We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb luxery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Save Saved
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Club & Suite Discount
Ranked #1 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb luxery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here a number of times and have never been disappointed. The rooms are luxurious and spacious, with comfort and old-fashioned style. The staff are lovely, and the buffet is delicious. The hotel is right on Southbank, so in walking distane to the centre of Melbourne, particularly Crown Casino. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: Get a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,443 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,808
    427
    141
    39
    28
See reviews for
370
1150
150
453
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (621)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

A group of six friends Went to Aria at the Langham for the Tiffin High Tea for a friend's baby shower.

$69 for a sumptuous "afternoon tea": translation more than enough for lunch and could not eat dinner as we were so full after our high tea.

A beautiful silver tray of delicacies for two to share. Six of us, so three silver tiered trays. A special one for the pregnant one who requested no smoked salmon, no soft cheeses. Not a problem for the staff: her own special three tiered silver tray. Endless pots of tea: silver pots and jugs, fine bone china cups, each cup served by the attentive staff with a silver tea strainer.

Sandwiches with the crusts cut off ( of course!) , fruit and plain scones served with jam, double cream and butter, and then the cakes and pastries!

Deconstructed lemon meringue pie, chocolate mousse, raspberry meringue, rocky road, hazelnut and salted chocolate rolls..... It just went on and on. All washed down with a bottle of champagne (the only item not included in the price) and endless cups of Darjeeling, Earl Grey,pomegranate and English Breakfast tea. Absolutely amazing.

We knew the table was required back by 2.30pm and there was a little hurried rush to get us out of our lounge chairs from 2.15 onwards: having said that, we could not have eaten or drunk another thing. Staff were very happy to pack up a take away container within unbeaten delicacies: did get us to sign a "waiver" before we were allowed to exit with the food. That was a first. Sign of the times, I guess.

Overall: I would highly recommend. Excellent food and attentive service. Very happy we chose The Langham over other High Teas on offer in Melbourne. Really great experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed with my girlfriend, for 4 nights, a brilliant hotel, the entrance is amazing, with a great location. We had a great room overlooking the river, with wonderful views. The staff were excellent, friendly and very helpful at all times. The room was very clean, the bed luxurious, lots of little touches, well maintained, no complaints. The turn down service is always a feature we love. Location wise, excellent, just a short stroll across to Southbank, all in all a great hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beechworth, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

From the valet parking on arrival through to the small details and luxuries in the room, finishing with the excellent service provided by every staff member I met, my entire stay at The Langham was a delight and a wonderful experience. The gym was excellent with a range of equipment all in working order. The pool looked beautiful (didn't get a chance to use it) and the club light and airy with wonderful views and helpful, engaging staff. The buffet breakfast was extensive and beautifully presented. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrose, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Recently stayed at the Langham ,what a beautiful hotel . Had the buffet dinner at Meba's it was outstanding best ever, so many choices and so fresh can't wait to return. The room are comfortable and clean a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Langham for one night in April as a treat. The Langham is truely deserving of the #1 hotel in Melbourne, with welcoming, attentive staff, an amazing grand entrance, classic rooms and a gorgeous roof top spa. We got a great deal booked through the hotel website, including breakfast, free valet parking and 12pm checkout. The Langham is an elegant and luxurious hotel deserving of all the praise.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

In more ways than one. We loved the design, structure, lines and contour of the hotel, the elegance of the grand staircase and water fountains, the delightful smell of lilies upon every entrance into the hotel, the mystic pink inscribed into the design and the friendliness of staff, the cleanliness of everything and the comfort of the rooms, I have not one complaint.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Langham Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.