We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Melbournes best.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Save Saved
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Club & Suite Discount
Ranked #1 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Hobart Tas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“One of Melbournes best.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This was about our 5 th stay and it was as good as ever.
Doorman missed our car door on arrival which was a little disappointing however the porter who looked after us on leaving was excellent.
Staff and service in hotel was first class. We stayed one night for football and although not close to mcg the hotel was well worth the walk back to. Melbas is always good for breakfast and lunch. Heading back to Melbourne shortly and wont hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,443 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,808
    427
    141
    39
    28
See reviews for
370
1150
150
453
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (621)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I have stayed in the Langham five times now. It's always a pleasant experience, quiet, friendly. The gym is well equipped and open 24 hours which is great. The bar and restaurant in the hotel are fantastic. I like being right by the water and Flinders Street station. It's a great part of town and easy to get around.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The receptionist was very curt upon check-in. She spoke a hundred miles an hour as if she just wanted to get her standard spiel over and done with and she didn't smile once. Our room was really nice although I was disappointed that we were at the back of the hotel, without a view. Definitely don't bother with breakfast at Melba, way over priced. I'm also puzzled why its so hard to hire a barista? Surely, in Melbourne they can't be that scarce! You could get a nicer breakfast for half the price at any number of city cafes and also get coffee made by a professional! The club lounge had a beautiful view.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMelbourne, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We thank you for your valuable feed back in reviewing our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed the views from our exclusive Langham club lounge located on level 24. We pride ourselves on delivering genuine service with poise and we assure you that our Front Office Manager will follow up on your arrival experience. Breakfast is a special meal of the day and is very popular in Melba to non residents appreciating the view of the city and the extensive food selection available at the published price. As a resident, for best value, I would recommend a room package including breakfast, bookable directly with the hotel through our reservations office or on our website. We offer a range of coffee options including filter coffee as well as specialty coffees prepared by our fully trained Barista staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Couldn't be better. It has a great location. The staff is amazing, so of course the service is great too.

The hotel feels like a royal palace (never been to one, but I imagine they must be like this).

Easily the best hotel in Melbourne, and one of the best in whole of Australia.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I have stayed in countless hotels across six continents, and I have never before been welcomed as a guest in the truest sense than what I have experienced at the Langham. While the entire staff were superb, Laurie and Lyndon in particular made it such a point to not only remember me by name, but make me feel genuinely welcomed the moment I returned to the hotel - even after beeing away for two weeks! When Laurie said, "Welcome home, Mr. Fay," the moment was real and genuine and meaningful, and changed my whole perspective from being "away from home" to having just arrived there.

The location at Southbank is also the best in the city, and the rooms are first rate. The moment you walk into the lobby and see the fountains running down the center of the grand staircase, you know you're someplace special. Yet despite how top-shelf the hotel is, it is really the staff that make the Langham someplace I look forward to coming back to.

Room Tip: The rooms that aren't adjoining are quiter, and the rooms facing the river have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This was truly an amazing stay. Having lived in Melbourne for 3 years a few years prior to this trip I had never visited the Langham. Shame on me! This is absolutely one of the best hotels I have stayed in. We were upgraded to the suite floors since having booked through Amex but I recommend asking for an upgrade- they might give you one if you're lucky and you won't regret asking.

Perfect location and stunning views, lovely staff, breakfast buffet was amazing - even had a chocolate fountain, great gym and sun deck etc etc.

Basically the only bad thing I can think of is the constant line at the counter everyday- it was annoying sometimes when you're just after a new room key and had to line up in with all the others checking in....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Wow, what a way to spend a Saturday afternoon. Absolutely Devine. Great service, we got an extra three rounds of sandwiches, any allergies, they attend too. A must do!!! Chocoholics delights. Do not eat lunch if going at 2.30pm session, we didn't even need dinner.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.