We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wonderful & glorious....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bethesda
Level Contributor
93 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just wonderful & glorious....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Everything a traveler wants ....you name it & you have it here! Plus elegance, beauty & all that you need to begin a 20+ - trip with Tauck . Downtown Melbourne w pool!
Fun, clean, upgraded, soft, great food...yum!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn Beane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I booked a surprise Wish upon a star Package for our second anniversary. The service and thoughtfulness that we experienced from the Langham far exceeded our expectations and any service we have experienced before. We were given un upgrade to a river room received a happy anniversary cake and also a card.

The room was very tastefully set out and had the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in. I would recommend getting a rate with breakfast include too as it was fantastic with a huge range food available (very expensive if you purchase it separately).

The pool and spa has an amazing view of the water and City skyline.


There is a reason this hotel is ranked number one in Melbourne! I would highly recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: If you can opt for a river room- great view Book a rate with breakfast included
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is a truly beautiful hotel in a fantastic location on the Southbank. The welcome was warm and friendly and our room was ready for us even from 8am on our day of arrival. We were so grateful for this after an overnight flight from Hong Kong. Nothing was too much trouble for all the staff. They did everything to make our stay perfect and for that we thank them all. The rooms were very, very comfortable and well appointed. The breakfast is vast. We would love to return to Melbourne, and if we did, we would not hesitate to book into the Langham.

The only slight negative is the additional charge for in room internet. With the cost of the stay here surely it’s too much to expect to include it as standard. Come on Langham – all other hotels of this standard provide it!.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OneCotswoldCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Arrived early and was upgraded to a river view room, the service from the moment we arrived was second to none. Check in smooth and efficient and no sooner had we got to our room our bags arrived. Room was large and airy with a large bathroom. Small touches like housekeeping bringing water and the following days weather all left a good impression. Breakfast was faultless, a true 5* experience .

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
495 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 539 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

On the plus side, there was an overwhelming welcome and the view from our deluxe room was good. In fact it was its saving grace. The rest was fairly ordinary starting with the very standard room configuration which was small and conventional by 5 star standards.
The bathroom was in need of a refurbishment and was saved only by the generous stock of pink colored amenities.
I didn't enjoy anything more. Even though we were guests in the hotel we were unable to have afternoon tea in the lounge - too busy I was told so we returned from our shopping trip in the city to have it in our room. When it arrived it was afternoon tea for 1. No apology and no offer to remedy the situation. Very disappointing. A bottle of wine took over an hour to be delivered to our room and the internet service was expensive.
My lasting impression of breakfast was people piling their plates high with food as if they hadnt eaten for week and a scrambled egg ladle soaking in a bowl of milky colored water with bits of egg floating in it. Very unappetizing.
We were completely disappointed in our visit. It didn't live up to our expectations, nor the gushing reviews by some other members.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canberra_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMelbourne, Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We thank you for your feedback.
We are delighted you enjoyed the wonderful views from your Grand River room overlooking exciting Southbank and of the Yarra River. We are however disappointed to learn the room wasn’t suitable. Perhaps on your next visit you may consider staying in one of our Luxurious Club Spa Suites, complete with a two-person spa, separate bedroom to the living areas, WiFi and Langham Club Access. There’s nothing standard about this room. We are sorry you weren’t aware of the popularity of our Tiffin Afternoon tea and the need to make bookings prior to arrival. The let down you experienced with in-room-dinning will be shared with management to ensure this error is immediately resolved. No one should ever have to wait an hour for a bottle of wine. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know of your experiences. You can be assured that your future visits will be seamless and memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Fantastic Hotel with fantastic service. It was our 25th wedding anniversary and it felt very special. The concierge (Peter) was most helpful organising fantastic roses and a bottle of champagne to be delivered to the room. All arrived exactly as planned.
The room was very comfortable and well appointed. Fantastic views over the Yarra to Flinders Street Station and the city beyond. Easy walking distance to the State Theatre (see Warhorse if you can) and lots and lots of small bars and restaurants.
We felt completely spoilt and well looked after at The Langham and I would love to stay there next time in Melbourne which is my new favourite city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pomdownunder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband and I splurged on staying at the Langham Melbourne for 4 nights during a 5 week visit in Australia. From the staff working the car park, the bell staff, desk staff and even the maids, everyone was professional, friendly and absolutely lovely to us. Our room was large, tastefully decorated and clean. We also had a great view of the city from our floor.

The front desk staff was most helpful whether they were booking a tour of the Melbourne Gaol for us, giving us directions, or even helping us figure out how to get some laundry done. Messages for us were delivered promptly. When they found out found out that we were celebrating Christmas in Australia, our first anniversary and a 30th birthday, we came back to our room to find 2 pieces of cake waiting for us. The nightly turn down service was unexpected and a nice bonus as they left the next days weather forecast on a pillow so you could plan accordingly!

The location is just across the river from lots of the downtown sights and near the botanical gardens. We only had to take the city trains/buses twice during our whole stay since the walk was so easy and enjoyable. Free internet is available in the lobby, you just need to ask the front desk for the daily pass code; the lovely is grand and beautiful, so there are worse places to check your email!

The hotel out does the Fairmonts and other 'high class' chains of the world and anyone I know going to Melbourne will be encouraged to splurge and indulge for a few nights at this hotel.

Thank you Langham, for treating us so well and making our stay magical.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LB1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,603 reviews
Crown Towers
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,625 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing