We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opulence for a three day seminar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Save Saved
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Club & Suite Discount
Ranked #1 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Devonport, Australia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Opulence for a three day seminar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

I came here three full days in a row for an educational seminar. Although it was out of my price range for accommodation the conference facility for 150 of us was exemplary. Everything was spot on from morning and afternoon teas to lunches and fresh iced water continuously refreshed on our tables. Just walking through the hotel faculties and watching what people were eating/drinking, how clean ad opulent everything was I was most impressed. Next time I will try and stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,907
    446
    150
    39
    31
See reviews for
394
1220
154
475
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (665)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed for two nights for our 25th wedding anniversary in a spa suite which was fantastic, it had a separate living room as well with great views of Melbourne.
Food is outstanding, breakfast and dinner buffets would have to be the best in Melbourne.
We did want to stay in one of there terrace rooms which we could see from our room which have magnificent views but no kids allowed.
This place is fantastic and worth the experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Positives:
* Location — It is right by a station, river and all attractions. Very convenient.
* Lobby — Impressive lobby space as you would expect at a Langham.
* Bed — Incredibly comfortable mattress.

Negatives:
* Service — Poor, inattentive service and in some cases very rude. In most cases the service was just lazy. For example, in the room they replaced the coffee but left the dirty French press next to it.
* Internet, drinks — Everything is extra and an expensive extra. Breakfast is 40/person. The free wi-fi in the lobby is slower than 4G on your smartphone so paying is the only option.
* Many features were quite run down for a hotel at this class.

Bottom line — if you can get a smart deal inclusive of breakfast, workout room and internet then it is a nice place with a great bed. If you have to pay full fare, your money will get you much more elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMelbourne, Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for the comprehensive review of our hotel. We are delighted that our location and lobby was a highlight of your stay and trust you had blissful night’s sleep on our Langham beds.

As a business traveller, your needs are quite specific and we would like to inform you that we have tailored a specific Business package that includes complimentary 24 hour WiFi Internet access, all day tea, coffee & pastries in our Business/Club Lounge located on the 24th floor as well as use of our meeting facilities for up to two hours. This package is exclusive on our official Langham website and we encourage on your next visit to select this package as it includes all the comforts that you would expect in your home and office.

As a 5-star hotel we pride ourselves on delivering genuine service with poise and want to assure you that we will be looking into the shortfall of our service. We do hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Langham for 3 nights in April, in a Grand River room. The room certainly had a great view across the river to the city centre, but the room itself was actually somewhat smaller than I was expecting for the money (£182 per night) and neither Internet or breakfast were included in the room rate. For these reasons I’ve marked it down to 4 stars, as I feel it was overpriced for the room size and facilities.

We only had breakfast in the hotel once, which was fine, but very pricey at 40 Australian dollars each. The buffet was certainly very extensive including a chocolate fountain, but the quality of the food wasn’t good enough to justify that price range, with most of the food sitting in serving dishes for far too long.

The hotels main plus is it’s great view and location, just a few minutes to cross the river and reach the city centre. Reception staff were friendly, and provided a late check-out on request.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMelbourne, Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you could stay with us and hope the Melbourne weather was slightly warmer than the weather you receive in Surrey, England.
We recommend upon booking again with a Langham hotel that you look into our Perfectly Langham package that provides great value such as complimentary breakfast and 24 hour in-room Internet Access to share and post all your travel photos.

Thank you for sharing your breakfast experience with us also. Breakfast is a special meal of the day and Melba is very popular amongst residents and non residents appreciating the view of the city and the choices of pancakes, eggs made to order or as your mentioned the chocolate fountain. We are constantly looking to improve upon our breakfast offering and will take your feedback to our Food and Beverage team.

We hope you will visit us again soon, perhaps for the Ashes Test in December?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed overnight in a room with a river view on the fifteenth floor. The bed was very comfortable but I should have used the pillow menu as the feather pillow was too soft for me and I did not have a restful night's sleep. We also found the room to be too hot. Apart from that everything else was great. We had a deal which included valet parking and breakfast. The breakfast was excellent and I liked that the chef cooked our omelettes while we waited. Great selection of foods - very impressive and lovely view of the Yarra. Service was very good but the reception staff were very serious. The wait staff and valets were very friendly. I also liked the complimentary water and turn down service. It is a luxurious, comfortable hotel but I prefer modern, designer decor but that is just my personal preference. The best thing about the Langham is the location as it is so central to Fed Square, Art Gallery and city shopping.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

From being greeted by the Concierge at the valet drop off as it was so busy, being upgraded at check-in by the reception staff and the warm friendly greetings from the housekeeping and the bell-boy our stay at The Langham was just perfect.
Yes, the decor isn't modern as others have stated but the quality of the furnishings, the practicality of the thick drapes enabling not a speck of sunlight to sneak through and wake you from the slumber of the most delicious bed and the practical toiletries makes you realise you have made the right choice choosing to stay here.
The bathroom was relatively small but actually so practical, the bath was perfect for lounging in and reading all about Alice in Wonderland and the shelf at the side just so perfect to hold a glass of wine that it was rude not to have one whilst my husband popped out for a meeting in the CBD!
The view over the river looking over onto Fed Square got even more spectacular as it got darker as the entertainment came out on this the winter solstice. The lights over the city looked amazing and we were truly thankful for the upgrade to a river-view room.
The breakfast the next day was plentiful and lots of choice. After repeatedly returning to the empty bircher muesli bowl for 20 minutes (which if we had to pick up on anything was that there was still a slight seafood smell on the ice around that area from the previous evenings seafood/sushi chef area) my husband finally asked if any more would be forthcoming. The waitstaff returned from the kitchen with a bowl for my husband with the mention that more would be coming if required. Maybe we should have just mentioned it earlier as nothing was too much trouble. We enjoyed the great variety of fruit juices and the perfectly timed poached eggs.
For those with a sweet tooth there was even ice-cream, chocolate fountain and lollies.
If in the city again and the package deal we purchased for room, parking and breakfast was available again we would be sure to choose The Langham, ah well it's our anniversary next month maybe I can talk the hubby into a repeat visit ....

Room Tip: River view was beautiful, if you can afford it try to get one
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed here because of conference & trip advisor reviews. Hotel facilities are spectacular, staff friendly, helpful, efficient & knowledgeable without exception. Food pricey but excellent, rooms & service superb, beds a comfortable cloud, also very good location in Melbourne. Spa & health club facilities good. Overall wonderful & deserves its #1 ranking.

Room Tip: yarra river view rooms a bit more expensive but beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.