We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treat.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Save Saved
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Club & Suite Discount
Ranked #2 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Suffolk
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A treat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Great location on the yarra river, near Federation square. The most comfortable beds ever! Staff very helpful. The entrance is very impressive. Love the roof top pool and jacuzzi and the view. Had to pay for internet - pity not all included. But pleased with our choice of hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMelbourne, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We thank you for taking the time and effort in reviewing our hotel. Our blissful beds which you mentioned as being the most comfortable are available for purchase on our website or from our in house store Flavours Of Langham, located on the podium level in the hotel. We are delighted that you also experienced our health club and pool. For your next stay may we suggest that you join our complimentary 1865 loyalty program which entitles you to complimentary standard internet access? We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel to once again experience our enchanting service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,645
    394
    127
    36
    28
See reviews for
329
1066
140
407
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

its clean , always smells good in the lobby , they have great staff , the breakfast at Melba is nice but other than that i guess for the price there must be better places in Melbourne.
for some reason i keep coming back to langham though it must be that it feels like a home warm and friendly and not like a cold modern corporate hotel.
the chuan spa is very nice , so make sure you dont miss that if you are gonna stay there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMelbourne, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We appreciate and thank you for the time and effort in completing a review for our hotel. We are delighted that you feel our hotel is a home away from home as well as warm and friendly. Our Chuan Spa is a tranquil retreat where our guests can enjoy a massage to facial. We appreciate your return visits and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed at The Langham for three nights in March 2013 for work (Melbourne Food & Wine Festival). It was divine and I can't recommend it highly enough. I was in room 2109 - so on the executive level. My rate included access to the Club lounge, complimentary internet and breakfast in Melba.
But it was all the small touches made all the differences - the bathroom amenities we substancial and generous! The bath itself big and deep. The breakfast buffet was fresh and plentiful (although my morning flat white was very average - save your caffeine hit for elsewhere), the staff were also very helpful and accommodating.
I had roomservice and it was both good and quick.
The location is top notch - close to the city (about a five minute walk over the foot bridge) and a good distance away at the same time.
Can't wait to stay again.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the river are the pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Langham is an excellent hotel in a very central location. Rooms are spacious beds comfortable and the pillows are great so you will get a good nights sleep. The standout for this hotel is the service from all staff. They are obviously well trained and it shows. Friendly, helpful and welcoming. I just feel that a hotel of this calibre should have free wi-fi.everything in the hotel is pricey, and that's to be expected, but in today's world Internet connections should be standard with soap and shampoo.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMelbourne, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We thank you for your time in reviewing our hotel. We would like to highlight for your next stay, that you join our complimentary 1865 Loyalty programme which does include the complimentary standard Internet access. Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rüsselsheim
Top Contributor
495 reviews 495 reviews
134 hotel reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We booked a riverviewroom and get a room in the first floor, near the pool and fitnesscenter.Not the best for a quiet stay. The view was also not the best. The room was not so big and a little bit dated but clean. Situated near the Yarra River in the Southbankdistrict there were many choices to eat and walking along the river. Also the way by foot to the city was ok ( about 15 minutes).
The Service in the Hotel was very kindless, included checkin and out.

Room Tip: Look for a room in the higher level of the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMelbourne, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We thank you for your valuable feedback in reviewing our hotel. We are delighted that you found our location accessible to all major venues in the City. We are also pleased that you experienced our enchanting service from check in to out. Our rooms are known for their classic elegance and we would like to suggest for your next stay to experience our redecorated Grand River View rooms which are located on our higher floors. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Langham is a wonderful hotel, in a great location.

It's a little on the girlly side (lots of pink) but guys it's worth it.

It's everythign you expect of a 5 star hotel.

The only small fault is the beds are really soft. so if your like me and use to sleeping in a harder bed it can take a little getting use to. But hey if that's the only thing you have to complain about it's not much.

Room Tip: book a river view room. the view of Melbourne is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Staff were always pleasant, polite and friendly. Everyone had a smile. The bed was super comfy and the room elegantly appointed. The TV screen in my room flashed a welcome message when I checked in. The toiletries provided were from Penhaligon which lent a nice touch. I had a room facing the Yarra and all of Melbourne city sprawled before me. Because I was given a Club room, breakfast was in the Club lounge on the 24th floor. While not particularly extensive, it was nonetheless more than sufficient to fuel up for the day. The hotel was well-placed for enjoying Melbourne's art scene since it was a stone's throw from the National Art Centre, the National Art Gallery etc. It was also an easy walk to the iconic Flinders Street Station, Federation Square etc and the connection to a mall meant shopping was convenient too. Everyone, from the doormen to room service was professional, ready to assist and to do so with a warm smile. The styling was elegantly old-school, reminiscent of its flagship hotel in London and the pink colour scheme, provided a feminine tint. And by the way, the bedroom slippers were easily the best, softest ones I'd ever had in any hotel I'd ever stayed in. Wish I could have brought them home.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the river for great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel
The Langham Melbourne
Address: 1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Otel so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.