We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class service in Chinatown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Punthill Little Bourke

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Punthill Little Bourke to your Saves list
Punthill Little Bourke
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   11 - 17 Cohen Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Top class service in Chinatown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I just wanted to say thank you to the staff at Punthill in Chinatown. They were just fantastic...nothing was too much for them and they were incredibly helpful at all times. They really showed what good service is about. I have stayed in hotels and apartments all around the world and they rate at the top end of my experience. The apartment we had was also excellent – perfect for what we needed. It was always clean (I was amazed that no matter what time of day we went out when we came back the room had been serviced) and it was in a perfect location. If you are looking for good value you can't do better than staying here...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear alan f,
Thanks so much for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill Little Bourke on TripAdvisor.
The team at the property will be thrilled to know that the apartments, location and service exceeded all your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    185
    50
    8
    8
See reviews for
64
157
25
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

great location @ heart of chinatown. excellent service and help provided by reception even though it was a no frills serviced apartment.

had a washing machine/dryer which matters a lot to us travelling as a family.

area of improvement......perhaps complimentary wifi.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear TC_holiday,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Little Bourke.
Great to hear that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay at this city centre property and we look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stayed hear for 5 nights very nice apartments. Great location within walking distance of lots of restaurants great service the staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Rosemarydub,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Little Bourke,
Great to hear that you enjoyed the apartments, service and location of this city apartment hotel, and will happily recommend Punthill too!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

This is my first trip advisor review - never done one before but our experience here pushed me to join and write a review. I travel a lot for work so have stayed in many hotels over the years across the world.

The location of Punthill Little Bourke fantastic, right in the heart of China town and a small walk to lots of great places to eat and things to see. However, we were left disappointed and frustrated at the service we received there.

After travelling on holiday around Australia for over three weeks through various places and hotels/motels of varying quality, Punthill Little Bourke was our final place to stay for a few days before flying home. During our check in we questioned why the price of our room doubled to add a sofa bed in there for a friend who joined us for this part of the trip. We didn't receive a good response and from this point on things went down hill.

After being talked down to by the check in staff (patronisingly explaining how hotels operate) and told we'd have to move rooms the next day, we were assured that the sofa bed (which had doubled the price of our room) would be fully made up - we'd just need to pull it out and sleep. When we came to go to sleep that evening and pull out the sofa bed it was not made at all. We phoned the night porter who instructed us we could make the bed ourselves with the bedding provided in the room - there was no other bedding in the room.

We phoned back to inform the night porter there was no bedding, at which we were told he would bring up a roll up bed for the floor. This we flatly refused - given how much we had paid for the privilege of having a sofa bed in the first place. Over 20 minutes later the night porter arrived at our room with the night manager to make the sofa bed. They admitted it was their fault but said there was nothing they could do about it, we'd have to 'ring reservations'.

The next day we packed up as we had been told we'd have to move rooms for the second night. We phoned reception to ask where we needed to take our luggage and were rudely informed we could stay in the room the second night "as we had been told yesterday". We had not been told this other wise we would not have packed up!

Trying to put this behind us and enjoy the last days of our trip, we went out for the day to enjoy Melbourne. We arrived back at the apartment at around 6pm to find that the room had not been serviced at all. We called the reception again, who failed to believe us and so sent the porter up to make sure we weren't lying.

The room was not serviced and remade at all, rather we were given some new towels by the porter. Again, the porter apologised, admitting it was their fault but stating that there was nothing the staff at the hotel could do about this - we'd have to 'ring reservations'.

Not one person in the hotel was able to adequately answer our questions or resolve any of our issues, it constantly felt like we were being argued with.

If it was just one of these issues, I wouldn't mind. However, this all happened over a two night stay. After seeing how much others on trip advisor have enjoyed Punthills, we were left disappointed - it certainly left a sour taste in our mouths for Melbourne.

I do hope this was a one off, as the location is great and the apartments nice - but if you do have any issues, don't expect anyone in the hotel to have the power or authority to do anything about it. Frustrating to say the least.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear davidbarber86,
We are most disappointed at your review as we feel that we went out of our way to facilitate your requests and to make you comfortable.
You initially booked a studio apartment for 2 people. You then emailed advising that there would be 3 guests, and we responded that there would be an additional charge for a one bedroom apartment rather than a studio, and a charge of $45 per night for the extra person.
On arrival, you queried the rate and after extensive discussion, agreed to pay, stating that you had not received our email since you could not email in Australia. We advised at this stage that we would do our best to keep you in the one bedroom apartment for the remainder of the stay to save you the inconvenience of moving.
We sincerely apologise that we omitted to make the sofa bed; however the only reason we offered you a good quality single bed rather than the sofa bed was to enable you to still use the sofa to sit on. We do not have rollup beds on the floor; we have excellent, proper single beds.
Unfortunately, you acknowledged that you had left the "do not disturb" sign on your door which was the reason why the apartment was not serviced.
On departure, we arranged your airport transfers, stored your luggage and packaged and posted several items for you the following day. We focus on providing exceptional customer service and go out of our way to attend to guests' requirements and requests. We do apologise that your expectations were not met in this case.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Super like this apartment as its in the heart of the cbd. The check in was very smooth as I told them when to expect me. The receptionist was a very nice lady. She was ever so friendly, helpful & made me welcome.
The room was clean with everything working in order on the fifth floor. It was very comfortable & cozy & exactly as what was in the picture.
There's food everywhere & shops the minute you step out of the apartment. Will stay there again.

Room Tip: Request for higher floor as the city does not sleep. there's always people on the street. So it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear sadtab,
Thanks for your review of Punthill Little Bourke.
We agree that the location of this apartment hotel is an ideal base from which to explore all that Melbourne has to offer. Great to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Great location in Melbourne. Walking distance to the Victoria market and central Melbourne. 1minute walk to Her Majesty's Theatre; great food in China Town. Slight issue in the room was fixed immediately by management. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Suse C,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Little Bourke.
Great to hear that you had such a lovely time in Melbourne and would not hesitate to stay at Punthill on your next visit.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights. What a great apartment, we had king sized bed, great kitchenette, fantastic bathroom, so roomy.

Great value for money with servicing of apartment every day, staff very courteous. Bed very comfortable. Had 1 bedroom apartment. Was great to be able to watch TV from the bed.

Loved having clothes airier to put my washing on.

Staff at reception were so helpful and great to deal with. They all deserve a pat on the back.

I don't know why people complain about no wifi, as you know this before you book!!

Would certainly recommend.

Room Tip: Our room faced Cohen Street, was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Shirl071,
Thanks for your lovely comments regarding Punthill Little Bourke.
We are extremely pleased that you found the apartments, service and location met all your expectations and that you will happily recommend Punthill too!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Punthill Little Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Little Bourke

Address: 11 - 17 Cohen Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Punthill Little Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Punthill Little Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Little Bourke Hotel Melbourne
Punt Hill Little Bourke Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punthill Little Bourke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.