We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury at its Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Save Saved
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Club & Suite Discount
Ranked #1 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Luxury at its Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Myself and my daughter stayed here to celebrate her birthday and also Christmas shopping. The late 2pm checkout was wonderful. The Beds luxurious. The complimentary items were very generous. They even gave my daughter a beautiful slice of chocolate cake to celebrate her birthday. All staff were friendly and caring. The breakfast - delicious. Would recommend 100%. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: I would recommend the river view even though it costs more it was well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,903
    446
    150
    39
    31
See reviews for
394
1217
154
475
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (664)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011 via mobile

I took my mother for a 3 night linger longer package & booked a Grand River room. As an 1865 voyager member I hoped for an upgrade but was told that nothing was available. This is fine except the guest services person needed an etiquette makeover "It doesn't matter WHO you are, we're fully booked." I could have done without that. All would've been fine except we returned from a walk on day 2 to find water leaking from a light fitting over the minibar area which necessitated a room change. The duty manager and the love porter were great but our replacement room had a smashed bathroom mirror & cleat shouldn't have been marked available. Suffice it to say that we were then upgraded to a club room with all the extras and this was fantastic. Could be a bit of miscommunication or that it was the Langham staff Xmas party! Still we had aovt stay & appreciated the efforts of the staff to make our stay as comfortable as possible. I had considered the Westin as I am an SPG member & found it superb on my lady trip to Melbourne. Next trip? Undecided but the Langham is still delightful- thank u Langham Staff!!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

Great hotel stayed a few times and always good,the bar has the best daquiris and singapore slings ans im fussy.great steam room and spa overlooking the city.I did have one incident where i had charges made to my c/c after leaving but the managment sorted these out quickly with no stress.

Why would you go anywhere else for dinner the buffet is out of this world.

Room Tip: All good,heavy drapes
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011 via mobile

When first walking in all you see is the most magnificent fountain and wow was this place amazing, very pricey but very much worth it.
Stayed there for my anniversary and got a view from our massive window over the entire south bank.
staff were incredibly pleasant, room was gorgeous, but the only downfall was the cold breakfast, when paying $50pp for room service and a big breakfast you'd expect for it to be hot. Other then that this hotel is worth it's stars !!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

I have stayed at the Langham a couple of times now for work and it is a great hotel. The rooms are big, the service if great. The buffet breakfast is amazing there is so much choice. But be aware that if you stay at the weekend there can be a bit of a queue at peak times so try and go earlier or later. The rooms have all the modern features but have the old world feel which makes them very cosy.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

This is a really stunning hotel to experience - I have stayed twice now and have been delighted each time. I love the entrance water feature and the impressive (for Australia) lobby. The rooms are beautifully appointed. I would agree with other reviewers that bathroom toiletries should be of a higher standard - why not provide mini Aesop products or something similar? The products felt cheap. That is my one gripe. The gym and pool area is well maintained and looks impressive. The breakfast here is out of this world and totally indulgent. For example, there is a chocolate fountain, and icecream! I don't know why these items are provided as they are clearly not breakfast food. These things are great - the breakfast buffet is pretty special - but a few more interesting healthy options would not go astray. Overall I would certainly recommend this to anyone, particularly business travellers who like the finer things in life.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011 via mobile

The Langham Melbourne exudes quality and class, from your first interaction with the check in staff, right through to dining, concierege and bell man, you are made to feel like a king and queen. I travel a lot for business interstate and find the Langham clearly streets ahead. Thanks for a complete and very special stay!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.