We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flinders Landing Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Flinders Landing Apartments to your Saves list
Flinders Landing Apartments
161 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“What a great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Have just got back from spending 4 nights in one of the 3 penthouses Quest own on Flinder's Lane. Ours was a two bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment on the 9th floor over looking Fed Square and with fantastic views directly up the Yarra.
On arrival our check-in was friendly and trouble free. We where directed to our apartment which was located in a delightful Art Deco building next to the reception area. The apartment was clean, extremely spacious, incredibly light and had a small but very usable wrap around balcony. As we were positioned right on Flinder's Lane we had little use for the kitchen but it appeared to be adequately stocked.
I agree with other reviews that the furnishings are a little tired but over all the space and view from the apartment made up for the lack of luxury. Anyway we weren't paying luxury prices.
Would definitely stay here again - the view and the location could hardly be better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    39
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
29
6
1
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights with my family. A fantastic location, walking distance to everything we needed. Easy enough to park and unload our luggage before taking the car to the offsite parking. We were upgraded to a beautiful executive apartment on arrival which was lovely & clean. Fantastic value for money also. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed in the two bedroom apartment with our 2 kids (baby and 10 year old) and were very happy with the space (huge!), the location (close to everything in the CBD) and the price. The only downside was a slow lift (old building), and it did get very hot in the apartment if we had been out all day and the aircon was turned off and it took a long time to cool the apartment down, although it was a 40 degree day! The apartment could do with an update, but overall it was perfect for our needs and great to have all that space for the kids to move around, and a huge kitchen with dishwasher as required.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We had booked a 2 bedroom standard apartment at this property as we were visiting Melbourne with a single friend. The three of us were warmly greeted by the receptionist who could not be more helpful. check in was smooth and efficient and we were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a superior 2 bedroom apartment which turned out to be the 10th floor 'penthouse'.

The only draw back with this is two short flights of stairs as the elevator in this heritage property only goes to the 9th floor but this was not a major problem. the apartment turned out to be enormous and very well appointed with views to Docklands, the MCG and the Yarra river. The purpose of our stay was to see a theatre production at the Arts centre which is a short walk as are Flinders St Station and the main shopping precincts around Collins St and Bourke St.

Everything necessary for a short stay (or longer) is provided in this apartment although I would comment that some of the furnishings and fittings are on the 'tired' side. on the whole however I would have no reservations about staying at this property again. My only (semi) major gripe would be that as we were sharing with a third party the lack of privacy latches on the doors of the two way bathroom was a little surprising. This is an inexpensive thing to rectify and I would urge management to attend to it.

overall an excellent stay in a great location with the unexpected upgrade a very pleasant bonus.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wollongong
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment for the Melbourne Cup. We were attracted to the view from the apartment and the pictures of floor boards. The location is good and the checkin was easy. The view was fantastic as promised. The two bedroom penthouse is in the building next door to the Quest apartments and was a bit old fashioned. The lift was very slow and a normal house key was needed to get into the apartment. It is a residential apartment block with people residing there so there were some smells of cooking in the apartment. We really missed not having a safe in the apartment - normally this is standard in Melbourne hotels so we didn't check.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestStKildaRoad, Manager at Flinders Landing Apartments, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thankyou for your review or our property. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our penthouse apartment and the great views it has to offer. We do have two buildings at our property and one is a beautiful heritage building that while the lift may be a little slower the high ceilings and modern furnishings and great views make it a great place to stay. The building does also have residents that live there so it is quiet and has a homely feel. Our apartments do not have safes in the rooms but the building is quite secure and we can store valuables for our guests if required. We try to be a home away from home with all the facilities such as a kitchen and laundry that is ideal for any length of stay from 1 night to 1 month or more.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Quest on Flinders Lane in the near future.
Kind Regards
Jessica Mullen
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Hi there,
just want to share few things. Quest on Flinders lane is a very nice property. very spaciOus apartment, great location, fabulous service the only bad thing we have noticed is reception closes at 8pm which is too bad for the business.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestStKildaRoad, Manager at Flinders Landing Apartments, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thankyou for your review of our property. I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and found the apartments spacious and well equipped and experienced the excellent service from our staff.
Our reception does close at 8pm which we find is suitable for most of our guests. We do have our night manager onsite who is there to assist in any way and meet our after hours arrivals.
We do hope to welcome you back to Quest on Flinders Lane in the near future.
Thanks again for your review.
Kind Regards
Jessica Mullen
Property Manager
Quest on Flinders Lane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

We had a two bed penthouse apartment. The apartment was fully equipped, a good size and really clean and fresh. It had a great sized kitchen, living and dining room along with great sized bedrooms and bathrooms. The large floor to ceiling windows along with the large veranda provided great views over Melbourne-especially at night! The location is perfect-just a short walk to some really great restaurants and shopping.

Only thing to consider, the apartment was kind of split level-just a step or two but maybe an consideration for some. Also there is a step up to get out onto the veranda, again, not huge but maybe an consideration for some.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestStKildaRoad, Manager at Flinders Landing Apartments, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you very much for your review of our property and in particular our penthouse apartment. I love this apartment, with its fantastic views of the city, spacious interior and all the facilities to ensure a comfortable stay.
There are a few steps in this apartment and some of our other rooms as well due to the age of the building and the original style it was built in. If this is an issue for some please check at the time of booking to ensure the apartment meets all your requirements.
I am glad you got to experience the luxury of our penthouse apartment, we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Jessica Mullen
Property Manager
Quest on Flinders Lane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flinders Landing Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flinders Landing Apartments

Address: 161 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flinders Lane is one of the CBD's most sought after residential areas, destined to become your first choice in Melbourne accommodation. All the excitement of Federation Square, Theatres, the Art Centre, Southgate and Crown Entertainment Complex surrounds you, while dozens of tiny bars, restaurants and cafes are at your doorstep. Historic Flinders Street Station and the MCG are just a short stroll away. If you're in Melbourne for business or leisure, the boutique one, two and three bedroom apartments are all complete with unique spacious interior and wireless internet. Executive and Deluxe apartments have two bathrooms and a combination of four single or king bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Flinders Landing Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Flinders Lane Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flinders Landing Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.