We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior Stay close to Southbank” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Club & Suite Discount
Ranked #3 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superior Stay close to Southbank”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

The Langham Hotel would have to be the most satisfying hotels in Melbourne. You walk into such their gorgeous signiture ambience, greeted with such a warm and accomodating welcome from their highly professional staff. We were asked what was the occassion pointing out that it was just for our birthdays/anniversary, the kind lady handed me a pink rose. Once settled into our room the doorbell rang with a complimentry slice of birthday cake. We were very impressed. The Langham definitely exceeded our high expectations!

Room Tip: Our room was quite lovely and quiet. I'm assuming that all rooms at the Langham will make your s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,015
    466
    162
    40
    35
See reviews for
408
1,295
160
502
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (715)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont, Texas
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The Langham provides easy access to the Yarra River walk and to downtown sights. Close to public transportation hub for access to all parts of the city. Room was well appointed and had a nice river view. Service was friendly and efficient. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Old world charm with modern service. Great location. Great breakfast. Thoroughly recommend for anyone. I went with my mother for her 70 th birthday and it was really a very lovely weekend. I have no complaints about the Langham.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 days in September in a king river room. The staff were attentive and even surprised us with a birthday cake for my husband's birthday! The breakfasts were great although when the hotel is busy then the service in the restaurant gets a little bit slow. Otherwise its a lovely hotel in a great location with very good staff. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We like to get away for a weekend in Melbourne at least once or twice a year. We decided this time to try the Langham as we had heard lots of positive reviews and thought it might be nice to stay on the other side of the river.

The hotel is in a good location, however the Southbank area was under a lot of construction whilst we were there.

Upon arrival at the hotel we were very impressed by the foyer, it is quite lavish. Check in was excellent, the service could not be faulted.

We chose a king room with river view. The room itself was nice, but really nothing special. The view is lovely, especially at night. The furniture is a little dated, but I guess this is the look the hotel is going for. Decor wise an update is really in order, a new coat of paint would not go astray! The carpet also needs replacement, it is old and flat.

The bathroom had a separate shower, however it was very dark and the shower head was like something out of the 80's, it was terrible. The bathtub is small and they provide no bubble bath - if you want that you have to pay for it!!

Now to the bed. I have to admit, we have a lovely king size bed at home, so when it comes to hotels, I really expect quality. The bed was saggy and the mattress protector was lumpy. Really not nice at all, it is in need of an update!

We had planned on using the pool whilst we were at the hotel, but when we ventured down to check it out, we found the tempurature to be quite cool. There were people swimming, but for me, it was too cold. The spa bath was full, so we did not bother having a dip.

Overall I would say The Langham is average. It is nice, but for me, there is no wow factor. For the price you pay, a wow factor is expected. I really could not fault the staff as their service was excellent. But the hotel itself is dated, a renovation should be on the cards! There are better hotels in Melbourne - for me, next time I would go back to The Westin Or The Sofitel, for this price bracket they certainly have a bit of an edge over The Langham.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidLM_LanghamMelb, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Dear MerryMegs.
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you liked our hotel foyer, check-in and the room. Next time, please ask for a Grand Room, which are our redecorated rooms that continue our theme of "classical elegance" and also include our new "blissful beds".
David Landis-Morse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

The Langham Melbourne was elegant, gorgeous and so very lovely. Our room was fantastic, overlooking the Yarra and city skyline, I could have definitely taken the bed home it was so divine!

We enjoyed a lovely winter's swim, jacuzzi and took advantage of the lounges out on the deck in the Sunday morning sunshine - pure bliss. Next time am going to book into the Chuan Spa and treat ourselves just that bit more too!!

Have never had such wonderful service in a hotel, every staff member went above and beyond and made us feel like VIPs. So helpful, congenial and fun too. Being woken up from our lazy afternoon nap to a special birthday cake was really humbling, and so very delicious. The breakfast buffet was like a show - the atmosphere is so much fun - and the food is in abundance, so many choices I felt like a kid in a candy store.

We went out for dinner, and returned to our room having been "turned down" - it was such a pleasant surprise, one we've never experienced before - and I do think I have Concierge to thank as he knew we were on our way to an amazing dinner and can only imagine he had organised for us to relax our very full bellies as soon as we walked in our door! We almost had to 'jump' into the bed it looked so inviting.

Despite a weekend of food indulgence, we couldn't help ourselves and had to partake in High Tea whilst waiting for our lift back to the airport - what a way to end our delictable stay.

The Langham Melbourne is beyond doubt one of the most elegant and excellent hotels I have stayed in. We're already planning our return before the end of the year!

PS...we ordered a pair of The Langham's European pillows as soon as we got home!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 21st floor - it was fabulous - in a grand river room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kawerau
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Ive stayed at alot of the Langham hotels and this was rated really high and we were so excited to try The Langham Melbourne but we think it lacks the feel of other Langham hotels. Everything here is expensive but you don't usually mind paying when the food and service are of high quality. I think there are alot of other nice hotels that you could get better value for money and a enjoyable stay in this area!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidLM_LanghamMelb, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Dear Ntegra
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are pleased that you ranked our Sleep Quality and Cleanliness highly. Please contact our Reservations staff directly next time and they will gladly suggest packages that guarantee great value.
David Landis-Morse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.