We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe the best in Australia...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Save Saved
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Club & Suite Discount
Ranked #1 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
brisbane
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Maybe the best in Australia...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

I think it is fair to say that hotels is Australia generally fall behind standards elsewhere in the world. In my experience travelling around Australia, only Sydney and Melbourne offer truly high class hotels and the Langham is up amongst the best.
On checking in we were informed that we had been upgraded to a high floor, not sure why this is considered an upgrade but the room was spacious and well furnished with a large bathroom with separate shower. The bathroom soaps and shampoos were top quality as were the complimentary selection of coffees and teas available. The bed was superbly comfortable with top quality bedding and this made for a great nights sleep.
For dining I would also recommend the buffet, which for me is not a normal selection option as I prefer a la carte. However it is not cheap at over $60 but the quality is reflected in the price and it was enormously popular given the number of people dining there.
My only gripe is the cost of Internet, I think it was $40 for two days which compared to free wife normally available elsewhere in the world a scandalous extra, surely in this day and age they could do better.
Overall a great hotel in an excellent location.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsington, Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for staying with us and reviewing your experience. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and were able to try our award winning Melba restaurant and our excellent own brand Chuan Spa amenities in your bathroom. Regarding wifi, in fact standard 200MB download is $4.95 or free if you join our complimentary 1865 Loyalty scheme. Should you then decide to choose premium unlimited download there is a $10 charge, and for 3 appliances
I look forward to welcoming you back
Ben Sington
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,446 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,810
    428
    141
    39
    28
See reviews for
370
1152
150
454
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (621)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We spent a night here to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We chose a River View Room (not much to see on the other side) which had a lovely view across to the city. It was everything you would expect from a 5 star hotel and when we returned from dinner we found our bed turned down and slippers placed beside it. The bed was very comfortable and we enjoyed a good nights sleep. The buffet breakfast was also very good as you would expect. The only thing to fault was that the receptionist on arrival did not draw our attention to the fact that there was a 20% discount voucher for dinner at the hotel restaurant in the folder with our room keys. We actually dined at the restaurant but as we didn't find the voucher till the following morning we missed out on using it - and our dinner bill was $200.

Room Tip: Choose a River View room - its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsington, Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I can confirm that your keys and a discount voucher for various services in the hotel are included in your key card pack. These change regularly. We do have an offer of 20% discount in Melba and on treatments in Chuan Spa for residents from Mondays to thursdays currently, but they are subject to change
Ben Sington
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We were very fortunate to stay at the Langham in May 2013. we had 3 nights there and enjoyed every minute of our stay. The rooms and the staff were second to none and we did get a good deal. So handy for everything, would stay again when next in Melbourne

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I could not fault the service, Every staff member was lovely. I was particularly impressed with the breakfast staff at the Melba restaurant- especially Dee Dee and Paolo ( wonderful omelette). The only downside, was after checking into the room, there was a cleaning rag left on the bath tub and the rubbish from previous guest had not been emptied. I will admit, had it not been for the service over the next few days, I would have not consider returning to the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsington, Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Snowdome from Sydney
Thank you for staying with us and writing a review of your experience. I am very sorry regarding the housekeeping oversights on your arrival. I have contacted you directly for more details. I am pleased that we were able to redeem ourselves with the service during the rest of your stay.
I look forward to welcoming you back
Ben Sington
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel is second to none in Melbourne perfectly located within walking or tram distance to everything. Rooms are fantastic and well appointed. If you feel like a romantic night or weekend I highly recommend the Club Spa Suites. We have stayed in this hotel approximately 15 to 20 times over the past 12 months, and will continue to do so. It is worth paying that little extra money for the massive difference in quality and service. Highly recommend the Melba Restaurant Seafood Banquet. Do not eat to much in the Langham well appointed Club Lounge before hand though. You have been warned!! The Langham think of every little detail. Yes you pay for it but jeez they make you feel special. One last thing, Room Service is also second to none. Keep up the "Lang Ham Style"

Room Tip: Most River View Rooms have great views but who really cares what's out the window? Really the th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsington, Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Guests from New Zealand
Thank you for your glowing review. I am delighted that you are a fan of Langham. I recommend that you try our property in Auckland too. I also like the photos that you have downloaded. The chocolate fountain in Melba is very popular with kids although as I see with you, for adults too! Perhaps though we'll leave the piano playing to our excellent pianist who accompnies our famous Langham Afternoon teas on the weekends.
I am gald you have some fun when staying at the Langham. I look forward to welcoming you back.
Ben Sington
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Lovely room great location. What a shame for me to be woken up by hammering at 8.00 am. I thought its not too bad, I can go back to sleep. That didn't happen. The noise became louder and there was even a hammer drill (very loud). I dialed reception and was told there was construction going on and my complaint would be followed up by the duty manager. The duty manager offered me a change of rooms and a late checkout ,he was at least trying to fix this. All was too late. When checking in i was asked if this was a special occasion ,yes i said, this is our first night away from our 4 kids in years. She smiled and booked us into a room that was known to the hotel to be close to the noisy constriction . All i wanted was to spoil my wife in a luxury hotel,dine in Melbas and SLEEP IN. Should i be happy with 2 out of 3. No.

Room Tip: Ask if there is any construction going on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsington, Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Adam B
Thank you for staying with us.
I am sorry that you were disturbed by some noise in the morning. There was a day recently when there was drilling taking place on some balcony rooms. I am sorry that the noise happened before 10am that day. We took steps to prevent a recurrence. I have sent you a message directly so that we can make a note on your guest profile for your next stay.
I hope that I will be able to welcome you back
Ben Sington
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Very handy to Southbank and an easy walk over the bridge to the CBD. Friendly staff, well appointed rooms (the only complaint, and its minor, is that the showers are very small) good amenities. We didn't go to the restaurant as there are just too many places in Melbourne to eat out, but we did have room service one night after a long day and it was lovely. Look for deals on The Lamgham's website as we got a better deal there than anywhere else online. Also ask for a room with a city view otherwise you're just looking at back streets and office towers!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsington, Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Julie Lee
Thank you for staying with us at the Langham Melbourne
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I can confirm that it is always best to book directly with the hotel on our website or through our reservations office. You always get guaranteed Best Available Rate on the internet, a larger selection of room types and extra packages not available on on line travel agent sites.
I look forward to welcoming you back
Ben Sington
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.