We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite accommodation in Melbourne” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
UP TO 10% OFF. BOOK NOW!
Ranked #1 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
GreenLeadersSilver level
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our favourite accommodation in Melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Every time we visit Melbourne The Langham is the only place we stay. The hotel is situated in a very convenient and vibrant location as is near many well known restaurants along Southbank and is within easy walking distance to the main shopping areas and other exciting alleys consisting of a variety of cafes.

The staff are very friendly and make you welcome when you arrive. The rooms are a good size, well appointed and the beds are very comfortable. Although we did not use club facilities, we did check it out for future. We found the club was not as big as other Langham clubs, but it certainly gave an aura of homeliness, serenity and felt welcoming. I would suggest when booking that you request the refurbished rooms as they have been updated and definitely are worth staying in.

We will definitely be back again. Thank you to all staff at the Langham Melbourne for their excellent service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,527
    600
    192
    56
    44
See reviews for
519
1,665
181
599
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (975)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed one night for my wife's birthday on a package that included breakfast and parking. Overall both of us were very satisfied with the hotel - she declared it the nicest one we've ever stayed at in Melbourne. We had a King River View Room.

The good points -

The entrance foyer is beautiful with waterfalls and chanderliers. Nice prints in the Room was very nicely furnished and the view of the Yarra looking towards Fed Square was magnificent. Bed was very comfortable and bathroom spotless and very tasteful.
Service was very good. Gym was good, probably average for a 5 star hotel. Breakfast buffet was excellent with heaps of unusual options although we were glad we hadn't brought the kids (I mean a chocolate fountain with marshmallows, ice cream and lollies for breakfast...really?) Location is perfect - walked to the Sunday Market, Fed Square, Southbank Food Count etc.

Not so good - nothing major, I am honestly being very picky in listing these

Pool wasn't available - being renovated (but these things need to and do happen) - pool at Quay West next door was offered though if we wanted it. Paper we got wasn't the one we asked for, there were spare copies available on the floor that I did manage to swap with. The check in was delayed a bit as a suitable room needed to be found (although I had booked a fair way in advance). Peak times on Sunday at breakfast looked like queues could be a bit stressful (luckily we were early enough to avoid this).

Room Tip: Riverview King Rooms are well worth the few extra $
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Booked the Langham Melbourne for a 4 day weekend to celebrate a 50th birthday, we arrived around 8ish on a Thursday morning, our bags were whisked away by the door man, he directed us up the beautiful entrance way to check in, the foyer is just gorgeous with it fresh flowers, fountains and marble.
Our check in was easy, our room wasn't ready by we hadn't expected it too be, so we left our hand luggage and proceeded to breakfast at The Melba restaurant, front desk phoned us to let us know out room was ready, the duty manager then escorted us up to our room, which was a classic room on the 20th floor, it was at the back of the hotel but with a view of the Yarra.
The room was very clean, well maintained the bathroom was lovely, bathrobes and towels all fresh and fluffy, bathroom supplies were lovely and handy our luggage including hand luggage had already been sent up.
The turn down and house keeping service were very very good.
All the staff we interacted with were genuine, polite and a credit to the professional hotel service, The Langham was perfect for us to access the State Arts Centre and the free tram and visitor bus were a short stroll away.
If you exit the lift at the Podium level you can walk through to the Southbank Complex very handy, Bear Brass restaurant is a nice spot for a Sunday Bruch, and the Bond Store which is a 5-10 min walk behind the hotel is a lovely quirky we breakfast/lunch spot
The Pool area was looking a bit tired but was due for renovation starting 29th April, the steam room, sauna and tri shower were very much appreciate as a nice way to start the day, as was the hot salt water Jacuzzi.
Our loved our stay at The Langham and would definitely return

Room Tip: we were in 2018 this is a classic room but it had view of the Yarra, we booked through the hotel dir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

You really wont be disappointed. Great Service, wonderful service, and the location was perfect for us! I do prefer the Langham's new Sydney hotel, smaller and intimate... however, cant fault this hotel... will stay again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My husband and i have stayed at this hotel a couple of times and on both occasions the service was consitently impecable. The decor is pleasing and from the moment you arrive at the hotel you are welcomed by smiling staff and a luxe entrance with beautiful atmosphere. Our first impressions have obviously not been waivered over our 2 stays and as a parting gift on our most recent stay we were pleasantly surprised to recieve 2 bottles of water placed in our vehicle. It is the very small things that count and i must say the Langham definately has its eye on the details.

Room Tip: To maximize your stay you could request a room which overlooks the yarra. Take your time & tre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here on a few occasions and really enjoy it. I find the rooms a bit on the smaller side however. The buffets at the Langham are the best in the business. Personally I prefer crown towers just down the road. South Bank has peaked in my opinion, time will tell.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I have stayed in many wonderful hotels in the world and amounst the best would have to be this hotel, the staff were magnificent, the place spotless and an experience to behold. Situated right in the heart of Melbourne, it was truly a wonderful trip and a big thank you to the hotel staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Towers
Crown Towers
#2 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,452 reviews
Oaks On William
#24 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#3 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,317 reviews
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#12 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.