We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Club & Suite Discount
Ranked #1 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Mackay, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

It dawned on my wife and I that Melbourne is the only Australian capital city where we stay in a hotel rather than an apartment. The reason for this is The Langham. It is everything a five star hotel should be: luxurious, stylish, well-appointed rooms and public areas; excellant, friendly, polite service; and with those extra touches such as turn down service, complimentary water and concierge service. For us there is only one place to stay in Melbourne when it is just the two of us. If there is a better hotel in Australia we'd like to know about it.

Room Tip: Worth paying for city and river views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,963
    453
    155
    40
    33
See reviews for
402
1,255
158
486
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (689)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

On arrival, we were met with a brilliant smile & warm welcome plus a room upgrade when we admitted the stay was to celebrate an anniversary. The room, as usual, was luxurious, all amenities provided and spotlessly clean. If there was a small cloud on the horizon, it was that we had to seek alternate dining, as the buffet at $79.95 each, was over our budget for the weekend. Breakfast was included in our package so that at least gave us a chance to enjoy the ambience of the restaurant. Even bought the Langham Room Spray so we could mentally extend our stay. Thank you Langham Team! You Rock!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Northern Territory
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

I have stayed at the Langham previous time over the past few years and have always rated it 5 star in every aspect. I stayed here again in April 2011 and am very impressed with the elegant, classy, practicle refurbishment of the rooms and rebranding (the pink and gold). Love the little gift shop - gorgeous gifts and presentation. Cleanliness, service and in room amenities are 5+ star and I definately will be staying here again next time im in Melbourne!

Room Tip: Check out the packages that Langham have on offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

We were very impressed with all aspects of our stay at the Langham Hotel in Melbourne. From the moment I dropped off the car to the finalising the payment, the service was excellent, The rooms were in immaculate condition and the view from the spa at night overlooking the city was spectacular. The restaurants provided excellent service and high quality food.

Room Tip: It may be worth paying extra for the river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

Always a lovely hotel...beautiful rooms, wonderful staff and fabulous food. I have previously stayed for leisure and have found the buffets woonderful and of a very high standard. The spa is wonderful as well.Thank you

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

Everything at the Langham, from the marble reception hall to the gold leaf lettering on their in-room stationary, is synonymous with old-world elegance and opulence. But as beautiful as this 5 star hotel is, the secret ingredient to the Langham's award-winning recipe is without a doubt the friendliness and unpretentious nature of the staff.
We arrived at the Langham a little early before our check in time, but it was no problem.
A friendly member of staff took us up to our room and showed us around, which was really lovely.
The rooms are so charming- with chandeliers in the marble bathrooms, elegant wooden furniture and beautiful art- it was simply gorgeous. We even had a view to the city and the Eureka tower!
I felt we received exceptional value for our money on our stay at the Langham.
It's all the little things that count: the Langham realises that and does them all so well.
The twice a day maid service is brilliant. You can go away shopping or sightseeing in the morning and come back around lunchtime to find the room clean and tidy. Head out to dinner that night and return to find tidiness restored and a little bottle of water and a glass next to your bed, just in case you need a drink throughout the night.
Make sure you spend a bit of time at the hotel itself; the Chuan Spa is an amazingly tranquil place and well worth a look, while the pool and big jacuzzi is nice too.
Usually, admitting I went to a buffet dinner would make me cringe- but the quality at the Langham's famous in-house restaurant, Melba, was outstanding. On offer at the buffet was delicacies like Moreton Bay Bugs, sashimi, indian food and a huge ensemble of desserts for you to choose from. The best part of the dinner was the turbo wok station where you can ask a chef to put together a personalised stirfry and they cook it right in front of you.
All in all, our experience at the Langham was amazing and I highly recommend staying there. We'll definitely be back.
Actually, I can't think of anything wrong with the place at all... apart from the fact that when you get home you'll miss it a lot. 10/10 from me.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

The Langham is an elegant, luxury hotel, with a great location on the Southbank, We stayed as a small group of friends for a long weekend of shopping, relaxing and enjoying the Melbourne nightlife.

This was our second stay in the Langham hotel. During out first stay we were disappointed with the service, but having managed to secure special rates, we decided to give this hotel another chance. Sadly, this time service was even more dissapointing. Room cleanliness was below what you would expect for a 5 star hotel. Dust was clearly visible in certain areas and the sheets also looked a little grubby.

Having booked to accomodate three people in a room, we arrived to find the room included only a double bed. We had to request a trundle bed be set up. This must have been inconvenient for the housekeeper though because on the following day, after the room had been serviced, the double bed had been made up but the trundle bed had not.

We again experienced poor service on departure of the hotel in which the hotel porters were reluctant to assist us with loading of our luggage onto the bus.(despite us being a group of girls). Actually, on arrival they had also left us without assistance, although at that time they were busy with a bus load of tourists.

One of the good things about this hotel is the use of the Spa amenities. This includes the swimming pool, steam room and sauna. There is also a nice deck for sunbaking near the pool which overlooks the Melbourne skyline.

However, I will not be staying here again. I expect service in a hotel of this class to be exeptional but actually I've had better experiences in a three star hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidLM_LanghamMelb, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this review, April 22, 2011
Dear CnS92
We do apologise that you found our service on this occasion not up to expectations and our usual high standards. We are reviewing our procedures to ensure all bookings are followed through as per the requirements. We are glad you enjoyed the usage of the Spa facilities and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
David Landis-Morse
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.