We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can not fault this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Can not fault this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed at the Langham with my husband for our wedding anniversary. I read the reviews on TA and decided it was the place for us. It did not disappoint. The staff were exceptionally helpful, the hotel itself is beautiful, the location couldn't be better and the bed was heavenly. This hotel deserves its position as number one on TA. I would definitely stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,332
    553
    181
    50
    39
See reviews for
474
1,536
171
554
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (879)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

It was a generally wonderful hotel. Cannot fault anything. Room was comfortable and well lit. Even the bathroom had a Villroy & Bosch toilet, how fancy is that?!
great location, on the river across from the train station, near restaurants and not too far from the art museums.
the restaurant in the hotel, Melba, has a buffet dinner that is amazing. Has everything you could think of. And the buffet breakfast was wonderful also

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed there twice last year, both just quick weekenders with friends Couldn't fault the place. Great staff, great rooms, great service, great location at Southbank. Just made our impromptu weekend that much better. Will definitely be back again this year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The Langham Hotel is well located at the Southbank, just within a short walking distance to the Crown Casino and a large selection of restaurants, Chinatown and the railway station. Just a stones throw from the hotel is a 7-Eleven Store that you can pick up your knickknacks.
Check-in was flawless. We were booked in the Club level which allowed us complimentary breakfast, afternoon tea and per-dinner drinks on Level-24 as well as complimentary WiFi.
The room was large and airy with views over the river and Melbourne. We had a welcome chocolate and a bowel of fruits on arrival. There was a large flat screen TV, tea and coffee making facilities and bottles of water. There was also a writing desk and a settee.
The bathroom consisted of a toilet, shower and a separate bath. Water flow was excellent with piping hot water.
We were a group of fanatic golfers, so we had 2 rental cars that we Valet parked in the hotel at AU$50/- per night per car. The excellent service of the concierge loading and unloading the golf bags and moving the cars in and out a couple of times a day is highly commendable. The hotel is conveniently located for us to drive to the various golf courses each day.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Particular mention to Suzanne on level 24 lounge. I apologise for not recalling the names of the other very excellent staff.
I met the General Manager Ben and was pleasantly surprised that the recalled our previous visit to his hotel a couple of years earlier.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This was a luxurious, comfortable, welcoming, helpful, guest-centred hotel. We had a room overlooking the river - a view from which I'll attach when we return home - which was just lovely. Well located within walking distance of many of the city's attractions. Concierge was particularly helpful in organising trips. Only niggle was that w-fi was not part of the package. One had to pay, use the hotel's facilities, or take your device into the lobby. Not something one would expect of a high class hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
314 reviews 314 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Nice rooms, good quality, comfortable beds, excellent location (close to river, close to Botanical Garden, both give excellent early morning jogging opportunity, at the lobby they even offer a map to hang around your neck so you don't get lost, warm and cold water bottles and towels!). Breakfast buffet gives good selection, good quality. WiFi works well throughout the building. Staff attitude very nice, makes you feel welcome. Perfect place to stay on business trips.

Room Tip: Try to get corner room for two windows, brighter rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Awesome place with a great view.
Service was exceptional and staff were very friendly.
The room was very clean and well presented.
Hotel in general was a great place to stay and everything ran smoothly.
Will definitely stay there again next time I am in Melbourne!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotel.de, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.