We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GReat Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flinders Landing Apartments

Save Saved
You added Flinders Landing Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Flinders Landing Apartments
161 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Quest on Flinders Lane)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 170 hotels in Melbourne
Perth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“GReat Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We had a 4 night stay in a 2 bedroomed penthouse apartment on the 8th floor, in Cavendish House. It had great views towards the Yarra river and the South Bank buildings. Appartment was great, spacious, well appointed and bright. As with most Australian buildings, there is no double glazing, so quite a lot of city street noise, but not after midnight.
It was in a great location for everything, shops, restaurants, bars, free tram etc. And Melbourne is a great city for walking about.
When we arrived and checked in, we were really hungry so we found a tiny eatery round the corner on Russell street, called Two Fingers. Didn't look much from the outside, but the food was great. Visited Victoria market, usual market stalls of clothing/bags/gifts etc but absolutely fantastic for food.

Room Tip: Face towards the river for best views, but you need to be on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestStKildaRoad, General Manager at Flinders Landing Apartments, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our apartments. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and were able to get out and taste some of Melbourne's fantastic food. I love our penthouse apartments. They are very spacious and have fantastic views over to the Yarra and MCG. Most of our apartments do have double glazed windows, especially the ones lower down to minimize the city sounds as much as possible.
Melbourne is such an easy city to get around with cheep or free public transport and many fantastic sights so close to us.
We hope to welcome you back to Melbourne and to Quest on Flinders Lane in the near future.
Thank you again for your review.
Kind Regards
Jessica Mullen
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    34
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
26
6
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrnambool
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

I enjoyed staying here on a recent business trip.

The rooms are large andclean, seperate bedroom to the living room. Its great to have a full kitchen so you can make yourself something to eat late at night when work.

Internet speed was good but a bit expensive.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestStKildaRoad, Manager at Flinders Landing Apartments, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Mordi35
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay and recognized how spacious and clean our apartments are. While there are so many great restaurants in the city, if you are staying with us for an extended period of time, sometimes you just feel like a home cooked meal and a break from eating out. Our fully equipped kitchens allow you to cook up a storm in your apartment.
We have great corporate rates available that can include wireless internet. If you choose to stay with us in the future let us know your in Melbourne for business and we can arrange a great corporate rate for you.
Thanks again for your review.
We hope to see you in the near future.
Kind Regards
Jessica Mullen
Property Manager
Quest on Flinders Lane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed here for 4 weeks while working in Melbourne's CBD. The accommodation is adequate and everything in the apartment worked as it should. Having your own laundry facilities is useful.

At night noise from the city could be heard quite clearly until the early hours, this is because of the single glazed windows. However, the saving grace is the fantastic location. 5 minutes walk gets you to Flinders Lane station, Federation Square, the central shopping district, etc.

If you plan to hire a car be careful as parking in the area can be expensive A 2 minute walk will get you to the Avis office in the Hyatt hotel which is very useful though.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestStKildaRoad, Manager at Flinders Landing Apartments, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Dear Michael

Thank you very much for your review of our property. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your extend stay with us. Our apartments are well equipped with kitchen, laundry and everything else you could need on a business trip or vacation.
Our great central location is very handy being in the heart of the CBD with public transport, dining options, entertainment and shopping at your doorstep. The city does come with its noise, however most of our windows are double glazed to minimize the noise indoors.
Parking in the city can be expensive, we do have parking available in a lot next to us and if guests are staying for an extended period we can negotiate parking fees which are significantly lower than you may find elsewhere in the area.

Thank you again for reviewing our property,we hope to see you back again when you are next in town.

Kind Regards
Jessica Mullen
Property Manager
Quest on Flinders Lane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Spent 5 nights in this great apartment-hotel. Had the ground floor one bedroom apartment which was at the back. No noise from street. Great service at reception and daily room service. A five-minute walk to Federation Square and Southbank. Close to tram and train. Highly recommend this gem.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestStKildaRoad, Manager at Flinders Landing Apartments, responded to this review, January 15, 2012
Thankyou for your review of our property. We appreciate the positive feedback regarding our staff and apartments. We especially thankyou for recommending us to other travelers so they can experience the same great service and apartments.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Quest on Flinders Lane when you are next in Melbourne.
Kind Regards
Jessica
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

I stayed at Quest on Flinders Lane in 2BR apartment for three nights with my wife and two kids. The apartment was spacious and in great shape, and the service was excellent. We paid AUD199 per night, including one weekend night. Had we known the quality of the place, we would have reserved more time in Melbourne.

LOCATION
The location is as central as it gets. Flanders St station and the circle line tram stop are only one block away, and there are probably a couple of hundred restaurants, cafes and shops withing two or three blocks of the apartment, including Coles Central for groceries. Parking isn't included in the rate, but residents can park at neighboring garage for AUD 20 per day (or exit) which is very modest considering the location and regular parking rates. For drivers the location isn't that great because it takes quite some time to get out of downtown or even just around the block due to one-way streets and downtown traffic.

APARTMENT
The apartment was pretty large with good couches, dining table and well functioning kitchen. There was also a dishwasher and french press available in the apartment, which we hadn't seen in any other rental apartments or cabins during out 3,5-week trip around Australia. One bedroom had a queen bed, and the other one two good single beds. The mattresses and bedding were again better than in any of the 7 comparable and similarly priced properties where we stayed before reaching Melbourne. There were two very clean bathrooms with toiletries provided. The apartment was remarkably quiet considering the location. There's also a washing machine and a dryer in the apartment in case you need to do some maintenance.

FACILITIES
The apartment building doesn't provide any facilities as such except reception. There's no garden, BBQ, or playground, which is natural for a property in such central location. Closest playground that we found is some 15-20 minutes walk from the building behind Melbourne Museum.

SERVICE
The service was excellent as well. We arrived late, but there was a person to let us in and helping us carry our luggage and numerous bags from the rain to the elevator. Daily paper, city maps and such were supplied, and the reception opening hours were long. Apartment was serviced on al days except Sundays and public holidays, which was fine. There were also some menus and contact information of nearby restaurants for ordering food, but we ended up eating out and cooking ourselves.

VERDICT
We'd definitely stay at the Quest on Flinders Lane again, especially if we didn't have a rental car. The apartment would be great for a longer stay, and they'd then probably offer even better rates. The apartment would be as good for a family as for two couples.

Room Tip: I recommend a room in higher floors as the street is very busy with cars and pedestrians from early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestStKildaRoad, Manager at Flinders Landing Apartments, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
Thankyou so much for your detailed review of our property!
It is very encouraging to here such positive feedback and to know you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us at Quest on Flinders Lane.
We do specialize in long term accommodation and do have excellent rates available for extended stays.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Jessica
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment (4C) for 3 nights, although the rooms were spacious there was an unpleasant smell in the room which spoilt the experience, also the rooms were a little noisy. The bathroom supplies had been opened by the previous occupants and not replaced for us. All in all for the price of $270 per night we were disappointed with our stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestStKildaRoad, Manager at Flinders Landing Apartments, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
Thankyou for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Quest Flinders Lane.
We apologise that your stay was let down by the smell in the apartment and the condition of the bathroom amenities.
Our staff would have been happy to replace any items you may require and may have been able to remove the smell with our odour neutralizing products that are quite effective.
We pride ourselves on having excellent housekeeping standards and welcome your feedback to continuously improve our apartments and services.
Kind Regards
Jessica
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here after moving from another serviced accommodation city apartment. At first they cleaned the room and changed the towels every second day. By week 3 I could barely get them to clean once every 5 days. This place is tired, the bed is uncomfortable, lumpy and cheap and there is a rubbish collection point behind the hotel which will wake you for about an hour emptying glass at least two times a week in the early morning. Saying this, it has great light ( despite not being able to open the windows unless you like spiders) nice enough decor and is amazingly central. It would really benefit from new linen- the towels were threadbare.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuestStKildaRoad, Manager at Flinders Landing Apartments, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
Thankyou for your valuable feedback regarding our apartments.
We pride ourselves on our excellent housekeeping standards and there should have been regular housekeeping schedule for your stay. Also between services front office staff will be happy to provide you with extra amenities as required.
We are continuously updating the apartments with new furniture, linen and towels to ensure every guest has an exceptional stay.
We are in a fantastic location in the heart of the CBD so the city does have its noises but most apartments have double glazed windows and are quiet considering the city is right below.
We hope you will consider staying with us again in 2012 to see the changes in the apartments and enjoy Melbourne.
Kind Regards
Jessica
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flinders Landing Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flinders Landing Apartments

Address: 161 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Quest on Flinders Lane)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#58 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flinders Lane is one of the CBD's most sought after residential areas, destined to become your first choice in Melbourne accommodation. All the excitement of Federation Square, Theatres, the Art Centre, Southgate and Crown Entertainment Complex surrounds you, while dozens of tiny bars, restaurants and cafes are at your doorstep. Historic Flinders Street Station and the MCG are just a short stroll away. If you're in Melbourne for business or leisure, the boutique one, two and three bedroom apartments are all complete with unique spacious interior and wireless internet. Executive and Deluxe apartments have two bathrooms and a combination of four single or king bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Flinders Landing Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Flinders Lane Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flinders Landing Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;