We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melbourne Cup 09” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flinders Landing Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Flinders Landing Apartments to your Saves list
Flinders Landing Apartments
161 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Melbourne Cup 09”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

Good accommodation, clean, tidy safe.
the furnishings were new moden and suitable, large kitchen with some stock.

the best part about this appartment is deffinatly location. after a hard slog at restaurants and bars --- and shopping its easy to return to the appartment and kick the boots and have nap before doing all again in the afternoon.

very nice place and a good location.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    43
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
31
8
1
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

We initially chose Quest on Flinders Lane for the excellent location - close to bars and the nightlife while still being in a safe area. However, the service was a complete letdown and almost ruined our holiday weekend. As beautiful as the hotel rooms were, the rude service staff and the lack of concern they showed for the disruptions we experienced due to other guests and residents at Cavendish House were appalling at best. When voicing our disappointments with staff about drunk and lewd behaviour from other guests as well as loud music and screaming babies floating through paper thin walls, we were met with cold and overly defensive responses basically telling us to deal. Not only this, but any attempt that we made to ask for suggestions from service staff was met with impatience or passive aggressiveness - not professional at all and horrifyingly childish. On top of that, the rooms were not properly cleaned and while the hotel rooms themselves were built and designed to impress, the quality of the cleaning staff could definitely be improved as the couches were stained and the bathroom and kitchen were covered in gunk. If we could do our weekend over, we definitely would NOT have chosen Quest.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

We opted to stay in Cavendish House and as nice as the apartment was, the service was terrible. The first day my camera was stolen from my luggage case but Quest staff insisted they had nothing to do with it. On top of that other Quest guests were being very rowdy. Would NEVER stay here again. Too expensive as well.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Beach, Tasmania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

We stayed here for our annual girls weekend at the end of June and will definitely be back! We stayed in an executive 2 bedroom 2 1/2 bathroom apartment in the Cavendish House part of the hotel. Room was lovely with high ceilings, massive kitchen, nice bathrooms - nothing to fault. Staff were really helpful and friendly. Had lovely meal from nearby restaurant (Terra Rossa) that was delivered to the hotel - tiramisu to die for!! Very competitive rate for this hotel considering the location and the extra bathrooms.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

For months I couldn't figure out where to stay in Melbourne for Easter weekend with my husband and two adult children. Because we would need two hotel rooms for four of us, I decided an apartment hotel would be better and since they're popular in Australia I started looking at the Punt Hills, Quests, Oaks, etc. in Melbourne--very confusing for someone not familiar with the city.
In any event, I was apprehensive about booking Quest on Flinders because there were no reviews to be found on Trip Advisor. When we arrived on Good Friday (which, by the way, if you're from the States you'll be surprised that everything's closed on Good Friday) Flinders Lane and most of the CBD was pretty quiet. I had booked a two bedroom deluxe and after cramming our suitcases into a small elevator, we had to then lug our bags up a full flight of stairs. Not a good start. The apartment was alright in terms of space but the furnishings seemed tired, the rooms dark and the windows dirty. When we went downstairs I voiced my disappointment to Olivia at the front desk and we went out for a walk. When we returned a few hours later, we were informed we could upgrade into the building next door.
What a difference! The building is old but elegant, had two elevators and the two bedroom executive was qualitatively superior. There was no comparison. The kitchen was newly furnished with modern appliances and granite counters. The bathrooms were beautifully fitted and the washer and dryer was a relief for long distance travelers such as ourselves. There are several bars on Hosier Lane nearby that could be noisy on weekends but given it was Good Friday and Easter, everything was quiet. The location was perfect: a few steps from Federation Square, near trams and buses, walking distance to the MCG, stores and restaurants, but somehow quiet and removed. And, while Quest is not a hotel with an actual concierge, I can't say enough about how friendly, accomodating and helpful Olivia was. She went out of her way to help us with restaurant recommendations and was exceptionally gracious at all times. And before we arrived, I had very friendly back and forth emails with Hannah. Whoever owns this Quest hires terrific staff.
Melbourne is a delightful city, and if you're a more independent traveler looking for an alternative to one or two hotel rooms, you can't go wrong with Quest on Flinders.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flinders Landing Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flinders Landing Apartments

Address: 161 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#63 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flinders Lane is one of the CBD's most sought after residential areas, destined to become your first choice in Melbourne accommodation. All the excitement of Federation Square, Theatres, the Art Centre, Southgate and Crown Entertainment Complex surrounds you, while dozens of tiny bars, restaurants and cafes are at your doorstep. Historic Flinders Street Station and the MCG are just a short stroll away. If you're in Melbourne for business or leisure, the boutique one, two and three bedroom apartments are all complete with unique spacious interior and wireless internet. Executive and Deluxe apartments have two bathrooms and a combination of four single or king bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Flinders Landing Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Flinders Lane Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flinders Landing Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.