Casino), has a unique and grand fountain feature in the Lobby and lastly, if you book a River view room, you will find yourselves with great CBD views, it has nothing much to offer to its guests who has to pay through their noses.

Hope they would upgrade or change their beds in room 1729 soon. Also, the sound proofing between rooms is not great and occasionally, you could even hear plumbing noises - both no so nice for a purported 5 stars Hotel, currently rated the number one spot on Tripadvisor .... frankly, this really baffles me!

Room Tip: Must go for a River view room, higher floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Restaurant, Fre...
Show More
Southbank
Crown Towers
Crown Towers
#2 of 171 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,006 reviews
Luxury, Restaur...
Show More
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Restaurant, Ind...
Show More
Melbourne CBD
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#6 of 171 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Romantic, Luxur...
Show More
Quay West Suites Melbourne
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#5 of 171 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 571 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
Melbourne CBD
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#12 of 171 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 322 reviews
Suites, Romanti...
Show More
Art Series - The Blackman
Art Series - The Blackman
#7 of 171 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.