We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location for noodles” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Punthill Little Bourke

Save Saved
You added Punthill Little Bourke to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Punthill Little Bourke
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   11 - 17 Cohen Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay and Save
Brisbane
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great location for noodles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

rooms were clean, staff friendly. Not a place for skyline views but you are right inthe heart of melbournes china town and iin arms reach of a melting pot of culture and food. parking is offered at an alternative location but only a few minutes walk.

no need to worry about rating restaurants etc.... it melbourne - way too many choices on the street.

check you have the right costing when booking!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear StuFromOzBrisbane,
So pleased to know that you enjoyed your recent stay at Punthill Little Bourke and we look forward to having you stay with us again sometime soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    141
    40
    6
    7
See reviews for
50
123
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed at Punthill Little Bourke in Melbourne’s China Town with the express purpose of attending the Australian Tennis Open. It was part of a package deal booked through Flight Centre.
The most direct walking route took us twenty minutes from the apartment to the Rod Laver stadium entrance and it was an easy and pleasant stroll home late at night. Victoria Markets are also a short walk away; this apartment building seems to enjoy a very central location.
Staff manning reception were always cheerful, friendly and very helpful. Our room was on the 4th floor and we slept soundly, although there are several night clubs nearby, the apartment was lovely and quiet and the beds comfortable. The unit was clean, spacious and roomy and was serviced daily.
It is a self catering apartment but we only used the beverage making facilities. We didn’t visit the gym and didn’t swim in the lap pool either. We couldn't find a safe in the room and there is a charge for wifi.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear happy_vegemite_too,
It is very pleasing to know that you had such an enjoyable stay at Punthill Little Bourke earlier this year and thanks so much for providing your review. We agree that the property is ideally located to so many city attractions, and you certainly made the most of your time in Melbourne!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast,Qld
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This was the second time that we stayed at Punthill on Little Bourke and we were equally happy with this stay as we were with the last. This is moderately priced accommodation which is clean and comfortable and very well located to walk to many restaurants and trams around the city. Our studio rooms were spacious and had a small kitchenette where you could prepare breakfast if you wished, before venturing out for the day. All in all, Punthill on Little Bourke is a much better option than the regular hotel rooms and I would highly recommend it for those who are looking at reasonably priced accommodation that is clean, spacious and in fantastic location. Our apartments were on the 5th floor and very quiet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear suedickens_58,
Thanks for taking the time to provide your lovely review of Punthill Little Bourke on TripAdvisor.
It is fantastic to know that you enjoy staying at Punthill and are also happy to recommend our property to friends and family.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Better late than never! We stayed here for 3 nights in December in a one bedroom apartment. The best thing about this hotel is definitely the location, right in the middle of China town. Close to trams, restaurants, the shopping mall is only a 5 minute walk down the street. Everything you need is right on your doorstep.

The room - our room looked fantastic, clean, spacious and very comfortable - we sleep on a hard futon at home so I was worried that the bed would be too soft after reading previous reviews. I didn't need to worry as the bed was super comfortable as were the pillows. I loved the huge bathroom and the lovely bath products.
The staff at the front desk were helpful and always had a smile.
There was only one thing that bothered us and that was the heavy doors to the room slam shut very loudly unless you make a point to close them with care. We heard lots of doors slamming shut when we were sleeping, which woke us up with a fright.
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Punthill Little Bourke and would not hesitate to stay again but I think I would also like to try the other Punthills in the area as well.

Room Tip: Choose a room high up so you are above the a/c unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear countrycreature,
We are very pleased to know that overall you enjoyed your stay at Punthill Little Bourke, and thank you for taking the time to provide your comments.
We will check our door closers on our apartment doors to ensure that they are functioning properly.
We hope to welcome you back to one of our Punthill properties sometime soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Had a very nice stay in this hotel, staff were great, and the room was nice.

Location is perfect, right near the theaters, and transport.

The only down-side to the entire trip was we ordered so called "Room Service" from the in-room menu and it was shocking, luke warm and late.

My Wife ended up being sick the next day (Won't go in to detail there), and we are sure t was what we ate.

I guess its not the hotels fault, other than they should vet these food places before taking them on. Hope they can do that.

There are plenty of great restaurants about, wish we had have taken up that option, but we were tired.

Otherwise all else was great. Thanks

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear George W,
We are very pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your recent stay at Punthill Little Bourke in Chinatown.
The in-room menus provided in our apartments comprise of independent restaurants that can supply meals to those guests wishing to have a night in, and this is the first unsatisfactory feedback we have had about any of them. We will endeavour to contact the company to provide your feedback to them though.
Many of our guests also choose to dine at the Tea House Restaurant, which is an excellent and highly regarded restaurant adjoining our reception.
We do hope that your wife is feeling better now, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The hotel is set in the heart of China Town which is great if you're not booked in at Chinese New Year. The streets are blocked off for the festival and after 2 hours we finally found a parking spot and had to wheel our cases through the streets. Our apartment was small, had a leaking kettle, a broken fridge door and a leaking washing machine. Our soap dispenser in the bathroom was empty on arrival and remained that way for the 4 days we stayed there. The cooking facilities are limited and we had no table to sit at to eat. The fitness room consists of a couple of Swiss balls and weight benches. There are too many choices of accommodation in the city to return to this one.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear ArchieChesire,
We are sorry that your recent stay at Punthill Little Bourke was less than satisfactory.
We do encourage our guests to contact our staff at reception for any problems that may arise so that we can rectify the situation immediately. The issues you mention regarding the apartment you were allocated could have been seen to right away.
Our studio apartments have only limited cooking facilities; however, our one bedroom apartments have more comprehensive kitchens.
We would love this guest to contact us directly so that we can ascertain the apartment number to ensure that the issues mentioned are immediately rectified.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This apartment is slightly smaller than most serviced apartments I've been to, its about the size of a large hotel room. However, everything is neat and clean, and has everything you'd expect in a serviced apartment. Location-wise, its in the middle of Chinatown and quite easily accessible to most places in the city and public transport. Also, the bathroom is larger than expected and generally everything felt very comfortable.

Light sleepers might need to ask for a room on a higher floor as we were on the third floor and could hear the Chinese New Year festivities from the Chinatown street festival from our room. It didn't bother us as we were only in the room at night, when most of the noise from the street festival was over.

Front desk is friendly and helpful, I accidentally left a watch in my room after checking out and they rang quickly to inform me.

Fantastic price for what it is, will recommend to others.

Room Tip: Light sleepers should ask for a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Seha_Suhaimi,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill Little Bourke on TripAdvisor.
We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the property and also very happy to know that you will recommend Punthill to friends and family too!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill Apartment Hotels sometime soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Punthill Little Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Little Bourke

Also Known As:
Punthill Little Bourke Hotel Melbourne
Punthill Little Bourke Hotel
Punt Hill Little Bourke Melbourne
Address: 11 - 17 Cohen Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 101 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Punthill Little Bourke 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel and Venere so you can book your Punthill Little Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punthill Little Bourke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.