We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely spacious, and all amenities you could need!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flinders Landing Apartments

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Agoda.com
and 4 more sites!
Flinders Landing Apartments
161 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Quest on Flinders Lane)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Extremely spacious, and all amenities you could need!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

I stayed in a Quest apartment on Flinder's Lane for just one night on business. I was pleasantly surprised. The apartment was huge - you could happily live there. And you'd easily live there, or stay there for long periods of time because the place is fully equipped with washer, dryer, oven, stove, tv, ensuite, lounge, dining table, kitchen equipment and modern throughout. Very clean, very tidy. Even had a little balcony, albeit without much to look at (you're in the back streets of Melbourne after all. Also the location was excellent - really handy and lots of the laneways all around for great places to eat, drink and shop. The reason I did not rate this 5 stars is because it's not luxurious - you definitely get a lot of bang for your buck and everything you need but if you're looking for luxury - spa baths and so on then this isn't quite it. And I wasn't so this suited the trip perfectly. Only addition I'd like to see is free wifi. Wifi connection was available but it was at a cost.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestStKildaRoad, Manager at Flinders Landing Apartments, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Polly
Thankyou very much for your review of our property. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and found the amenities met your needs. We are in a great central location with lots to see, do and eat in the heart of the city.
We do have some apartments that overlook the city towards the Yarra River, Olympic Park and MCG. If you choose to stay with us again feel free to ask for an apartment with a view and we will be happy to accommodate this request if available,
We do specialize in long term accommodation. With the size and facilities we offer we can provide a great place to stay for a night through to a year and can offer some fantastic long term and corporate rates as well.
If you are after a touch of luxury request an apartment in the Cavendish House building for an apartment with wow factor. The marble bathrooms, hard wood floors and sweeping views will be sure to rate 5/5 in every category.
Thank you once again for staying with us and reviewing our property. We look forward to welcoming you back to Quest on Flinders Lane in the future.
Kind Regards
Jessica Mullen
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    26
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
20
4
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

My husband, a friend of ours and I stayed at the Penthouse here and were very happy with the room. The room is well laid out, has plenty of space, lovely bathrooms (2 plus powder room), well set up kitchen and very comfy beds. I would definately like to stay here again. The only things I might make mention of that could be improved would be to have darker blinds as the rooms lit up too early and woke us up, and better instructions about how to use the heater as we struggled with it initially. I would recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestStKildaRoad, Manager at Flinders Landing Apartments, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you for your review of our property. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay in our fantastic penthouse apartment. The apartment is very spacious and fully equipped with kitchen, laundry, living and dining areas, large bathrooms and amazing views to the Yarra River and Olympic Park.
The heating system can be a little tricky if your not familiar with the system but our team can always help setting the temperature to your liking. Thank you for your feedback regarding the blinds and the light coming in. With the floor to ceiling windows it can be difficult to block out the light completely.
Thank you again for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Quest on Flinders lane in the near future.
Kind Regards
Jessica
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

The aprt are ok but the room services is not daily.. You have trash in kichen and it smells as cleaning does not happen daily The room cleaning shoudl be daily. The location is fine. Room size good but the cleaning part spoils it all

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestStKildaRoad, Manager at Flinders Landing Apartments, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Good Afternoon
Our apartments are serviced daily except for Sundays and public holidays or if you are a long stay guest we have specific housekeeping schedules to keep the apartment well maintained and be able to offer a great rate over the stay.
If our guests do ever need any additional amenities or service we are happy to arrange this.
We are in a fantastic location and have very spacious apartments in the heart of the Melbourne CBD. We have an excellent housekeeping team that keep the apartments clean and fresh and our team will always ensure you enjoy your stay! We welcome questions and comments to continually improve our service and apartments so I thank you for taking the time to review our property and for your valuable feedback.
King Regards
Jessica
Property Manager
Quest on Flinders Lane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We had a 4 night stay in a 2 bedroomed penthouse apartment on the 8th floor, in Cavendish House. It had great views towards the Yarra river and the South Bank buildings. Appartment was great, spacious, well appointed and bright. As with most Australian buildings, there is no double glazing, so quite a lot of city street noise, but not after midnight.
It was in a great location for everything, shops, restaurants, bars, free tram etc. And Melbourne is a great city for walking about.
When we arrived and checked in, we were really hungry so we found a tiny eatery round the corner on Russell street, called Two Fingers. Didn't look much from the outside, but the food was great. Visited Victoria market, usual market stalls of clothing/bags/gifts etc but absolutely fantastic for food.

Room Tip: Face towards the river for best views, but you need to be on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestStKildaRoad, General Manager at Flinders Landing Apartments, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our apartments. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and were able to get out and taste some of Melbourne's fantastic food. I love our penthouse apartments. They are very spacious and have fantastic views over to the Yarra and MCG. Most of our apartments do have double glazed windows, especially the ones lower down to minimize the city sounds as much as possible.
Melbourne is such an easy city to get around with cheep or free public transport and many fantastic sights so close to us.
We hope to welcome you back to Melbourne and to Quest on Flinders Lane in the near future.
Thank you again for your review.
Kind Regards
Jessica Mullen
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

I enjoyed staying here on a recent business trip.

The rooms are large andclean, seperate bedroom to the living room. Its great to have a full kitchen so you can make yourself something to eat late at night when work.

Internet speed was good but a bit expensive.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestStKildaRoad, Manager at Flinders Landing Apartments, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Mordi35
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay and recognized how spacious and clean our apartments are. While there are so many great restaurants in the city, if you are staying with us for an extended period of time, sometimes you just feel like a home cooked meal and a break from eating out. Our fully equipped kitchens allow you to cook up a storm in your apartment.
We have great corporate rates available that can include wireless internet. If you choose to stay with us in the future let us know your in Melbourne for business and we can arrange a great corporate rate for you.
Thanks again for your review.
We hope to see you in the near future.
Kind Regards
Jessica Mullen
Property Manager
Quest on Flinders Lane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed here for 4 weeks while working in Melbourne's CBD. The accommodation is adequate and everything in the apartment worked as it should. Having your own laundry facilities is useful.

At night noise from the city could be heard quite clearly until the early hours, this is because of the single glazed windows. However, the saving grace is the fantastic location. 5 minutes walk gets you to Flinders Lane station, Federation Square, the central shopping district, etc.

If you plan to hire a car be careful as parking in the area can be expensive A 2 minute walk will get you to the Avis office in the Hyatt hotel which is very useful though.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestStKildaRoad, Manager at Flinders Landing Apartments, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Dear Michael

Thank you very much for your review of our property. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your extend stay with us. Our apartments are well equipped with kitchen, laundry and everything else you could need on a business trip or vacation.
Our great central location is very handy being in the heart of the CBD with public transport, dining options, entertainment and shopping at your doorstep. The city does come with its noise, however most of our windows are double glazed to minimize the noise indoors.
Parking in the city can be expensive, we do have parking available in a lot next to us and if guests are staying for an extended period we can negotiate parking fees which are significantly lower than you may find elsewhere in the area.

Thank you again for reviewing our property,we hope to see you back again when you are next in town.

Kind Regards
Jessica Mullen
Property Manager
Quest on Flinders Lane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Spent 5 nights in this great apartment-hotel. Had the ground floor one bedroom apartment which was at the back. No noise from street. Great service at reception and daily room service. A five-minute walk to Federation Square and Southbank. Close to tram and train. Highly recommend this gem.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestStKildaRoad, Manager at Flinders Landing Apartments, responded to this review, January 15, 2012
Thankyou for your review of our property. We appreciate the positive feedback regarding our staff and apartments. We especially thankyou for recommending us to other travelers so they can experience the same great service and apartments.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Quest on Flinders Lane when you are next in Melbourne.
Kind Regards
Jessica
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Flinders Landing Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flinders Landing Apartments

Also Known As:
Quest On Flinders Lane Hotel
Quest On Flinders Lane Hotel Melbourne
Address: 161 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Quest on Flinders Lane)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
#64 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flinders Lane is one of the CBD's most sought after residential areas, destined to become your first choice in Melbourne accommodation. All the excitement of Federation Square, Theatres, the Art Centre, Southgate and Crown Entertainment Complex surrounds you, while dozens of tiny bars, restaurants and cafes are at your doorstep. Historic Flinders Street Station and the MCG are just a short stroll away. If you're in Melbourne for business or leisure, the boutique one, two and three bedroom apartments are all complete with unique spacious interior and wireless internet. Executive and Deluxe apartments have two bathrooms and a combination of four single or king bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Flinders Landing Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flinders Landing Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Flinders Landing Apartments to your Saves list