We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location for a Melbourne stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best location for a Melbourne stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Great location, service & rooms.
Good value, beautiful Yarra river bend & city skyline views. Excellent for strolls on a balmy summer evening, with plenty of restaurants & bars to choose from. Also very convenient if your in town for the Australian Open in January.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,306
    546
    178
    50
    39
See reviews for
467
1,519
171
549
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (865)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The Langham is a wonderful hotel in the style of Dorchester - from the time we stepped from the taxi to the limo that returned us to Tullamarine we felt pampered and spoiled.
Ony a couple of letdowns - foremost being the lack of fine dining - we expected something more than the Melba has to offer - at least an area away from the "hordes" at the buffet. A separate review will focus on the Melba.
Second - it was a nice touch to have an AV system in the room, but it was not very user friendly - even tech support did not appear to know how to connect and external source (iPod/iPad) and given the clientele that the Langham attracts ABC Classic FM should be on the list of radio stations playing through the AV system

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsington, Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you felt pampered and spoiled whilst staying with us. Our restaurant Melba is very popular with hotel and local residents alike. Melba offers dynamic cooking stations and a delectable culinary selection, with special appearances from the Tandoori Oven, Turbo Woks, Rotisserie, the Seafood Altar, and Floating Desserts. Its panoramic backdrop is complimented by the Melbourne skyline. Melba also has a full a la carte menu. With our location over the Southgate complex there are also many fine dining options to choose from in the vicinity.
Thank you for your feedback regarding the AV system which we will investigate. It is correct that ABC Classic FM is not available on the list of radio stations playing through the AV system due to compatability issues. However we are investigating its inclusion.
Thank you for staying with us and I look forward to welcoming you back.
Best wishes
Ben Sington
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toluca, Mexico
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

instead, I attended a 3-day conferece. This hotel has taken care of every detail. From the coffee service, to the shop, to the kind attention of the staff. Not mentioning the public areas.

Unfonrtunately I cannot speak about the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband took me for a weekend away and chose this hotel WOW this was amazing from the moment our taxi arrived we were greeted by a porter who seemed genuinely seemed happy we had arrived. The entrance was so luxurious and very welcoming it set the mood for our stay for 2 nights. Checking was swift and welcoming. We had a river view room and the city. Every small detail in this hotel has been thought of done to their own complimentary bottled water by you bed. The turn down service at night provided our Langham slippers placed on a white mat on each side if the bed. The toiletries supplied were fantastic including a hair dryer that was not attached to the wall. This hotel made you feel at home in the utmost luxury. All the staff were friendly and helpful i would definitely recommend this hotel to those that want a wonderful experience and be close to all that is happening in Melbourne We are looking forward to out next stay at this hotel

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Had a great stay with friends. Spoiled a little at the end when well discovered all three rooms were charged for vallet parking when none off us had cars. Otherwise great stay, just check your bill before you leave.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed overnight at the Langham for a weekend away. We got upgraded on arrival to a river view room. Was absolutely gorgeous with an incredible view. We had an amazing night. We used the spa facilities to unwind with a swim and spa. being in a great location we went for a walk along southbank and grabbed a drink.. We then had dinner at the amazing Melba restaraunt, food was incredible, service was great. Beds preety comfy, so had great nights sleep. We then woke to go and have breakfast at the Melba which was delicious. Could not really fault the stay, highly recomended if you are looking for somewhere extra special. Very relaxing weekend. Looking forward to next stay.
We had filled out a survey about our stay and although there was not much to complain about, the couple small things i commented on that i thought could do with minor improvement were indeed taken into consideration as i had recieved a personal email replying to my survey. I was very impressed, this is an indication that they want to provide the best possible service and stay for their Guests. Never had a recieved an email or reply from any hotel i had stayed at before. Very professional. Highly recomended, loved it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Langham Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

This hotel exudes class and warmth. It is conveniently located to Crown Casino and the Flinders station. Service is excellent! Stay here and you'll not regret. It has a nice indoor swimming pool too. I will definitely return if I am in Melbourne.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com and Expedia so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.