We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Classic Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

In more ways than one. We loved the design, structure, lines and contour of the hotel, the elegance of the grand staircase and water fountains, the delightful smell of lilies upon every entrance into the hotel, the mystic pink inscribed into the design and the friendliness of staff, the cleanliness of everything and the comfort of the rooms, I have not one complaint.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Langham Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,062
    478
    163
    42
    36
See reviews for
415
1,328
161
513
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (738)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed at The Langham for tge second time now and it was better than the first.
From the time you walk in, smell the aroma of The Langham it starts the experience.
Stayed in classic room but was upgraded due to staying before.
Room cosy and beautiful.
People that work there are very friendly, warm and up for a chat or to give advice.
Ate next door at La Camera as didnt feel like Melbas. La Camera was beautiful too.
Breakfast in Melba was amazing as usual. Great view while eating breakfast.
Only issue was work being done on room next door woke us up, then just as snoozing again the window cleaners woke us again.
All in all, a great night away.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights and even though it was a quick stay, we loved it.
Breakfast was amazing! So many choice's of food, and so fresh!
Entrance inside is beautiful, well designed hotel, can only imagine the Club room's and Suites are amazing!|
Room was large and cosy, clean and comfortable, well stocked supply's in the bathroom
Missed out on viewing the spa and pool area, but will do when we return.

Room Tip: Views are always a winner
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I had wanted to stay at The Langham for some time and, thanks to a great internet offer on the hotel's website, my husband and I stayed there last weekend. Check-in time isn't until 3pm, but we went there directly from the airport around lunchtime hoping to at least store our bags there. Fortunately for us our room was ready. When we were checking in we were asked in passing by the very efficient and pleasant receptionist what the reason was for our visit to Melbourne. We told her that we were spending the weekend with our daughter and her fiancé to celebrate their engagement and also to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. Later that evening, after arriving back from an afternoon exploring Melbourne, there was a beautifully decorated plate wishing us a happy anniversary and topped with a very generous piece of mudcake. Little touches like that really make you feel valued.
The room was perfect - pristine clean, and the bed was luxurious. The foyer is quite spectacular and when we first walked in we said that we would be happy to just stay in the hotel for the weekend! Of course we didn't as The Langham's location is brilliant. Just a short stroll to Southbank and across the bridge to Flinders Street Station. We also noticed that the Grayline bus tours also commence close by if you were wanting to do a day tour from Melbourne. We caught the Shuttle Bus from the Melbourne airport to Southern Cross Station and then a free Hotel Shuttle delivered us to The Langham.
We hope that the next time we return to the beautiful city of Melbourne that we will be able to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

There wasnt much I didnt like about this hotel, it was a great rate for a great location. It had a 'grand' entrance with great service from checking in to checking out. Even the cleaning staff were friendly and accomodating. The room was cosy, quiet, comfortable, clean and with a comfortable, luxurious bed with great pillows. The touches of marshmallow pink accessories in the bedroom were charming.
The food choice for room service is pretty good. The mini bar would have to be one of the best I have seen in a long time.
The location is perfect, 1 km from Docklands, 50m from Crown promenade and all the eateries and bars along the way is very good. The hotel is above Southland shopping mall with one of the best cafes for breakfast, luch or dinner - The Blue Train cafe, well worth checking out.
We went to a show at Rod Laver Arena, great casual walk to the arena, then we caught an $8 water taxi ride back to the jetty right out the front of our hotel in an old gem that once taxi'd the Queen up and down the Yarra
The only issue with the hotel would be security, you dont need to put your room card in the elevator and we saw a couple of roamers come in from the shopping mall staggering around, they were lost.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Langham for 5 nights at the end of May to meet up with friends from Victoria. From arriving at the hotel in the taxi to the moment we left the Langham surpassed all expectations. The staff were all amazing so attentative friendly and always willing to help. The room was excellent clean, roomy and the bed was so comfy and huge. The food in the hotel was excellent and the night we ordered room service was a superb experience 5 star service and meal. The location on the southbank was perfect and only 4 minutes walk from the shops and cafes in the lane ways. Next time we visit Melbourne the Langham will be our first choice hotel too stay at.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Langham Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Fantastic hotel, the entrance is amazing ! great location and superb beds. Very close to all the great restaurants and approximately 10 minute walk to the Crown Casino. We loved this hotel and would have no hesitation to stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.