We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting stay..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Club & Suite Discount
Ranked #1 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Enchanting stay..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My husband and I spent our first night as a married couple at the Langham. The staff is friendly, attentive and always helpful. Even if you pass them in the halls they never tire to give you a smile. Our room was impeccable with our city view. We had buffet breakfast which was delightful. There was wide array of hot and cold foods to choose from. We also had high tea at the Aria Bar. We enjoyed an assortment of gourmet mini sandwiches and a handful of delectable sweets. The Langham's location is also just outside Melbourne CBD so were able to walk to the city. We definitely will be back again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,966
    453
    155
    40
    33
See reviews for
402
1,257
158
487
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (689)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed for 9 days. Staff was very courteous, always greeted guests in elevators or when eye contact was made. Bed very comfortable and housekeeping did a thorough job everyday. There was 1 day room was not attended to which required a call for housekeeping service. But responsiveness was good.

Conveniently located across the bridge from Flinders station for public transport and walking distance to the CBD or central business district, downtown.

Only downside was Internet charges by data amount. Each device will incur its own charge.

Also a very limited number of partners for frequent traveler points.

Room Tip: Someone said floors with white carpets have been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

A friend & I stayed for a long weekend (I write this review from the Airport on the way home). Beds were lovely as was the spa, jacuzzi & pool. Ordered room service by the pool & order got mixed up so it was over an hour that we waited - we didn't mind so much as weren't in a rush & they rectified it pretty quickly & with some glasses of wine as a sorry. Room was always being made up - loved clean towels & slippers put out for us. Also love that at all langham that if you forget your toothbrush there is one there for you. Tried to book in for dinner but there was no room which was a bit dissapointing so more to self for next time - book dinner well in advance! Overall a great stay & close to everything - walked round corner to southgate for dinner a couple of times, walked to Bourke st mall/qv & melb central, $12 taxi to chapel street.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

There's no denying that this is a beautiful hotel. The stairs up to the reception are very grand and impressive and it looked like we were going to have a very enjoyable stay.

Our check in took longer than I would have expected in a hotel of this standard - this was due to not having enough staff to handle the waiting guests.

The rooms are lovely and well appointed.

Our problem arose because my husband has to download his emails regularly to keep up to date. So, when he found out that the Internet charge was $15 he was really annoyed - I have to agree with him here - after you have paid the exorbitant nightly charge, excessive Internet charges are nothing but annoying. If a hotel of this standard cant cover Internet charges in their rates there's something wrong. So, after a few more expletives he decided he'd have to pay the charge and get on with it. He had just started downloading his emails when it stopped working - he phoned up and was told that that Internet charge only covered downloading about 6 emails - if he wanted to download more then he would have to pay the $25 daily charge!!
I presume he made his displeasure known as we had a note put through our door saying that we could have the Internet for the lower cost that night - unfortunately the deed was done and there was no way my husband would have anything to do with their Internet.

Now, being so annoyed, he refused to use anything extra in the hotel - so instead of having our champagne celebration in the bar we went outside and had it in a nearby bar - we then went out for every meal instead of using the restaurants.

If some cheap hotel can do free Internet why can't they? The strange thing was that the signs in the room suggest that there is no charge for this.

It's a pity that hotels of this standard cant see further than the end of their nose - what we would have spent in the hotel would have far exceeded any Internet charge!

So, we won't be going back to the Langham in Melbourne and we won't be trying out the new one in Sydney.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidLM_LanghamMelb, Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your review.
I am glad you enjoyed the ambience of the hotel and the well appointed rooms. I have noted your comments about the time it took at check in and we will address the issue with the team. In regards to the internet we have recently introduced an offer of free internet (upto 200mb download )for our guests who sign up to our complimentary 1865 loyalty program. We also offer 15 minutes complimentary internet in our business center for our guests who might require to check emails. Most luxury hotels in the city charge for internet. However we have also reduced our charges for unlimited downloads to $14.95. We trust that you will reconsider and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

I totally agreed with the review “Nice hotel. Poor service at reception”. I was actually with him when we were asking for the invoice update. She was not nice and acted inappropriate behavior i'd say.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Almost everything in this hotel is great. Cleanliness and comfortability are perfect.
Breakfast is great. Janitors are nice. It is only one thing that keeps this hotel far away from perfect.
The only unacceptable flaw in this hotel is the service - the receptionists.
We were treated differently as we are from a different arra of the world. You may simply call it racism or racial discrimination. We were dealing with the receptionist named Nicole which had a very bad attitude towards services. She even went as far as mumbling and complaining in front of guests. I am sorry to say this, but this hotel is not a cheap one, and i expected a lot higher attitude of services. We were just asking gently to change some addresses in the invoice which is a part of our company's requirement for reimbursement. After changing for two times and it was still not 100% correct, she was showing bad mood and moreover, expressing it out through words and actions.
For this class of hotel, professional service is needed and this alone can ruin every good thing about this hotel. I suggest the hotel recruit only employees which have service minds and are not rasicm.

For people who aren't preys for racism, this is just a perfect hotel for you.

Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidLM_LanghamMelb, Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your review and please accept our apologies for the shortfall in service provided. We are glad to note that you enjoyed your stay with us except for the interaction with our reception staff. We do take great pride in providing friendly intuitive service at all times and our staffs do relish the opportunity to excel and be recognized in this area. We have investigated the matter with the team member concerned and corrective training and guidance has been provided to ensure there are no repetitions of a similar nature. We look forward to the opportunity of being of service again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

A wonderful experience in every way. Welcomed by courteous, professional staff, the ambience was so seductive!! Had a riverside room and Mother Nature put on a beautiful sunrise over a misty Yarra river. Clean, fresh, comfortable bed, assortment of pillows altogether a very lovely room so well appointed. The bathroom was stunning too. As a venue for an anniversary the stay at The Langham is a cherished memory from the high tea (quite pricy but very good) through dinner and a late night stroll on South Bank enjoying the night life in the bars, restaurants and clubs in and around the city brings back many good memories. I would do it again and again

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.