We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, courteous hotel staff, special weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Save Saved
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Club & Suite Discount
Ranked #2 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great location, courteous hotel staff, special weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

From being greeted by the Concierge at the valet drop off as it was so busy, being upgraded at check-in by the reception staff and the warm friendly greetings from the housekeeping and the bell-boy our stay at The Langham was just perfect.
Yes, the decor isn't modern as others have stated but the quality of the furnishings, the practicality of the thick drapes enabling not a speck of sunlight to sneak through and wake you from the slumber of the most delicious bed and the practical toiletries makes you realise you have made the right choice choosing to stay here.
The bathroom was relatively small but actually so practical, the bath was perfect for lounging in and reading all about Alice in Wonderland and the shelf at the side just so perfect to hold a glass of wine that it was rude not to have one whilst my husband popped out for a meeting in the CBD!
The view over the river looking over onto Fed Square got even more spectacular as it got darker as the entertainment came out on this the winter solstice. The lights over the city looked amazing and we were truly thankful for the upgrade to a river-view room.
The breakfast the next day was plentiful and lots of choice. After repeatedly returning to the empty bircher muesli bowl for 20 minutes (which if we had to pick up on anything was that there was still a slight seafood smell on the ice around that area from the previous evenings seafood/sushi chef area) my husband finally asked if any more would be forthcoming. The waitstaff returned from the kitchen with a bowl for my husband with the mention that more would be coming if required. Maybe we should have just mentioned it earlier as nothing was too much trouble. We enjoyed the great variety of fruit juices and the perfectly timed poached eggs.
For those with a sweet tooth there was even ice-cream, chocolate fountain and lollies.
If in the city again and the package deal we purchased for room, parking and breakfast was available again we would be sure to choose The Langham, ah well it's our anniversary next month maybe I can talk the hubby into a repeat visit ....

Room Tip: River view was beautiful, if you can afford it try to get one
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,232 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,647
    394
    127
    36
    28
See reviews for
329
1067
140
408
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed here because of conference & trip advisor reviews. Hotel facilities are spectacular, staff friendly, helpful, efficient & knowledgeable without exception. Food pricey but excellent, rooms & service superb, beds a comfortable cloud, also very good location in Melbourne. Spa & health club facilities good. Overall wonderful & deserves its #1 ranking.

Room Tip: yarra river view rooms a bit more expensive but beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed at Langham while attending DesignEX at the Exhibition Centre. I usually stay at Crown Towers but as their rates were unusually high over that weekend Langham was my next choice.

Arrived in Melbourne in the evening to heavy rain and lightning. Pulling up at the Langham the service was instantly warm, friendly and inviting. Check in was easy and friendly, our room (Grand River room) was newly renovated with an amazing view of the Melbourne skyline draped in mist.

It was just such a cosy luxurious room. Ordered room service and it was delicious. I recommend the Valrhona chocolate tart for dessert! The bed was amazingly comfortable and it was just heaven drifting off to sleep with the rain pelting against the window with cracks of thunder and lightning.

Breakfast in Melba was great with a huge selection of food and a great view of the river.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay at Langham Melbourne again. A beautiful hotel with good, old fashioned, friendly service.

Room Tip: Grand River rooms are newly renovated and very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The location of the Langham was perfect for our city stay, in walking distance to everything that we did, restaurants and sightseeing. The view and the state of the room was great. The buffet breakfast was fantastic, definitely a must.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Langham Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Langham is a beautiful hotel in a fantastic location. We were able to check in at 1100 and had a late check out of 1400 which was very much appreciated. The bed was amazingly comfortable. The buffet breakfast at Melbas was superb, and the Buffet dinner with its different cooking stations was fantastic. The seafood, sushi which is handmade in front of you, and the amazing naan breads which are also made in front of you were all amazing. The service and attention to detail and from the moment we arrived was fantastic

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in May to attend a function on Southbank. Everything about the experience was fantastic. Very friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful, clean and comfortable room. Great location. Great breakfast. I regularly visit Melbourne, and would stay here again and again.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I recently stayed at the langham hotel with friends and family. The hotel offeres great food and beverage. The rooms are very nice and have some of the best beds in Melbourne.

Some of the downs to this hotel is that great food and beverage comes at a price, some of the drinks and foods are a little more expensive then other hotels in the area. It still very nice and great quality, but i wouldn't recommend eating there every night as it may put a hole in your bugget.

But other then that, the rest of the hotels features and amenities are magnificent. For example my favourite was the monsoon shower in the mens shower rooms and the spa beside the pool is very relaxing and quite spacious and the 24/7 Gym was a real winner.

Room Tip: I highly recommend that you stay as far away from the lift as you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel
The Langham Melbourne
Address: 1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Venere, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.