We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STILL OUR FAVOURITE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Save Saved
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Club & Suite Discount
Ranked #1 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Brisbane
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“STILL OUR FAVOURITE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

From the time you book until the time you depart you're looked after.

When you book over the telephone you talk to a friendly person who speaks good English. The rooms are spacious, clean and well appointed. The beds are clean and so comfortable. The buffet breakfast is by far the best we have ever experienced. We find the location of the hotel to be excellent (although this depends on your personal preference).

But what appeals to us most about the Langham Melbourne is the service. The staff here are friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them.

The Langham Melbourne is still our favourite!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,906
    446
    150
    39
    31
See reviews for
394
1219
154
475
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (665)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sale, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Our stay at the Langham was terrific. From the first experience of being greeted in valet parking to the last upon leaving and getting in the car, every member of staff were friendly and went out of their way to assist and/or ask if there is anything they can do. My 3 year old boy was acknowledged by the staff and the interaction was genuine. The rooms were well appointed with the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. The Melba restaurant upstairs was beautiful, we had dinner and lunch there. The variety of food available was superb. The chocolate fountain a huge hit. Recommend this hotel and we will be back next time in Melb.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Langham Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Had stayed at the Langham Hotel in London and it was simply amazing. So when i wanted to go to Melbourne I immediately looked up the Langham Group and decided to stay at their sister property.
Had flown into Melbourne quite early and dropped my bag at the hotel, arrived back at the hotel around 1pm. Check in is at 3PM. The receptionist wasn't sure if a room was ready. Lucky for me there was room ready. Had booked a river view room and that was what I got. Unfortunately it took 45minutes for my bag to be brought to my room after I checked in. Lucky I wasn't in a hurry,

Breakfast was included in my rate and it had a large variety of food offered. It was a buffet service unlike the hotel in London. The pastries where mostly fresh- except for one day the croissants where a little stale. There was also a chocolate fountain that is in use for the breakfast serving but really isn't needed for breakfast. Didn't see one person using it!!

Whilst at the hotel i treated myself to a spa treatment which was delightful! the pool was heated and large enough to swim laps in.
The bed was comfy and luxurious, relatively good sound proofing but then again I'm a deep sleeper.
Paying for WIFI is simply ridiculous and is $40.00 per day seems outrageous. it amazes me how many hotels do it in Australia compared to overseas. Also beware there is a credit card surcharge if you pay your bill by using credit card! Again ridiculous and aggravating considering the prices The Langham charges.

Overall it is a good hotel located in Melbourne and is close to the CBD. London. This hotel did not meet my expectations after staying in its sister property in London- it is the small things that make hotels stand out from the crowd and draw people back, like turn down service in London would put chocolates on the pillow. Here in Australia you get a bottle of water. I wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Langham in London again. But the one in Melbourne- I would seriously think about it before I booked to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMelbourne, Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We’re pleased to read that our Guest Service Agent was able to accommodate you earlier than expected and that you were delighted with the treatment in our Chuan Spa Day spa and the Melba breakfast. Our chocolate fountain is very popular with our younger guests at any time of the day.

We apologise for the confusion you may have received with respects to our Internet charges. Please be advised that our standard internet price is $4.95 per day. Furthermore we offer complimentary standard internet for those who join our 1865 loyalty programme which also includes late checkout amongst other benefits.

All our terms and conditions of business are on our website, which lists our charges before you book. We always like to provide options for our guests and for your information there are no service fees on EFTPOS cards for payment.

I am delighted that you experienced our evening turndown service which includes refreshing your room with new towels, tidying of your belongings, laying out slippers by the bed, and a bottle of complimentary water. This is offered to all our guests, unlike most hotels in Australia.

As a 5-star hotel we pride ourselves on delivering genuine service with poise and want to assure you of our commitment to delivering a top class hotel. We do hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed in July 2013, and found this hotel lush with a touch of age about it.
3 nights we stayed in a terrace suite level 23, this room is a great option if your partner is a smoker as the terrace is huge, well equipped with wicker furniture very comfortable and the view is amazing of the city and river. Our room was very comfortable the king bed was Very good and the bathroom was very nice a warm. Room service excellent food and quick service and polite, breakfast was in the club lounge Very average. Dinner buffet was dissappointing as the seafood was rubbish, roast good, Chinese the chef was never there, Indian dont like , japan food ok. Cheese platter always empty, desert ok, tip don't eat here there are so many great restaurateur in Melbourne. Check in and out good and valet excellent, as this is the number 1 ranked hotel in Melbourne this is why we stayed and if that is the best Melbourne has to offer Melbourne is in trouble. Don't get me wrong we enjoyed the langam but we wanted the best , paid for the best but the best was no where delivered here. We would stay here again after we tried a few other places like crown, Sofitel, Hyatt .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed here with my young daughters wanting good location, good service and comfort. The Langham ticked every box and more. We got a great deal from the hotel website. The staff were welcoming and considerate, the rooms comfortable and beautiful, the location excellent and the food superb. My daughters felt like princesses and can't wait to return. It made our Melbourne trip very special.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is one of my favourite hotels in Melbourne.

Everything about the hotel is excellent. From little touches like the nightly bottle of water and slippers next to the bed, to the great staff.

The rooms all have a feel of quality that you don't often get in many hotels.

The gym and pool area are also excellent with a great range of equipment.

All round one of the best hotel experiences I have had in a long time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

As a vegan I needed to book ahead to cater for my needs and the Langham did not fail us. at every turn they made sure I had something suitable to eat, and it was always delicious.

The service itself was excellent, we were made to feel genuinely important each and every time we visited the lounge. In particular by Suzanne who definitely deserves a special mention.

The suite had a fantastic view, very comfortable furniture and a wonderful spa complete with salts. I was very sad that I had to leave to go home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.