We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance Charm Romance!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Melbourne to your Saves list
The Langham, Melbourne
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Elegance Charm Romance!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

The elegance starts from the moment you enter the building. That gorgeous staircase. It has fascinated me every time we visit the Langham. Checkin was a breeze and not at all a bother in any way. Smiling faces greeting you and making small talk.

The room we had is what they refer to as Club Terrace. Just stunning. Everything was just so elegant and comfortable and inviting in everyway. It was on the 21st floor with a river view and a terrace with outdoor furniture (2 comfy deck chairs, a table and 2 chairs). The view became more and more romantic as the sun set and the buildings lit up. A glass of wine sitting out on the terrace with your favourite loved one and you don't need much more. But there is loads more. The bed, the pillows the doona, it's all so comfortable. There is a two seater couch, a desk, a comfy reading chair and a plasma television. The bathroom is stunning and very well equiped with anything you may require and also expect to find in an establishment such as the Langham (comb set, toothbrush & toothpaste, nail care kit etc). You could seriously spend the whole day/night in the room.

During the afternoon you are welcomed to visit the 24th floor and have afternoon tea in the Langham Club. The staff are so attentive it's just about too hard to describe in words. You just feel like you are the only one there. There is a section with table & chairs (to your left) and a snuggly quieter section with tub chairs, a television etc to your right. The tea and coffee is served to you by staff and it is help yourself sandwiches, pastries, scones and too many other items to mention. Then of course you can return to the Langham Club in the evening and have pre dinner drinks and nibbles. Try to keep track of what you're eating/drinking because over indulging happens quickly, and before you've even realised you have returned to the help yourself to nibbles (hot & cold) time & time again. All so delicious.

The locality of the hotel is probably another reason why we go back time and time again. The walks along the river right up to the other end where the casino precinct is. The closeness of all the wonderful stores in Melbourne. 5 minutes walk to the gardens. 2 minutes to Hamer Hall. 2 minutes to tram or train.

I have nothing negative to say. The perfect weekend in a perfect, elegant, romantic spot.

Room Tip: River view is best rooms to ask for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,273
    539
    177
    48
    38
See reviews for
463
1,494
169
541
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (850)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

My wife and I spent three wonderful nights at the Langham, and whilst it was not cheap the stay was very enjoyable. This was our first experience at a Langham hotel. I must particularly compliment all the staff on their attentiveness and their warm and friendly demeanour show towards to my wife and myself. They constantly gave you the impression that nothing was ever too much effort. Our dining night at the Melba was truly memorable and quite an experience - enjoyable that is! Whilst the room was small it was very clean and nothing was left to chance. Well done, Langham - keep up the effort. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

We came to celebrate our 25th Anniversary. And we were treated like royalty!
A "Congratulations" cake delivered to our room set the tone for the weekend.
You must take the Club package. Breakfast, afternoon tea and pre-dinner drinks (& canapes) on the 24th floor, overlooking the Yarra & the city, was just perfect.
You have, not waiters, but personal attendees to your table, who got to know you over the weekend, and made you feel very special.
The King size bed was to die for (and it is on sale too).
Loved the spa and outdoor lounge area.
And we were so close to Arts Centre, Southgate & the city.
A definite must-do experience for all Melbournians, as well as visitors.
(Do I have to wait another 25 years?)

Room Tip: Definitely take a Club package.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

we stayed at the langham in february during the food and wine festival. what a beautiful hotel! After arriving on an early flight, we had to wait till 3pm for our room which was a bit of a hassle but they were very busy with the festival on. It was worth the wait as the room was lovely. very well stocked with every thing you would need. We had a nice view over the river. The location was great. We didnt know melbourne but found southbank to be great. We had quite a bit of travelling to do and found being close to flinders street station a real advantage. we purchased a $10 all day ticket which let us on any bus, train or tram for 24 hours. We thought this was excellant value and made good use of it.
We decided to try the buffet breakfast on our last day and it was very nice but just like all the other buffet breakfasts really and at the price, we wouldnt go back. Just around the corner in southbank are loads of very nice cafes that do great breakfast for less that $15. We also went there for a couple of nice dinners. I would also recommend during the summer months, to go out to phillip island to see the penguins coming onto the beaches at night. We took a trip with AAT kings and for around $100 we had agreat afternoon/evening out. The bus trip was interesting and the penguins and other wildlife were amazing. It also included fish and chips.
A good way to get to the langham from the airport is on the sky bus which leaves regularly and takes you to spencer street station and from there they give you a free ride to any hotel. It was also the cheapest way by far about $20 when a taxi was about $70. we also used this on the way back.
I would also recommend the afternoon tea at the hotel. It was amazing. far too much food, so go with an empty stomach.
We also used the gym and found it to be the best ive seen in a hotel. The one negative for us was that you did not have free internet in the room. For the room rate, I think it should be free. They do offer 15mins free a day in the business center but that was a hassle.
We hope to return to the langham again

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

This was such a beautiful hotel! The location was perfect as it was just across the river from downtown Melbourne. We walked wherever we needed to go, and it wasn't far. The weather there was cool - not warm, but not too cold. The staff was wonderful with taking care of any of our needs. The service for our room was excellent. Every night, someone delivered bottles of water to our room, and every morning, a paper was left at our door. Oh, and the BED........it was HEAVENLY! Although they do sell beds in their hotel boutique, I opted to just buy the pillows like the ones on the bed in our room.

I think that the only thing that I didn't like was that because it was such a ritzy hotel, people there looked DOWN on us because we are white-skinned, and we are not the rich type. I'm not talking about the hotel staff, but about the people that stayed there.

Would I stay there again? Well, if someone else paid for it, then DEFINITELY!.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fukuoka, Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

Really enjoyed my stay at the Langham. Great rooms and good location justifies the price being on the higher side.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

We stayed in a Club Spa Suite at the Langham Hotel Melbourne for our wedding night in January 2011. As we only stayed for one night, we can’t say too much about the hotel, but here is what we did experience:
• The check-in staff were friendly and efficient
• The décor of the hotel in the lobby and public areas was elegant
• We stayed in a suite on a Club level. The room was very nice with a separate lounge room, powder room, bedroom, dressing room and bathroom. The bathroom had a spa bath in it. It was luxurious and had all the amenities you could need. It seemed very big for just the two of us though!
• Despite the overall size, the layout of the room was a bit strange. You felt a bit like you were walking through a maze to get from one end of the room to the other (it was not a big square room, it was more like a winding pathway which was a bit weird; probably not a good thing if you sleepwalk!)
• There was a plate of complimentary mini-desserts in the room for us on arrival
• Complimentary breakfast is available in the Club Lounge if you are staying on a Club level. It is not a huge selection of food, but was quite nice regardless (and a full breakfast, not just continental like a lot of Club lounges at other hotels we’ve stayed at before)

If we had stayed more than one night, we probably could have given a more comprehensive review. All in all, however, it was very nice for what it was. The only disappointment was that you actually have to pay an extra $145 (plus a $5 delivery fee!) for a bottle of French champagne on your wedding night (!!!) whereas every other hotel we stayed at during our honeymoon offered us a complimentary bottle of French champagne. Considering the cost of the room (almost $700/night!) that was a bit disappointing coming from a 5 star hotel, though perhaps that is the difference in tourism service between our own country and elsewhere in the world.

All up it was a nice place to stay in a good location on the Yarra River, albeit a bit expensive.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Melbourne

Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Langham, Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.