We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with a great view.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flinders Landing Apartments

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Agoda.com
and 4 more sites!
Flinders Landing Apartments
161 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Quest on Flinders Lane)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great location with a great view.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

We had a two bed penthouse apartment. The apartment was fully equipped, a good size and really clean and fresh. It had a great sized kitchen, living and dining room along with great sized bedrooms and bathrooms. The large floor to ceiling windows along with the large veranda provided great views over Melbourne-especially at night! The location is perfect-just a short walk to some really great restaurants and shopping.

Only thing to consider, the apartment was kind of split level-just a step or two but maybe an consideration for some. Also there is a step up to get out onto the veranda, again, not huge but maybe an consideration for some.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestStKildaRoad, Manager at Flinders Landing Apartments, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you very much for your review of our property and in particular our penthouse apartment. I love this apartment, with its fantastic views of the city, spacious interior and all the facilities to ensure a comfortable stay.
There are a few steps in this apartment and some of our other rooms as well due to the age of the building and the original style it was built in. If this is an issue for some please check at the time of booking to ensure the apartment meets all your requirements.
I am glad you got to experience the luxury of our penthouse apartment, we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Jessica Mullen
Property Manager
Quest on Flinders Lane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    26
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
20
4
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Good size apartment, we stayed in the two bedroom, that both had king size beds. onsuite had a bath tub. Huge living space and big kitchen. Facilities were very good. Location was great, close to all shops, good eating as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestStKildaRoad, Manager at Flinders Landing Apartments, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you very much for your review of our property. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found our services and facilities to your liking.

Our spacious apartments and great central location make us ideal for any kind of traveler.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Quest on Flinders Lane in the near future.

Thank you again for your excellent review.

Kind Regards
Jessica Mullen
Property Manager
Quest on Flinders Lane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

2 bedroom apt. Only 2 keys offered for 3 adults. Had to struugle for the 3rd.
Not a genuine king bed in main bedroom but 2 singles put together so there is a crack in the middle.
Only 1 bedside light for each bed.
No bath and showers are cramped.
Towels average.
Drier is in lounge room and is unducted nor a condenser drier. May be illegal.
Very small flat screen TV.
Unable to readily access the wireless internet. No one to help after hours and the internet provider not helpful - for a 1 year old Apple laptop. A work in progress.
Pedal bin broken.
Cheap interior furnishings except for the drapes.
Unsure about the heating and cooling.
Good space, high ceilings, nice building and very central location. Large kitchen.
The rack rate (which we didn't pay) is far in excess of what it is worth. The staff are friendly but there are significant structural limitations that users need to be aware of.
This is not really suitable as a business hotel in my view.
To ask for help after hours from management costs $50.00.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestStKildaRoad, Manager at Flinders Landing Apartments, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you fort your comprehensive review of our property. I would like to address some of the points you mentioned.
We do have 2 keys per apartment and have some spares in case others are lost or for larger groups which we can give out if necessary. They are quite expensive to replace so we prefer to keep to 2 keys issued per apartment.
We do have apartments that have baths if our guests require they may request a deluxe or executive apartment which have 2 bathrooms, one of which has a bath.
The dryer is common to be where it is in this style of apartment and I can assure you we met all safety regulations and are subject to regular safety checks as any hotel would be to ensure Australian standards are met and maintained.
Our night manager is always available for after hours emergencies and questions. The call out fee only applies in situations where the guest is being a disturbance to others and the manager needs to be called out to deal with this type of situation.
As with any technology there are sometimes glitches but our wireless internet is available on nearly all devices.
All our apartments have heating and cooling of some kind either ducted, split system air conditioner or other. We would be happy to show our guests how to operate the system in the apartment and the compendium also contains instructions for each type of system.
Our great central location and many services and facilities we have to offer make us ideal for a business traveler working in the CBD or family or friends in town for a holiday or special event.
We do have 2 buildings one of which, Cavendish House, is a beautifully restored building with modern furnishings and spacious living areas, some with views of the Yarra River and MCG. Our standard apartments are in our main building and are still quite spacious and have all the facilities to provide a comfortable stay in beautiful Melbourne.
Thank you once again for your review. We do hope to welcome you back to Quest on Flinders Lane in the near future.
Kind Regards
Jessica Mullen
Property Manager
Quest on Flinders Lane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed here with a number of different members of our family. The place was in a fantastic location and very clean. The facilities were brilliant. The only issue was not having enough keys for everyone, but it just meant we became better organised. We had a baby with us and a cot was set up when we got there. The beds were very comfortable and the place was warm. It was a quiet place to stay even though it was right in thee city. Recommend this place

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestStKildaRoad, Manager at Flinders Landing Apartments, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Liv
Thankyou very much for your review of our property. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the apartments clean and with all the facilities you required.
Our flexible bedding and the large size of the apartments make our property ideal for groups and families.
We look forward to having you and your family stay with us again.
Kind Regards
Jessica Mullen
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

I stayed in a Quest apartment on Flinder's Lane for just one night on business. I was pleasantly surprised. The apartment was huge - you could happily live there. And you'd easily live there, or stay there for long periods of time because the place is fully equipped with washer, dryer, oven, stove, tv, ensuite, lounge, dining table, kitchen equipment and modern throughout. Very clean, very tidy. Even had a little balcony, albeit without much to look at (you're in the back streets of Melbourne after all. Also the location was excellent - really handy and lots of the laneways all around for great places to eat, drink and shop. The reason I did not rate this 5 stars is because it's not luxurious - you definitely get a lot of bang for your buck and everything you need but if you're looking for luxury - spa baths and so on then this isn't quite it. And I wasn't so this suited the trip perfectly. Only addition I'd like to see is free wifi. Wifi connection was available but it was at a cost.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestStKildaRoad, Manager at Flinders Landing Apartments, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Polly
Thankyou very much for your review of our property. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and found the amenities met your needs. We are in a great central location with lots to see, do and eat in the heart of the city.
We do have some apartments that overlook the city towards the Yarra River, Olympic Park and MCG. If you choose to stay with us again feel free to ask for an apartment with a view and we will be happy to accommodate this request if available,
We do specialize in long term accommodation. With the size and facilities we offer we can provide a great place to stay for a night through to a year and can offer some fantastic long term and corporate rates as well.
If you are after a touch of luxury request an apartment in the Cavendish House building for an apartment with wow factor. The marble bathrooms, hard wood floors and sweeping views will be sure to rate 5/5 in every category.
Thank you once again for staying with us and reviewing our property. We look forward to welcoming you back to Quest on Flinders Lane in the future.
Kind Regards
Jessica Mullen
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

My husband, a friend of ours and I stayed at the Penthouse here and were very happy with the room. The room is well laid out, has plenty of space, lovely bathrooms (2 plus powder room), well set up kitchen and very comfy beds. I would definately like to stay here again. The only things I might make mention of that could be improved would be to have darker blinds as the rooms lit up too early and woke us up, and better instructions about how to use the heater as we struggled with it initially. I would recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestStKildaRoad, Manager at Flinders Landing Apartments, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you for your review of our property. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay in our fantastic penthouse apartment. The apartment is very spacious and fully equipped with kitchen, laundry, living and dining areas, large bathrooms and amazing views to the Yarra River and Olympic Park.
The heating system can be a little tricky if your not familiar with the system but our team can always help setting the temperature to your liking. Thank you for your feedback regarding the blinds and the light coming in. With the floor to ceiling windows it can be difficult to block out the light completely.
Thank you again for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Quest on Flinders lane in the near future.
Kind Regards
Jessica
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

The aprt are ok but the room services is not daily.. You have trash in kichen and it smells as cleaning does not happen daily The room cleaning shoudl be daily. The location is fine. Room size good but the cleaning part spoils it all

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestStKildaRoad, Manager at Flinders Landing Apartments, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Good Afternoon
Our apartments are serviced daily except for Sundays and public holidays or if you are a long stay guest we have specific housekeeping schedules to keep the apartment well maintained and be able to offer a great rate over the stay.
If our guests do ever need any additional amenities or service we are happy to arrange this.
We are in a fantastic location and have very spacious apartments in the heart of the Melbourne CBD. We have an excellent housekeeping team that keep the apartments clean and fresh and our team will always ensure you enjoy your stay! We welcome questions and comments to continually improve our service and apartments so I thank you for taking the time to review our property and for your valuable feedback.
King Regards
Jessica
Property Manager
Quest on Flinders Lane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Flinders Landing Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flinders Landing Apartments

Also Known As:
Quest On Flinders Lane Hotel
Quest On Flinders Lane Hotel Melbourne
Address: 161 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Quest on Flinders Lane)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
#64 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flinders Lane is one of the CBD's most sought after residential areas, destined to become your first choice in Melbourne accommodation. All the excitement of Federation Square, Theatres, the Art Centre, Southgate and Crown Entertainment Complex surrounds you, while dozens of tiny bars, restaurants and cafes are at your doorstep. Historic Flinders Street Station and the MCG are just a short stroll away. If you're in Melbourne for business or leisure, the boutique one, two and three bedroom apartments are all complete with unique spacious interior and wireless internet. Executive and Deluxe apartments have two bathrooms and a combination of four single or king bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Flinders Landing Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flinders Landing Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Flinders Landing Apartments to your Saves list