We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Heavenly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
GreenLeadersSilver level
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Simply Heavenly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I returned to the Langham for an overnight stay, in one of the beautiful Club Corner Spa Suite rooms (Room 2004), after an absence of a couple of years and can honestly say it was a delightful reunion!

The Langham, Melbourne, is a lush hotel that has a beautiful - almost regal - feel, without any pretentiousness, and staff that are clearly happy and friendly. From the moment I arrived on Thurs (27 Sep), when a very cheerful doorman greeted me, to the moment I left, when one of the bell staff helped me load my luggage into my car, I was treated as a super-star (and judging from the friendly interchanges I noted in the Langham Lounge, particularly with one family who had obviously been there a couple of days, I wasn't the only one).

The room was fabulous, beautiful views of the Yarra and Federation Square, super comfy bed, intelligent tech support (loved the clever multi-media interface in main room - just ready to plug laptop, iPad into), deluxe bathroom with top notch toiletries, dual showers and big oval spa bath, and what has to be the greatest slippers ever (deluxe version, especially provided to Club guests) plus lovely complementary chocolate frogs to snack on!

Had room service for brekkie, arrived lovely and hot, with friendly waiter who set it all up for me before cheerfully wishing me a good morning (staff at this hotel are just great, plus love the uniforms the ladies get to wear - very stylish). Couldn't finish it all, they were quite generous with portions.

Can definitely recommend visiting Chuan Spa, therapists are lovely (Caroline was amazing, really put me at ease and had me on Cloud 9 - so relaxing!) and facilities are excellent (steam room a fantastic way to loosen everything up). You will be smiling before you leave!

All in all, not hard to see why Melbournians love this grand dame - I look forward to visiting her again.

Room Tip: Club rooms are a treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Hotel_Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Took my wife to Melb for a special birthday weekend and decided to try a new Hotel. We had not been to Melbourne for over 3 years given our residence in London in recent times.

The Langham was simply outstanding in every way, brilliant service, attention to detail and high quality fixtures and fittings.

The location at Southbank was also terrific with loads of options for travel and extra curricula activities.

We had a corner room on the 19th floor overlooking The Yarra and that was very enjoyable. The beds were superb.

In the past we have stayed at the Park Hyatt and whilst that too is excellent their rooms are far larger for the same price. Notwithstanding we will be changing our allegiance to The Langham for future visits.

Room Tip: The Hotel is connected to AMX and you may qualify for a room upgrade if you book and/or pay via AMX...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DPL-OZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel is so beautiful! The amazing entry will make your draw drop. It is in a perfect location close to th cbd and right in the river within walking distance to lots of fabulous restaurants and the Crown Casino. The buffet breakfast is fabulous anything you want including a chocolate fountain!
The rooms are also beautifully decorated with a nice feminine touch and a amazingly co fortable bed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yibbasmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I booked to stay at the Langham in Melbourne the day before we arrived. I'd managed to book a twin rather than a King room, but this was all sorted at the desk and we were given a City view room (had to pay for this, but view was worth it). The room was luxurious and well appointed, the bed the comfiest I've slept in in years! So much so that when we arrived home I contacted the Langham to enquire into where I could buy the bedding! (From them directly...)

We loved staying here, close to everything and great service. It's pricey, but then for a romatic quick getaway from Perth it was perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolac34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

3 of us decided to celebrate my birthday by staying in Melbourne at the Langham. What an experience. We could not have been more spolit and felt more decadent! The hotel is of the highest standard and nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were all friendly, polite and professional. We were greeted like old friends. The breakfast in the Melba restaurant was the best we have had in any hotel in Melbourne. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for 5 star accommodation and dining.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a corner room which was fantastic and a great size for 3 single beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suea-melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

My husband and I [sounds like HRH] decided to have 3 days/3 nights R&R in Melbourne.

We chose The Langham, Melbourne on the basis that it is a top-rated hotel, we have stayed there before and loved the experience, it is on the Southbank and walking distance to CBD and shops/cafes and main attractions and the SkyBus will drop you at front hotel door at no additional cost. In essence we could relax and enjoy the luxury that the hotel offers and just walk to whereever, whenever. Perfect and it was.

Bedroom good size and the beds were 'oh so comfortable' - hubby snored all night in delight.
Shower you can walk into and towels thick and fluffy and 4 per day. Quiet

Melba breakfasts were fantastic. Eggs cooked how you want - try the 'egg white omelete' - protein and very healthy. Fresh fruit and lovely Bircher Muesli. Dont forget to look for the big slab of pure honeycomb honey - you have to cut it out and then can take it away to spread on your muffin - wonderful!!

Each night we enjoyed drinks in Aria Bar - took away the soreness from the feet instantly. Had a Champagne Bellini one night and it was great.

Service from time you walk in door to exit is perfect and what you would expect from topclass hotel.

Dont forget to vist the spa and steam rooms on level 9 - great way to relax at end of day

"So was it worth the money - most definitely because we felt pampered, and enjoyed the food/wine and great sleeps". Once again, location perfect!

Well done Langham - we will be back for more R&R

TIP: Take the SkyBus from outside airport Terminal [follow the signs] - buy a return ticket. When you hop off at the SkyBus station go and ask for shuttle to take you to Langham [complimentary service free of charge]

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonseyNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Absolutely superb in every respect. Efficiency of check-in, reliable valet, quality of rooms, superb room service dining, staff are all very welcoming & keen to provide exemplary service, one of the best Hotels around. Location is just terrific. Flawless!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BA300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#2 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,609 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers
Crown Towers
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,627 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 2,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing