We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sleep ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Save Saved
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Club & Suite Discount
Ranked #1 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best sleep ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The Langham is a superb hotel, friendly staff, good food and fabulos decor. The rooms are lovely - mine looked over the Yarra river and the bed is absolutly fabulous. I had the best sellp ever and want one for home! It was like sleeping on a cloud... thank you Langham for your superb hospitality

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business

Review collected in partnership with Langham Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,423 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,791
    425
    140
    39
    28
See reviews for
368
1144
148
449
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I went with a group of ladies to the Langham on 19 May for High Tea. As I can't have gluten, we made sure when we booked that they had some GF options. I was so amazed at what I got - my own cake stand with cakes, sandwiches and scones!!! They were all so delicious, I was in heaven! To top this off, the chef came out and took me to the buffet 'sweets' table and went over with me what I could and could not have! They did have little cards for the sweet name and if it was GF or not, but it was great to have the actual chef come and tell me personally. I will definately be back for the devine GF High Tea at the Langham!!! Oh - and the sandwiches were the best I have had made from GF bread! Actually spongy and tasted (almost) like normal fresh bread:)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Our recent short trip to Melbourne to visit family was made outstanding with our first (of many in the future) stay at the Langham. The location was perfect for walking everywhere we wanted and with the railway station close in future we will use that too instead of driving everywhere ourselves.
We cannot speak highly enough of the attention to service shown by all staff and would happily recommend this as a perfect spot to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Langham Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed but one night at the Langham, my husband was made redundant at his job and his peers were giving him a send off, we stayed at the Langham for the night of his send off as it is a long way to go home late in the evening or as it turned out for us the night!! The room we had had a Yarra River view, lovely. The room was spacious and elegant even though we had a base rate room. The bed was enormous and comfortable. Our stay there was lovely. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone who can afford it.

Room Tip: If you can have a room with a view it is just Icing on the Cake!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King Island, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the Langham for a week while undertaking training for corporate governance. The hotel has topped the list of our favs in Melbourne. We would rate it above the Sofitel and just above the Grand Hyatt, mostly for its homely but sophisticated comfort. We love the location, the staff and the architecture: grand but welcoming.

Room Tip: River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for New Year's Eve - and what a great location! The huge terrace area had a great view of the fire works and there was plenty of room to relax, have a drink and some snacks, when waiting for the midnight celebrations.

The bathroom was well stocked and practical/spacious and I was a big fan of the Nespresso coffee machine.

Breakfasts were an international extravaganza and the location was excellent for restaurants, bars and a good base for exploring Melbourne city and surrounding areas.

Expensive but recommended for a special treat / or if you are rich ;-)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a wonderful little boutique hotel with nice rooms and a good breakfast. It is also well located to the city and the MCG and local restaurants and shopping. Only disappointment is three unanswered emails regarding membership of their 1865 club.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMelbourne, Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We’re delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at the hotel and found the location convenient.
We apologise for not responding to your queries on 1865. We will write to your directly to get more information on this matter and aim to resolve this very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.