We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully presented hotel with genuine and friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Save Saved
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Club & Suite Discount
Ranked #1 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Australind- WA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautifully presented hotel with genuine and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the Langham recently, from the moment you are greeted by the doorman and walk in you can delight in the opulence, we had a grand river view twin room which looked over the river and across to the city, the room was fantastic the bathroom large with wonderful pressure in the large shower the bathroom was spotlessly clean with lots of lovely goodies supplied these were of a high quality.
The beds and pillows are simply divine so comfortable after a long day shopping, room service was excellent and on one occasion when we had to wait more than 30 minutes for coffee to arrive we were not charged as we were told that it was unacceptable for us to have to wait so long.
We had the buffet breakfast at Melba's although I have no real complaints we found it to be somewhat average in comparison to breakfast provided at some of the other top Melbourne hotels. We made use of the Chuan spa while we were staying at the Langham and I cannot praise it highly enough it was excellent with knowledgable staff and a wonderful peaceful ambience, the gym was well equipped and the spa a pleasure to use, I felt on a personal level that the pool although very functional was somewhat out of place with the style and class of the rest of the hotel it was just so uninspiring but again this is my personal opinion.
All staff we had contact with were genuinely friendly and nothing was too much trouble, we would stay here again in a heartbeat and would not hesitate to recommend it to friends and family.

Room Tip: The grand river view rooms are wonderful a delight at night looking over the lights of Melbourne
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,442 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,806
    427
    141
    40
    28
See reviews for
370
1149
150
452
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (620)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

the hotel is magnificent to stay at as its close to the restaraunts and night life of the yarra and close to casino the mcg just very central to everything.
the rooms are terrific and the dining there has many choices.
this is a hotel you should put on your list to stay at when in Melbourne and once you do that may then be the only hotel you want to stay at.
cheers

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Langham Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

From the moment you enter this hotel it has a very grand feeling to it. All the staff where very helpful and also a great location. I have stayed at a few hotels in my time and this would have to be up there with best. A nice touch was the complimentary water put on your bedside at night. A truly wonderful Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

.......and so it should be at the price!

Great hotel, great breakfast, great location. It's hard to find fault here apart from the fact I have got lazy recently and do not carry travel plugs, due too most 5* hotels these days having international sockets. Anyway after a quick call to reception it turned out there was one in the mini bar for free use so they had even thought of that.

Stunning lobby and the service is first class, rooms are old but very very nice and not dated.

Highly recomended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We were staying in The Langham for our ten year anniversary. The hotel was elegant and the rooms were amazing. We had a corner river room which had fantastic views of the Yarra and the city. We got room service and the food was supurb! We would recommend it to any romantics who want a night without the kids :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This is the first time that my Wife and I have stayed at this hotel and we are both sure that it won't be the last.
The decor, rooms and staff are the very best. Bathrooms are huge
Club lounge is ideal for rest and relaxation at the end of a busy day
Breakfast was superb
A fantastic experience

Room Tip: We had room 2419
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Perfect location for "tennis junkies" during Australian Open. High end with copy/trade marked pink on everything, good food and only 10 min away by water taxi or 30 min walk from Rod Laver arena. Staff is perfect, rooms very comfortable with great views. Right on the river, lots of restaurants and bars around, busker performances on the river bank for hours every day. Metro and street car stops few minutes away, huge open air Victoria Market 10 minutes by street car or 30 min walk. Spent 4 hours there + a bunch of cash (and I am not a "shopper"), with a couple of beers in between...). Will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.