We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not the best choice in Melbourne” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
UP TO 10% OFF. BOOK NOW!
Ranked #2 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
GreenLeadersSilver level
rüsselsheim
Level Contributor
664 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“not the best choice in Melbourne”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We booked a riverviewroom and get a room in the first floor, near the pool and fitnesscenter.Not the best for a quiet stay. The view was also not the best. The room was not so big and a little bit dated but clean. Situated near the Yarra River in the Southbankdistrict there were many choices to eat and walking along the river. Also the way by foot to the city was ok ( about 15 minutes).
The Service in the Hotel was very kindless, included checkin and out.

Room Tip: Look for a room in the higher level of the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMelbourne, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We thank you for your valuable feedback in reviewing our hotel. We are delighted that you found our location accessible to all major venues in the City. We are also pleased that you experienced our enchanting service from check in to out. Our rooms are known for their classic elegance and we would like to suggest for your next stay to experience our redecorated Grand River View rooms which are located on our higher floors. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,469
    578
    191
    54
    42
See reviews for
505
1,624
178
583
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (948)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Langham is a wonderful hotel, in a great location.

It's a little on the girlly side (lots of pink) but guys it's worth it.

It's everythign you expect of a 5 star hotel.

The only small fault is the beds are really soft. so if your like me and use to sleeping in a harder bed it can take a little getting use to. But hey if that's the only thing you have to complain about it's not much.

Room Tip: book a river view room. the view of Melbourne is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
113 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Staff were always pleasant, polite and friendly. Everyone had a smile. The bed was super comfy and the room elegantly appointed. The TV screen in my room flashed a welcome message when I checked in. The toiletries provided were from Penhaligon which lent a nice touch. I had a room facing the Yarra and all of Melbourne city sprawled before me. Because I was given a Club room, breakfast was in the Club lounge on the 24th floor. While not particularly extensive, it was nonetheless more than sufficient to fuel up for the day. The hotel was well-placed for enjoying Melbourne's art scene since it was a stone's throw from the National Art Centre, the National Art Gallery etc. It was also an easy walk to the iconic Flinders Street Station, Federation Square etc and the connection to a mall meant shopping was convenient too. Everyone, from the doormen to room service was professional, ready to assist and to do so with a warm smile. The styling was elegantly old-school, reminiscent of its flagship hotel in London and the pink colour scheme, provided a feminine tint. And by the way, the bedroom slippers were easily the best, softest ones I'd ever had in any hotel I'd ever stayed in. Wish I could have brought them home.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the river for great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Langham sits across (the Yarra river and) the majestic Flinder railway station. Its location is ideal whether you are staying in Melbourne for leisure or business. You can enjoy a stroll along the Yarra and enjoy what the Melbourne CBD has to offer all within walking distance. If you fancy a jog in the morning or night, The Langham is a stone's throw away to the Royal Botanical Gardens. Tye hotel has modern facilities, reasonably sized rooms and great customer service, including the doorman whom i've seen there since my first stay at the Langham back in 2006. Very good restaurants and pubs nearby. What more can you ask? Oh and btw, the Melba restaurant serves fantastic breakfast!

Room Tip: The view of the Yarra river is just magical!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Coming back to the Langham Melbourne is like coming home, I always feel so looked after and just love the luxury of the rooms and service. The beds are so comfortable and the pillows (I like feather) are just great. I have stayed in the club plus the general floors and although the pampering (and the luscious food) you get in the club are great, so too will be your experience in the general floors. The easy access though the side door to Southbank is also an added bonus.
You want a photo experience, start at the front entrance and follow it up with the foyer and staircase to Alto and Melba.
But the best fun is actually ordering room services, which comes complete on the old fashioned trolley, decked out in white linen, with a flower and choclates. I felt like I was in an old Holywood movie....
So click your heels together.... there is not place like the Melbourne Langham, there is no place like the Melbourne Langham.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This must be one of the loveliest hotels in Melbourne - and shoulld rank very highly throughout the world.
if I really tried I would struggle to find anything to criticise, and, given a half a chance I would return in a heart-beat

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Langham Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

A serious 6* which provides those subtle extras that make all the difference without appearing pretentious. The Langham gets it right – excellent location, imaginative food (Melba), relaxed surroundings, good facilities (especially club - well worth the extra $$) and staff who were without exception pleasant and attentive (despite an alarming habit of constantly enquiring ‘how I was’).

The Langham is not cheap, and nor should it be, but I consider (I was travelling independently) it money well spent and Melbourne, and all that was going on at the time, the more enjoyable for having chosen to stay here. I would certainly recommend it

Room Tip: higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Towers
Crown Towers
#3 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,413 reviews
Oaks On William
#22 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,080 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#7 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.