We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never before have I truly felt like an actual guest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Save Saved
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Club & Suite Discount
Ranked #1 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Whittier, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Never before have I truly felt like an actual guest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I have stayed in countless hotels across six continents, and I have never before been welcomed as a guest in the truest sense than what I have experienced at the Langham. While the entire staff were superb, Laurie and Lyndon in particular made it such a point to not only remember me by name, but make me feel genuinely welcomed the moment I returned to the hotel - even after beeing away for two weeks! When Laurie said, "Welcome home, Mr. Fay," the moment was real and genuine and meaningful, and changed my whole perspective from being "away from home" to having just arrived there.

The location at Southbank is also the best in the city, and the rooms are first rate. The moment you walk into the lobby and see the fountains running down the center of the grand staircase, you know you're someplace special. Yet despite how top-shelf the hotel is, it is really the staff that make the Langham someplace I look forward to coming back to.

Room Tip: The rooms that aren't adjoining are quiter, and the rooms facing the river have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,453 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,816
    429
    141
    39
    28
See reviews for
371
1155
150
455
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This was truly an amazing stay. Having lived in Melbourne for 3 years a few years prior to this trip I had never visited the Langham. Shame on me! This is absolutely one of the best hotels I have stayed in. We were upgraded to the suite floors since having booked through Amex but I recommend asking for an upgrade- they might give you one if you're lucky and you won't regret asking.

Perfect location and stunning views, lovely staff, breakfast buffet was amazing - even had a chocolate fountain, great gym and sun deck etc etc.

Basically the only bad thing I can think of is the constant line at the counter everyday- it was annoying sometimes when you're just after a new room key and had to line up in with all the others checking in....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Wow, what a way to spend a Saturday afternoon. Absolutely Devine. Great service, we got an extra three rounds of sandwiches, any allergies, they attend too. A must do!!! Chocoholics delights. Do not eat lunch if going at 2.30pm session, we didn't even need dinner.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Our main reason for picking this hotel was the location & it did not disappoint. It is located on the Southbank of the Yarra River with beautiful views across the Melbourne cityscape. It was fairly easy to find in our hire car once we had mastered the "hook turn..." athough we did have satnav. The bellboys were very helpful in holding our car for us whilst we unloaded our luggage as we had to return the car that afternoon to the depot.
The hotel is grand opulent & luxurious with a stunning lobby. Check-in was swift & efficient so we were in our room in no time.
The room was nice & of average size but we had only booked a standard for the stay. It was however clean & quiet so we enjoyed a good nights sleep. We did manage to spend an hour in the roof top spa during our stay which was lovely - stunning views & we had it all to ourselves.
The concierge service was excellent giving us plenty of tips to help us enjoy our stay & organising our dining reservations for us.
On leaving the hotel you are just around the corner from the river & a pedestrian bridge takes you across the river to the city. It is only around a 5 minute walk to the train station. There are lots of bars & restaurants lining the river so plenty of choice for an evening cocktail.
In conclusion we were very happy with our choice of hotel - well worth it's 5 star rating & the location is great for a city break.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We arrived early morning after our flight from UK, & were hoping to be able to leave our luggage at the hotel & find somewhere to relax till check - in time, but the friendly & helpful receptionist had us in our room within an hour, which was pretty impressive.

The room was lovely - tastefully furnished with a comfortable King size bed & very quiet. We really liked it.

The location of the Hotel on the Yarra River is perfect, with a pedestrian bridge just outside the Hotel which takes you into the City Centre or the Railway Station in 5 minutes.

We stayed 3 nights, & found the staff very friendly & helpful throughout our stay.

All in all, we were very impressed with this Hotel - so much so, that we decided to stay in the Sydney Langham the last few days before returning home.

Room Tip: We had a side room looking onto office buildings, but it was very quiet. I suspect most rooms in thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

One of the best short stays in the city.
best service and beautifully appointed room , a large bath and huge bed. The most comfortable beds ever . Love the roof top pool and jacuzzi . Staff very helpful . it must be that it feels like a home warm and friendly and not like a cold modern corporate hotel.

Room Tip: the roof top pool and jacuzzi and the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The décor is a bit old fashioned but overall the room and the service have been on the up side.
The only exception was for room service.
I ordered it twice. The first time they forgot to bring one of the entrees, the second they forgot to bring the entire order, I had to call them after one hour to check and they admitted they could not find it.
They apologized profusely but I think they should straighten this up.
Food was good anyway.
Location is perfect (Southbank lots of restaurants, bars and close to the Crown Casino)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMelbourne, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We thank you for your time and effort in reviewing our hotel and are pleased that you enjoyed the lovely vantage point that our location offers with its accessibility to the city, Southbank and Arts Centre. We have refurbished bedrooms in a classically elegant style with Langham luxuries. It is what differentiates us from most modern hotels and we strongly promote our unique style. As you know we recognised our mistakes on your in room dining order. As you would expect of a top 5 star hotel this information is always shared internally so that improvements can be made. I am sorry you were inconvenienced. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Langham Melbourne in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.