We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge 2 bedroom apartment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flinders Landing Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Flinders Landing Apartments to your Saves list
Flinders Landing Apartments
161 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Bendigo, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Huge 2 bedroom apartment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed here on Sunday night in a two bedroom apartment and was surprised at how big it was. Parking opposite was convenient but expensive ($35 overnight). As strange as it sounds, the taps in the bathrooms were very difficult to turn on and I had to use a towel for grip as they are smooth and round.
The location was fantastic & only about 100m from the Forum, and we walked to Chinatown for dinner.
Won't hesitate to stay here again and next time will bring the family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestFlindersLane, Front Office Manager at Flinders Landing Apartments, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. Our 2 bedroom executive apartments are the larger of our apartments and are our pride and joy. These New York Style apartments spacious and very centrally located. Unfortunately car parking in the city center can be expensive as we do not have car parking of our own. We have an arrangement with Flinders Gate Secure Park which is a couple of doors down from the property on the same side. Our guests can get a bit of a discount and only pay $25 per day or per exit if they choose to use this venue.

We are happy you had a great experience and would lovely to have you stay with us again.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Quest on Flinders Lane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    43
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
31
8
1
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My employer booked me for 6 nights. There's no ramp entry and the door opens outwards so very tricky to get your heavy bags inside - the receptionist did offer to help after watching me almost fall down the stairs and back onto the laneway. This is an old building and my apartment had absolutely no sound insulation. All the noises of Melbourne flooded through the old windows and I swear the people above jumped rather than walked around their apartment each night. My apartment was not serviced daily (only one public holiday during my stay), the "services directory" was jumbled and incomplete, things were falling off the walls and the bed was a sagging, old hammock.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night 10 th floor great views big apartment helpful a/ hours service
would stay again probably book this time got lucky that unit was available
Right near everything in city close to my favorite pub young & jackson

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Have just got back from spending 4 nights in one of the 3 penthouses Quest own on Flinder's Lane. Ours was a two bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment on the 9th floor over looking Fed Square and with fantastic views directly up the Yarra.
On arrival our check-in was friendly and trouble free. We where directed to our apartment which was located in a delightful Art Deco building next to the reception area. The apartment was clean, extremely spacious, incredibly light and had a small but very usable wrap around balcony. As we were positioned right on Flinder's Lane we had little use for the kitchen but it appeared to be adequately stocked.
I agree with other reviews that the furnishings are a little tired but over all the space and view from the apartment made up for the lack of luxury. Anyway we weren't paying luxury prices.
Would definitely stay here again - the view and the location could hardly be better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights with my family. A fantastic location, walking distance to everything we needed. Easy enough to park and unload our luggage before taking the car to the offsite parking. We were upgraded to a beautiful executive apartment on arrival which was lovely & clean. Fantastic value for money also. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed in the two bedroom apartment with our 2 kids (baby and 10 year old) and were very happy with the space (huge!), the location (close to everything in the CBD) and the price. The only downside was a slow lift (old building), and it did get very hot in the apartment if we had been out all day and the aircon was turned off and it took a long time to cool the apartment down, although it was a 40 degree day! The apartment could do with an update, but overall it was perfect for our needs and great to have all that space for the kids to move around, and a huge kitchen with dishwasher as required.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We had booked a 2 bedroom standard apartment at this property as we were visiting Melbourne with a single friend. The three of us were warmly greeted by the receptionist who could not be more helpful. check in was smooth and efficient and we were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a superior 2 bedroom apartment which turned out to be the 10th floor 'penthouse'.

The only draw back with this is two short flights of stairs as the elevator in this heritage property only goes to the 9th floor but this was not a major problem. the apartment turned out to be enormous and very well appointed with views to Docklands, the MCG and the Yarra river. The purpose of our stay was to see a theatre production at the Arts centre which is a short walk as are Flinders St Station and the main shopping precincts around Collins St and Bourke St.

Everything necessary for a short stay (or longer) is provided in this apartment although I would comment that some of the furnishings and fittings are on the 'tired' side. on the whole however I would have no reservations about staying at this property again. My only (semi) major gripe would be that as we were sharing with a third party the lack of privacy latches on the doors of the two way bathroom was a little surprising. This is an inexpensive thing to rectify and I would urge management to attend to it.

overall an excellent stay in a great location with the unexpected upgrade a very pleasant bonus.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flinders Landing Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flinders Landing Apartments

Address: 161 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#63 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flinders Lane is one of the CBD's most sought after residential areas, destined to become your first choice in Melbourne accommodation. All the excitement of Federation Square, Theatres, the Art Centre, Southgate and Crown Entertainment Complex surrounds you, while dozens of tiny bars, restaurants and cafes are at your doorstep. Historic Flinders Street Station and the MCG are just a short stroll away. If you're in Melbourne for business or leisure, the boutique one, two and three bedroom apartments are all complete with unique spacious interior and wireless internet. Executive and Deluxe apartments have two bathrooms and a combination of four single or king bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Flinders Landing Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Flinders Lane Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flinders Landing Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.