We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite but I was a bit disappointed!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Victoria
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“My favourite but I was a bit disappointed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We recently stayed at The Langham for one night to celebrate our 2nd wedding anniversary. This was out third stay at the hotel (the first being our wedding night and second was our first wedding anniversary). We have loved staying here in the past and were very much looking forward to staying there again. I was however a little disappointed at the beginning of our stay there.
There was only one porter when we drove in, so we had to wait for our bags to be removed etc because he was busy with another car. I am used to doors being opened for us, bags taken away....very effortless for us, however this was not the case on this occasion.
At check-in, one of the young girls assisting us spoke with a heavy accent, so it was difficult to understand her at times. We had booked a Wish Upon A Star package which included late check out (2pm). After she advised us that check out time was 12pm, I told her we booked a deal that allowed late check out. She proceeded to tell us that this is not guaranteed because the hotel was fully booked and she would need to confirm if this was approved. She said she would send us a message to our TV in the room......I was not impressed. If I wanted to check out at 12pm, I wouldn't have booked this package. It's almost like having someone book a corner king room and then down grading them to a standard room because the hotel is fully booked....Anyway, the message to the TV never came, so I had to discuss this again with the check-in desk....very annoying and not something I would expect from this hotel.
She also repeatedly said "seeing as this is your first time to the hotel"....we had stayed there twice before! Surely there is some kind of note on the computer for returning guests? We didn't bother to correct her because it probably didn't matter anyway.
We stayed in a standard king room....facing the Travelodge. Not the best view at all. I was disappointed considering we have stayed there in the past on two occasions and I felt as if we were stashed in the corner with a crappy view...it's almost as if none of that mattered. The room was amazing as usual. The bed and pillows are the best by far.
None the less, the rest of the hotel and our experience there was fantastic. The buffet dinner and breakfast are to die for. So much choice and everything is fresh. The breakfast juices were really nice and a huge variety.
I'm unsure if we will return next year for our anniversary but The Langham will always be my favourite hotel....

Room Tip: You need to pay extra to get a good view from your room. The only time we've had a great view is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsington, Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is lovely to learn that you returned to the Langham for your 2nd anniversary and have enjoyed dining in Melba restaurant.

We have processes in place to recognise repeat guests and I apologise that this did not happen. We have contacted you directly to learn the details of your stay to ensure that we do not make that mistake on your next anniversary visit.

I want to assure you of our continued commitment to delivering genuine enchanting service with poise. I look forward to welcoming you back

Ben Sington
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,329
    551
    181
    50
    39
See reviews for
473
1,536
171
551
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (878)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Understated luxury, helpful staff and a rockin' buffet breakfast made for a wonderful Mothers day weekend away with my daughters. Pity the pool was out of action, the only downside I can think of but I did get an email warning me beforehand and we could have used a neighbouring hotel pool if we could have been bothered to leave the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The location, check. The service, check. The dinner, check. The breakfast, check. The spa, check. This hotel exudes everything you want in a historical contemporary hotel. The Langham Melbourne blends the old and new, effortlessly. I recently stayed a Saturday night with my wife and my 18 month old daughter for Mother's Day. We booked a Grand river view corner room (worth it for the extra space with a young child). The view from the room was magnificent, looking right over the yarra river and flinders street station (can you get any more "Melbourne", I don't think so). The turndown service, fantastic, we booked the teddy bear package, so we received "Kingston" the teddy bear upon turndown along with 4 beautiful chocolates. It went down well with the champers. We also booked in for the buffet dinner at "Melba". I have been here three times now, and this restaurant never disappoints. It's very busy, but very yum. Which country would you like to eat in tonight? No need to purchase a flight, just go to Melba. India, Japan, Italy, China and an excellent carvery. It's all there for you. My wife was booked into the Chuan Spa on the Sunday morning, she had harmony 60 minute all body massage. The facilities were great, the staff excellent. She was very impressed. Overall, this hotel keeps us coming back time and time again. It's a timeless classic, right in the heart of Melbourne. 10/10.

Room Tip: We have stayed in the classic room a number of times before, we decided to upgrade to a corner room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This review covers three stays: one overnight stay in late March in a Club Room, and two separate overnight stays in early April in Corner Spa Suites.

I must admit I have come to love the Langham - friendly service, comfortable rooms, and lots of nice touches that make staying a pleasure. Price is also quite reasonable for what you get, so everything quite favourable.

The Club Lounge is also quite nice, with friendly staff, and has some great views to encourage you to linger.

About the only disappointing moment I had over these three stays was once, when arriving at the hotel and seeking to valet the car, the liveried doorman (who I hadn't seen before) was carrying on a conversation with a couple in the driveway - noticed me pulling up, but then turned his back to me and carried on his conversation. This is not a typical experience, and I was attended to by one of bell staff (who noticed I was waiting) after a couple of minutes, but an oddity still the same.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at the Langham and loved every minute of it. Friendly staff, beautifully appointed rooms and first class views made the stay very memorable. The buffet breakfast was delicious. Only one small complaint that a request for milk to make a coffee in our room took about 45 mins to arrive. The location is great with everything in walking distance. Perfect!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The Langham is a very well maintained and comfortable hotel - the room I stayed in was modern, clean and well maintained as well as being a nice size. The staff were excellent and very friendly. The hotel is based in the center of Melbourne, a 15 minute leisurely walk along the Yarra river to the Melbourne Cricket Ground and the Rod Laver tennis arena. The shopping areas are also walkable.

The fitness center could do with some new elliptical machines and generally a little bit of updating. However the rest of the hotel is excellent - overall this has to rank as a very good choice for a Melbourne stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland,New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Friendly staff, fabulous food, really comfortable bed, deep bath, perfect location. I could go on....
They have made mistakes in my bill each time I stayed there, but there was never any trouble after I pointed out the mistake. My favourite hotel anywhere. They do charge you for WiFi access, which seems incredibly old-fashioned.

Room Tip: Some rooms have better views, but all are comfortable .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.