We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Club & Suite Discount
Ranked #1 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Queenstown, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel is fabulous, treat yourself to one of the Club rooms and enjoy the extra hospitailty especially if travelling alone on business.
From the moment you arrive the care and attention is amazing

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,958
    451
    155
    40
    32
See reviews for
401
1,253
158
483
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reston, VA
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel is lovely and well located on the river across from the train station -- and easy 5 minute walk to the main downtown area. My room was immaculate and well-appointed. However, although promised a river-view room, my room had only a partial river view (which was not a major factor for me, but it might be for some). Service was generally good, but spotty. For example, I checked in early and my room was not ready. I left my bags with the bellman and went out on a tour to Phillip Island. When I returned at 10 p.m., my bags had not been delivered to my room as promised and when I called, the person I spoke with had no idea where my bags were. I did get them within 30 minutes, but it was not what I wished to be doing at 10:30 p.m. The restaurants are excellent, but pricey. But I would stay here again given the location and overall ambiance and service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

We have been to Melba's 5 times and each time we have been we have taken my sons wife, and my daughter and the partners, all done on fly buys, and the staff dont treat you any different to a paying customer, The moment you walk in to Melba's the decore is absolutely supurb, not to mention the Buffet Dinner, crabs , oysters , prawns, variety of indian meals, asian , Australian, etc, and the desserts are to die for,miniature desserts but as much as you want, and also chocolate fountain , with a mixture of fruits marshmallows , and to top off the the assorted cheeses, and the staff are all so polite and very nice.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The location is great, the entry and lobby are really elegant. Breakfast is good, if a little expensive. The rooms are clean and well furnished with comfortable beds and good appointments.

The problem is the plumbing is very noisy, and doors slam as guests enter and exit their rooms. Both factors combined resulted in two restless nights.

I stay at hotels more than most, and do not have these problems at other hotels. I will not return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Firstly I cannot by any means fault the staff at the Langham. They were all courteous, friendly, etc. and I was greeted in every elevator, corridor and so on. It’s perhaps that my expectations were as high as the ratings on tripadvisor and therefore I’m somewhat disappointed. A girlfriend and I booked a room each as a surprise for our husbands who share the same birthday. Both our rooms smelt of cigarette. Not just a tad, but a lot. There was no mistaking the smell. Although the hotel is not to blame, they are at fault for allowing the room to be used again with that stench. Secondly, we went to the bar for a celebratory drink. We waited so long to be attended to that we had to walk up to the counter and ask for service. I understand it was “high tea” time but, once again, it’s about the sort of expectations one has when booking one of the top rated hotels in the country. Breakfast the following day was again, good, but not outstanding. The queue was ridiculously long and it’s those little details that make the difference between a superb stay or a good one. Having said all that, the location is certainly unbeatable and so are the staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Beautiful hotel with great, genuinely friendly service. Nothing was to much trouble for the staff. Came away feeling refreshed. We were treated as people not numbers. The room was comfortable, generous in size and extremely clean. We were close enough to walk to the tennis center and the city for shopping and close to many restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Langham Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our 15th wedding anniversary last Friday by spending the night at the Langham. From the moment we arrived until we left we felt extremely well looked after. The rooms are very special and extremely clean. All the Staff were friendly and helpful. Facilities are luxurious. The Melba Restaurant was delicious for dinner and breakfast. the beds were very comfortable, Everything was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Langham Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Despegar.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.