We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grossly overrated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
389 reviews 389 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
457 helpful votes 457 helpful votes
“Grossly overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

On the plus side, there was an overwhelming welcome and the view from our deluxe room was good. In fact it was its saving grace. The rest was fairly ordinary starting with the very standard room configuration which was small and conventional by 5 star standards.
The bathroom was in need of a refurbishment and was saved only by the generous stock of pink colored amenities.
I didn't enjoy anything more. Even though we were guests in the hotel we were unable to have afternoon tea in the lounge - too busy I was told so we returned from our shopping trip in the city to have it in our room. When it arrived it was afternoon tea for 1. No apology and no offer to remedy the situation. Very disappointing. A bottle of wine took over an hour to be delivered to our room and the internet service was expensive.
My lasting impression of breakfast was people piling their plates high with food as if they hadnt eaten for week and a scrambled egg ladle soaking in a bowl of milky colored water with bits of egg floating in it. Very unappetizing.
We were completely disappointed in our visit. It didn't live up to our expectations, nor the gushing reviews by some other members.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMelbourne, Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We thank you for your feedback.
We are delighted you enjoyed the wonderful views from your Grand River room overlooking exciting Southbank and of the Yarra River. We are however disappointed to learn the room wasn’t suitable. Perhaps on your next visit you may consider staying in one of our Luxurious Club Spa Suites, complete with a two-person spa, separate bedroom to the living areas, WiFi and Langham Club Access. There’s nothing standard about this room. We are sorry you weren’t aware of the popularity of our Tiffin Afternoon tea and the need to make bookings prior to arrival. The let down you experienced with in-room-dinning will be shared with management to ensure this error is immediately resolved. No one should ever have to wait an hour for a bottle of wine. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know of your experiences. You can be assured that your future visits will be seamless and memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,285
    541
    177
    48
    38
See reviews for
463
1,504
169
544
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (856)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Fantastic Hotel with fantastic service. It was our 25th wedding anniversary and it felt very special. The concierge (Peter) was most helpful organising fantastic roses and a bottle of champagne to be delivered to the room. All arrived exactly as planned.
The room was very comfortable and well appointed. Fantastic views over the Yarra to Flinders Street Station and the city beyond. Easy walking distance to the State Theatre (see Warhorse if you can) and lots and lots of small bars and restaurants.
We felt completely spoilt and well looked after at The Langham and I would love to stay there next time in Melbourne which is my new favourite city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband and I splurged on staying at the Langham Melbourne for 4 nights during a 5 week visit in Australia. From the staff working the car park, the bell staff, desk staff and even the maids, everyone was professional, friendly and absolutely lovely to us. Our room was large, tastefully decorated and clean. We also had a great view of the city from our floor.

The front desk staff was most helpful whether they were booking a tour of the Melbourne Gaol for us, giving us directions, or even helping us figure out how to get some laundry done. Messages for us were delivered promptly. When they found out found out that we were celebrating Christmas in Australia, our first anniversary and a 30th birthday, we came back to our room to find 2 pieces of cake waiting for us. The nightly turn down service was unexpected and a nice bonus as they left the next days weather forecast on a pillow so you could plan accordingly!

The location is just across the river from lots of the downtown sights and near the botanical gardens. We only had to take the city trains/buses twice during our whole stay since the walk was so easy and enjoyable. Free internet is available in the lobby, you just need to ask the front desk for the daily pass code; the lovely is grand and beautiful, so there are worse places to check your email!

The hotel out does the Fairmonts and other 'high class' chains of the world and anyone I know going to Melbourne will be encouraged to splurge and indulge for a few nights at this hotel.

Thank you Langham, for treating us so well and making our stay magical.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We flew into Melbourne to join a Tauk tour and were very pleased with this hotel. It is first class all the way, from the robes/slippers to turn-down service with chocolates. The lobby and entrance area was impressive -- reminds me of Parisian five-star hotels. The Melba restaurant has one of the most impressive buffets with almost everything I tried "finger-smacking" good. I would recommend this hotel to all of my friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We recently stayed at the Langham for a wedding anniversary. From start to finish it was absolutely wonderful. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The service was impeccable, and the turndown service made us feel very spoilt!
The High Tea was great and the buffet at Melba was the best buffet I had ever had, particularly freshly prepared sashimi and delectable bite size desserts. We only ate at the restaurant once for dinner and once for breakfast as there were so many other great restaurants within a stone's throw for us to try.
The location is fantastic for exploring Melbourne and the ferry to Williamstown leaves right out the front. If you want to catch some entertainment, Hamer Hall is a five minute walk and Federation Square about ten minutes.The hotel has wonderful views, we were glad to have chosen a corner room to really appreciate the vista.
The only downside would be that the swimming pool, although beautifully located and well supplied with lounges and towels etc, seems a bit in need of a face lift, but the Langham seems to have such attention to detail that I am sure they are already onto it!
Cannot wait to get back again to this lovely hotel and vibrant city!

Room Tip: Corner room had a great view of the river in both directions and is also at the end of a corridor so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband and I were staying in Langham hotel in Melbourne for 7 nights. From the very moment we arrived to the hotel we were amazed with hospitality, super quick check-in, great breakfast and clean, cozy room!
All the staff members were very nice and helpful. We would recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed in Jan this year. Paid £860 for two nights to stay in a deluxe room. The room was nice. Food was ridiculously expensive.
But for that price, they still charged us $4.85 a night to have WiFi in our room! Ridiculous.
We spoke to the management but they were totally unsympathetic.
Sorry Langham, you've lost us and our friends as customers.

Room Tip: Could no it have breakfast as it was around $48 per person. So we ate at one of the many excellent b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMelbourne, Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.
We are pleased to know the room you booked was to your satisfaction during the recent peak season of the Australian Tennis Open. Please know we have a variety of packages designed for guests with different preferences and are best value and have the best terms when you book them directly with the hotel. They have been created to enhance the Langham experience and may include dinner, breakfast, wifi, chocolate surprise, massage and much more. Please also know that there is no charge for standard wifi when you join our complimentary Langham 1865 loyalty Club. I am sorry that you were not made aware of this. Once again, thank you for taking the time to let us know of your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.