We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had our wedding here.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Save Saved
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Club & Suite Discount
Ranked #1 of 170 hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Had our wedding here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I had my wedding here on the 6th of April and it was an absolute delight. From the moment we booked Zanya (wedding co-ordinator) was a pleasure to deal with. Nothing was ever to hard. The food was so delicious and there was so much of it. No complaints from our guest saying there wasnt enough food. Also the staff were very prompt on topping up the beers and wine. Normally when you go to wedding the staff are very slow on topping up the drinks but not here. Our room (which we were up-graded too) was on the 24 floor which had the best views of Melbourne. In the morning we enjoyed the buffet breakfast which was the besst cure for my hangover :)

Cant fault the Langham and I would highly recommend having your wedding here if you are planning one or better still stay overnight. you wont be dissappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,514 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,863
    436
    146
    39
    30
See reviews for
382
1192
152
463
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Very impresses with our stay. The hotel is great at the finer touches. We purchased the package that included break fast, afternoon tea and niblles and drinks in late afternoon. This package was great as the room is on the 24th floor and has a great view of the Yarra. We had friends that satyed at another hotel and had to go go out for Breafast lunch and dinner and it cost them a furtune and we didnt need to go out at all and had the convenience of the hotel. All the staff are very friendly and professional, and have the attitude that they want to help and not just doing becase they have to. From our room service giving us more tea when they saw us as they noticed we drunk quite a bit the night before to when an elevator arrives at a floor and a staff menber holds oepn the door for you to enter, I cant fault their service. Used the pool facilities as well. Steam room and sauna great, only issue is that you have to enter through the change rooms so you can only go tho the mens or womens so cant be in it with your partner. Spa is great and huge and next to the pool area. The only thing that the hotel needs is the pool area upgareded as it looks a bit tired, but they are doing this in April/May 2013 so keep this in mind when you book incase you have no access to the pool or Spa.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Langham Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orbost, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I were treated to a night at the Langham as a Christmas present and I can honestly say it was the most wonderful present we have received. We went to our first ever concert and spent the night at The Langham where we were treated like royalty. All the staff members from the reception staff to the restaurant staff and the room service staff were incredibly friendly, professional and generous. The food in the Melba Restaurant (we had dinner and breakfast) was amazing! My biggest problem was trying to decide what to have!!! Our room was exquisite. It was spotless and luxurious. The king bed was divine! I would absolutely recommend this amazing hotel to anyone wanting a little pampering. I only wish I had more time to explore the rest of the facilities including the pool and day spa they have.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Langham Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The Langham was one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in. I spent 3 nights at The Langham while attending a training program in Melbourne. From the beautiful foyer and welcome from the staff to the luxurious rooms, paisley pink amenties, bathroom, bed and facilities I could not fault it. We were offered a great rate for buffet breakfast and it was one of the nicest I have had - the design of the buffet, the beautiful selection of food, the onsite chef to make my omelette and the lovely views provided the perfect start to the day. The location on the banks of the Yarra was perfect for walking proximity to the city, restaurants and shopping. I have told my husband that we definitely need to go there together next time. Can't wait!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I am travel agent in South Australia, who decided to take my partner to Melbourne for our anniversary. I cannot recommend the Langham in Melbourne more highly! Andrew & Kayla from reservations were outstanding each time I dealt with them. The room was spacious & the epitome of luxury. And what absolutely made our trip was the amazing attention to detail. From the moment we walked in each staff member treated us beautifully - and made the extra effort to acknowledge our special day. The breakfast we enjoyed the following morning had the best variety of choices I have every seen, from any first class hotel I have visited. And the location is second to none - along the river front, & within walking distance to everything that Melbourne has to offer. I know for a fact that there is NO other property that I could recommend to all of my clients before the Langham in Melbourne.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Langham while visiting friends and we could not have been happier. From the time we arrived until our departure we received prompt and courteous service. We had a large comfortable room with a great view of the Melbourne skyline. The reaction to any request was so fast that it was if they had people personally assigned to our room. We particularly enjoyed the Aria bar where they had a large selection of beverages and light meals. Try the Beef Skewers with Béarnaise Sauce. The spa, pool and ninth floor sun deck were all excellent. As the heading says, The Langham is everything a first class hotel should be.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My husband, baby and I needed an escape from Sydney and the Langham was a true oasis for us.

We stayed in a Club River Corner room. It was not huge but decent enough. The bed was ok, but lumpy in the middle where it appears the bases were joined. The toiletries were very good. The rooms were quiet and the view was first class.

The afternoon tea was splendid as was the view in the Club Lounge. Scones, chocolate sauce and fresh strawberries was a daily delight. Our baby dined on handfuls of strawberries and was well looked after by the staff. On one occasion the baby was unwell, and we were quite worried about her. I was promptly advised of the nearest pharmacy and GP by the lounge staff. They also followed up on us the next day.

In addition, the evening drinks and breakfast was good in the club lounge. Not over the top but you can always go downstairs to Melba's for a fancy Buffett. I believe there is a chocolate fountain at breakfast!

Overall, I commend the staff. The customer service of everyone in the lounge was excellent. They all seemed to actually like their jobs. The spa/pool staff were friendly and I liked the tour of the facilities.

I would stay at The Langham Melbourne again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.