We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's no place like a luxurious home.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 169 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“There's no place like a luxurious home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Coming back to the Langham Melbourne is like coming home, I always feel so looked after and just love the luxury of the rooms and service. The beds are so comfortable and the pillows (I like feather) are just great. I have stayed in the club plus the general floors and although the pampering (and the luscious food) you get in the club are great, so too will be your experience in the general floors. The easy access though the side door to Southbank is also an added bonus.
You want a photo experience, start at the front entrance and follow it up with the foyer and staircase to Alto and Melba.
But the best fun is actually ordering room services, which comes complete on the old fashioned trolley, decked out in white linen, with a flower and choclates. I felt like I was in an old Holywood movie....
So click your heels together.... there is not place like the Melbourne Langham, there is no place like the Melbourne Langham.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,353
    556
    182
    50
    39
See reviews for
476
1,550
172
558
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (890)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Geelong
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This must be one of the loveliest hotels in Melbourne - and shoulld rank very highly throughout the world.
if I really tried I would struggle to find anything to criticise, and, given a half a chance I would return in a heart-beat

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Langham Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

A serious 6* which provides those subtle extras that make all the difference without appearing pretentious. The Langham gets it right – excellent location, imaginative food (Melba), relaxed surroundings, good facilities (especially club - well worth the extra $$) and staff who were without exception pleasant and attentive (despite an alarming habit of constantly enquiring ‘how I was’).

The Langham is not cheap, and nor should it be, but I consider (I was travelling independently) it money well spent and Melbourne, and all that was going on at the time, the more enjoyable for having chosen to stay here. I would certainly recommend it

Room Tip: higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Fantastic central location to visit Melbourne Culture, terrific staff very welcoming 5 star plus. I would recommend a stay especially for a great city experience.
We will definitely return. The hotel has a great ambience and Heath spa.

Room Tip: River view is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oz
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

As most reviews suggest, great service, atmosphere, and for this stay, great value !! prepaid 45days out gave a price of $502/2 nites.
Room on 21st floor gave views over Yarra and no noise from Southbank crowds.
Would love to stay again !!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Langham as the first stop on a tour of Australia with a top rated tour company. The hotel is lovely with magnificent views over the Yarra River. The buffet breakfasts and dinners were superior in both quantity and quality to satisfy the most discerning palate. The bedrooms are spacious and comfortable. My only gripe, and it is not insignificant, is the quality of the WiFi in the rooms. In 2013, a hotel of this quality should have WiFi which is easy to access, reasonably fast, and consistent in its service. The Langham failed to meet this standard. Otherwise, the hotel is first class.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Look, it's okay, and that's where the biggest problem lies. My partner and I wanted a long weekend in the best hotel in Melbourne, so the Langham was, what I thought to be the best option. Turned out, once you were past the awesome lobby (which is pretty spectacular) that was it. The bed needed a new mattress, (dents and a bar right down the middle so you were pretty much stuck sleeping in one spot) the shower/spa was average (the sink busted) and everything just a bit meh. To be honest, looking at the prices of things, I felt like I had fallen into a giant tourist trap. All glitter no substance. The clincher being a $27 martini with Bombay gin. Seriously? I felt like a right idiot when I was hoodwinked by that.

It was a nice hotel. The staff were lovely, bar one who thought it more polite to only speak to males and not the one whose name the booking was in. The place looked lovely, the bell hops were a delight. But I just did not see where my money extra money was going, especially when they seemed to keep holding their hand out for more. (Yes, there are some pretty cool complimentary bits and bobs, but I started to get worried about what else they were going to charge me for, and generally stayed away.) Next time I go to Melbourne for a long weekend, I'd be more likely to check out the competitors, which is a bit sad, really.

P.S if you're paying that much for a room, the least they could throw in is free Internet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotel.de, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.