We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and romantic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Elegant and romantic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We had a beautiful weekend with great service. The decor was elegant and romantic> The location was excellent as it is central on Southbank. I would say it is expensive for even a 5 star hotel. The Aria Bar was extremely busy both nights and afternoons on the weekend, so it you want to have a drink or high tea I suggest get there early.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,064
    478
    163
    42
    36
See reviews for
415
1,329
161
514
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (740)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Service was A1 with friendly & very helpful staff. Valet parking took care of the car. A pleasant walk to the city for shopping or shows. Didn't get the chance to try a meal there but the restaurant looked great & was full. Our spa suite was of the highest standard with views of the river and a bed to die for. We also loved the great coffee & chocolates.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

My husband & I had three nights for my Birthday at this beautiful Hotel. We had lovely views of the river and city. We loved you could walk to the Casino, Restaurants and shops. A great location. We found the staff to be very helpful from the moment we arrived to the day we departed. We will defiantly stay at The Langham next time we visit Melbourne.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights as a weekend getaway.Loved every minute, from the ready valet parking ,speedy check in, breathtaking entrance and amazing staircase and water features to great room and superb buffet in Melba restaurant. Also enjoyed pool and spa.Very warm feeling throughout.Husband commented that it was the best bed he has ever slept in,and we have travelled locally and overseas.Appreciated having slippers laid out and bed turned down. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tamborine, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

This is a lovely hotel, situated on Southbank - so it's close to restaurants and within walking distance of the CBD. I've stayed here many times before, and it still remains a favorite. The hotel fragrance is the first thing that you notice as you enter the beautiful marbled entrance, complete with fountains, chandeliers. I love the fragrance so much, I now use it in our home. They have been doing a refurbishment of rooms, and although I arrived very early, they made me warmly welcome and ensured that I had beautiful newly decked out room at 9.30am. The level of service at this hotel from the staff is extremely good - they are charming, friendly and efficient. I had checked the Wotif rate, but noticed that it was a 2 night minimum, so rang the hotel direct and managed to get the same rate for a single night. Always worth trying with any of the major chains. Will continue to stay here when down in Melbourne. Guess that says it all.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

We have stayed here on a few occasions and always find our stay most enjoyable. The staff are extremely helpful and the buffet breakfast to die for. Don't miss out on afternoon tea - and the bar at night has a great atmosphere. The rooms are first class and you can't beat the location. Will keep coming back!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for a bit of a getaway and to relax and go to a retaurant, have a few wines and not have to worry about driving home. In most respects the hotel lived up to its reputation. The decore is starting to look a little tired although still in good condition. The room was good and spacious although sometimes I wonder whether booking through Wotif or other discounted on line sites you are allocated the "b" rooms (room 1103). My personal opinion is that those who book first should get the best rooms and those who book late the lesser rooms. After all they are propably grateful to get a room at all. The breakfast buffet was excellent with a great selection of foods and prompt service. The only issue we had was when we got the bill we were charged for valet parking which was included in our package. When this was pointed out they siad that they had had an number of instances of that problem and it was a glitch in the system.
Overall not bad, but one would expect that when paying top dollar.

Room Tip: The higher rooms have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidLM_LanghamMelb, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Thankyou winelover for your review.
We’re pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and our breakfast buffet.
We allocate rooms not according to when they are booked but the room type booked. You booked a river facing room which was the one allocated. Our redecorated Grand River rooms are from the 17th floor and above. Langham offers a directly booked best online rate guarantee and rate parity with on line travel agencies. (In addition booking directly with us also gives you flexibility with room changes after you have booked.)
We do apologise that the valet parking was billed incorrectly, and we are pleased that it was rectified by our staff.
David Landis-Morse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.