We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall an enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 169 Hotels in Melbourne
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Overall an enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Beautifully decorated hotel, many fine art pieces and touches, the flower arrangements were exquisite and the main staircase is such a divine feature. We enjoyed cocktails in the Aria bar and service was impeccable.
Our room was very comfortable and spacious, bed and pillows were perfect, and the marble bathroom a pleasure to bathe in. The amenities box was a real treat and even included toothbrush & toothpaste! It was pleasing to have a dark room when the drapes were closed when we slept. Loved the desk area, we could achieve a lot in this welcoming little spot.
Unfortunately the room was a little noisy - we were able to hear the plumbing from adjacent rooms whenever someone used the bathroom! We also copped a lot of noise from the hallway outide with passing people traffic and maids servicing rooms. The linen room was right near us and the door opened and closed a large part of the day when rooms were being serviced.
I'm happy to report the spa and pool were wonderfully appointed and maintained, and a perfect way to laze in the afternoon. We both had spa treatments at the Chuan Spa and were totally emerged in luxury and relaxation under the expert care of the therapists.
This hotel is in a great location as it is close to all the Southbank eateries, the Crown casino and short walk over the river to Flinders station, trams & city.

Room Tip: The Classic rooms have just been nicely refurbished and are on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMelbourne, Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We’re pleased that you appreciated the classic elegance of our grand staircase and the “exquisite” fine art pieces found throughout the Hotel. We are delighted to learn you and your companion both felt rejuvenated from the treatment at our Chuan Spa. Should you choose to indulge yourself in serenity once again, we recommend our Chuan Harmony accommodation package which includes breakfast for two, late check out, valet parking and a one hour treatment in Chuan Spa. Feedback of the noisy night you experienced will be followed up with our engineering department and our room attendants so that the source may be identified and rectified. We advise all guests to please contact our front desk guest service agent if a room does not meet their expectations. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know of your experiences. We look forward in welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,354
    556
    182
    50
    39
See reviews for
476
1,550
173
558
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (891)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Everything a traveler wants ....you name it & you have it here! Plus elegance, beauty & all that you need to begin a 20+ - trip with Tauck . Downtown Melbourne w pool!
Fun, clean, upgraded, soft, great food...yum!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I booked a surprise Wish upon a star Package for our second anniversary. The service and thoughtfulness that we experienced from the Langham far exceeded our expectations and any service we have experienced before. We were given un upgrade to a river room received a happy anniversary cake and also a card.

The room was very tastefully set out and had the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in. I would recommend getting a rate with breakfast include too as it was fantastic with a huge range food available (very expensive if you purchase it separately).

The pool and spa has an amazing view of the water and City skyline.


There is a reason this hotel is ranked number one in Melbourne! I would highly recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: If you can opt for a river room- great view Book a rate with breakfast included
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is a truly beautiful hotel in a fantastic location on the Southbank. The welcome was warm and friendly and our room was ready for us even from 8am on our day of arrival. We were so grateful for this after an overnight flight from Hong Kong. Nothing was too much trouble for all the staff. They did everything to make our stay perfect and for that we thank them all. The rooms were very, very comfortable and well appointed. The breakfast is vast. We would love to return to Melbourne, and if we did, we would not hesitate to book into the Langham.

The only slight negative is the additional charge for in room internet. With the cost of the stay here surely it’s too much to expect to include it as standard. Come on Langham – all other hotels of this standard provide it!.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Arrived early and was upgraded to a river view room, the service from the moment we arrived was second to none. Check in smooth and efficient and no sooner had we got to our room our bags arrived. Room was large and airy with a large bathroom. Small touches like housekeeping bringing water and the following days weather all left a good impression. Breakfast was faultless, a true 5* experience .

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
409 reviews 409 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
466 helpful votes 466 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

On the plus side, there was an overwhelming welcome and the view from our deluxe room was good. In fact it was its saving grace. The rest was fairly ordinary starting with the very standard room configuration which was small and conventional by 5 star standards.
The bathroom was in need of a refurbishment and was saved only by the generous stock of pink colored amenities.
I didn't enjoy anything more. Even though we were guests in the hotel we were unable to have afternoon tea in the lounge - too busy I was told so we returned from our shopping trip in the city to have it in our room. When it arrived it was afternoon tea for 1. No apology and no offer to remedy the situation. Very disappointing. A bottle of wine took over an hour to be delivered to our room and the internet service was expensive.
My lasting impression of breakfast was people piling their plates high with food as if they hadnt eaten for week and a scrambled egg ladle soaking in a bowl of milky colored water with bits of egg floating in it. Very unappetizing.
We were completely disappointed in our visit. It didn't live up to our expectations, nor the gushing reviews by some other members.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMelbourne, Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We thank you for your feedback.
We are delighted you enjoyed the wonderful views from your Grand River room overlooking exciting Southbank and of the Yarra River. We are however disappointed to learn the room wasn’t suitable. Perhaps on your next visit you may consider staying in one of our Luxurious Club Spa Suites, complete with a two-person spa, separate bedroom to the living areas, WiFi and Langham Club Access. There’s nothing standard about this room. We are sorry you weren’t aware of the popularity of our Tiffin Afternoon tea and the need to make bookings prior to arrival. The let down you experienced with in-room-dinning will be shared with management to ensure this error is immediately resolved. No one should ever have to wait an hour for a bottle of wine. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know of your experiences. You can be assured that your future visits will be seamless and memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Fantastic Hotel with fantastic service. It was our 25th wedding anniversary and it felt very special. The concierge (Peter) was most helpful organising fantastic roses and a bottle of champagne to be delivered to the room. All arrived exactly as planned.
The room was very comfortable and well appointed. Fantastic views over the Yarra to Flinders Street Station and the city beyond. Easy walking distance to the State Theatre (see Warhorse if you can) and lots and lots of small bars and restaurants.
We felt completely spoilt and well looked after at The Langham and I would love to stay there next time in Melbourne which is my new favourite city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotel.de, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.