We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Save Saved
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Asiatravel.com
and 11 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Club & Suite Discount
Ranked #2 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
canberra
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Langham is an excellent hotel in a very central location. Rooms are spacious beds comfortable and the pillows are great so you will get a good nights sleep. The standout for this hotel is the service from all staff. They are obviously well trained and it shows. Friendly, helpful and welcoming. I just feel that a hotel of this calibre should have free wi-fi.everything in the hotel is pricey, and that's to be expected, but in today's world Internet connections should be standard with soap and shampoo.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMelbourne, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We thank you for your time in reviewing our hotel. We would like to highlight for your next stay, that you join our complimentary 1865 Loyalty programme which does include the complimentary standard Internet access. Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,246 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,656
    397
    129
    36
    28
See reviews for
333
1072
141
410
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rüsselsheim
Top Contributor
495 reviews 495 reviews
134 hotel reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We booked a riverviewroom and get a room in the first floor, near the pool and fitnesscenter.Not the best for a quiet stay. The view was also not the best. The room was not so big and a little bit dated but clean. Situated near the Yarra River in the Southbankdistrict there were many choices to eat and walking along the river. Also the way by foot to the city was ok ( about 15 minutes).
The Service in the Hotel was very kindless, included checkin and out.

Room Tip: Look for a room in the higher level of the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMelbourne, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We thank you for your valuable feedback in reviewing our hotel. We are delighted that you found our location accessible to all major venues in the City. We are also pleased that you experienced our enchanting service from check in to out. Our rooms are known for their classic elegance and we would like to suggest for your next stay to experience our redecorated Grand River View rooms which are located on our higher floors. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Langham is a wonderful hotel, in a great location.

It's a little on the girlly side (lots of pink) but guys it's worth it.

It's everythign you expect of a 5 star hotel.

The only small fault is the beds are really soft. so if your like me and use to sleeping in a harder bed it can take a little getting use to. But hey if that's the only thing you have to complain about it's not much.

Room Tip: book a river view room. the view of Melbourne is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Staff were always pleasant, polite and friendly. Everyone had a smile. The bed was super comfy and the room elegantly appointed. The TV screen in my room flashed a welcome message when I checked in. The toiletries provided were from Penhaligon which lent a nice touch. I had a room facing the Yarra and all of Melbourne city sprawled before me. Because I was given a Club room, breakfast was in the Club lounge on the 24th floor. While not particularly extensive, it was nonetheless more than sufficient to fuel up for the day. The hotel was well-placed for enjoying Melbourne's art scene since it was a stone's throw from the National Art Centre, the National Art Gallery etc. It was also an easy walk to the iconic Flinders Street Station, Federation Square etc and the connection to a mall meant shopping was convenient too. Everyone, from the doormen to room service was professional, ready to assist and to do so with a warm smile. The styling was elegantly old-school, reminiscent of its flagship hotel in London and the pink colour scheme, provided a feminine tint. And by the way, the bedroom slippers were easily the best, softest ones I'd ever had in any hotel I'd ever stayed in. Wish I could have brought them home.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the river for great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Langham sits across (the Yarra river and) the majestic Flinder railway station. Its location is ideal whether you are staying in Melbourne for leisure or business. You can enjoy a stroll along the Yarra and enjoy what the Melbourne CBD has to offer all within walking distance. If you fancy a jog in the morning or night, The Langham is a stone's throw away to the Royal Botanical Gardens. Tye hotel has modern facilities, reasonably sized rooms and great customer service, including the doorman whom i've seen there since my first stay at the Langham back in 2006. Very good restaurants and pubs nearby. What more can you ask? Oh and btw, the Melba restaurant serves fantastic breakfast!

Room Tip: The view of the Yarra river is just magical!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Coming back to the Langham Melbourne is like coming home, I always feel so looked after and just love the luxury of the rooms and service. The beds are so comfortable and the pillows (I like feather) are just great. I have stayed in the club plus the general floors and although the pampering (and the luscious food) you get in the club are great, so too will be your experience in the general floors. The easy access though the side door to Southbank is also an added bonus.
You want a photo experience, start at the front entrance and follow it up with the foyer and staircase to Alto and Melba.
But the best fun is actually ordering room services, which comes complete on the old fashioned trolley, decked out in white linen, with a flower and choclates. I felt like I was in an old Holywood movie....
So click your heels together.... there is not place like the Melbourne Langham, there is no place like the Melbourne Langham.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This must be one of the loveliest hotels in Melbourne - and shoulld rank very highly throughout the world.
if I really tried I would struggle to find anything to criticise, and, given a half a chance I would return in a heart-beat

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Langham Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel
The Langham Melbourne
Address: 1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com and Otel so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.