We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, fantastic location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, fantastic location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Hubby and I stayed here one night over Easter weekend. We had a king room with a view to the river.

The location is amazing - you are right on Southbank and so close to the city and shopping.

The staff were fantastic, so friendly and helpful. The bed was so comfy it wax the best nights sleep I had had in ages.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,054
    477
    163
    40
    36
See reviews for
412
1,321
161
513
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (735)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Great, great, great. Can't fault it. Everything terrific. Excellent staff who are very helpful and friendly. Great food in restaurant and room service. Very clean and everything works in the rooms. I could not fault this hotel. It is not the cheapest place, but you get what you pay for, and Langham really does shine.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had a great stay, very comfortable rooms the quality you would expect of a true five star hotel. The best part of the stay was the breakfast the choice was great and the quality of the food amazing. The price tag for breakfast was high but worth it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geilo, Norway
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Situated in the middle of the city, close by to almost anything, this is the perfect place to stay in Melbourne. Comfortable rooms with a luxurious feeling to it, helpful staff, polite and efficient maids and excellent food in all varieties in the buffet. The concierge gave us good information about the area whenever needed.

We did ask the guestrelations if there were any possibilities of a later checkout as our flight wouldn`t depart until midnight. They offered us a pretty lousy deal. We were told that we could stay four or five hours extra in the room for the cost of an entire extra night.. We decided not to stay as offered, as it would be very expensive hours... So, if you do have a late flight as we did, be sure to book in the extra hours needed in advance.

As we decided to check out they offered to store our luggage for us and gave us the opportunity to use the spa until late. We got access the facilities, and got to shower and change before leaving for the airport. Overall, we had a good experience at the Langham and would be happy to come back for another visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed at the Langham with my husband for our wedding anniversary. I read the reviews on TA and decided it was the place for us. It did not disappoint. The staff were exceptionally helpful, the hotel itself is beautiful, the location couldn't be better and the bed was heavenly. This hotel deserves its position as number one on TA. I would definitely stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

It was a generally wonderful hotel. Cannot fault anything. Room was comfortable and well lit. Even the bathroom had a Villroy & Bosch toilet, how fancy is that?!
great location, on the river across from the train station, near restaurants and not too far from the art museums.
the restaurant in the hotel, Melba, has a buffet dinner that is amazing. Has everything you could think of. And the buffet breakfast was wonderful also

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed there twice last year, both just quick weekenders with friends Couldn't fault the place. Great staff, great rooms, great service, great location at Southbank. Just made our impromptu weekend that much better. Will definitely be back again this year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.