We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel in excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Punthill Little Bourke

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Punthill Little Bourke to your Saves list
Punthill Little Bourke
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   11 - 17 Cohen Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Perth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great value hotel in excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Better late than never! We stayed here for 3 nights in December in a one bedroom apartment. The best thing about this hotel is definitely the location, right in the middle of China town. Close to trams, restaurants, the shopping mall is only a 5 minute walk down the street. Everything you need is right on your doorstep.

The room - our room looked fantastic, clean, spacious and very comfortable - we sleep on a hard futon at home so I was worried that the bed would be too soft after reading previous reviews. I didn't need to worry as the bed was super comfortable as were the pillows. I loved the huge bathroom and the lovely bath products.
The staff at the front desk were helpful and always had a smile.
There was only one thing that bothered us and that was the heavy doors to the room slam shut very loudly unless you make a point to close them with care. We heard lots of doors slamming shut when we were sleeping, which woke us up with a fright.
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Punthill Little Bourke and would not hesitate to stay again but I think I would also like to try the other Punthills in the area as well.

Room Tip: Choose a room high up so you are above the a/c unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear countrycreature,
We are very pleased to know that overall you enjoyed your stay at Punthill Little Bourke, and thank you for taking the time to provide your comments.
We will check our door closers on our apartment doors to ensure that they are functioning properly.
We hope to welcome you back to one of our Punthill properties sometime soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    185
    50
    8
    8
See reviews for
64
157
25
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Had a very nice stay in this hotel, staff were great, and the room was nice.

Location is perfect, right near the theaters, and transport.

The only down-side to the entire trip was we ordered so called "Room Service" from the in-room menu and it was shocking, luke warm and late.

My Wife ended up being sick the next day (Won't go in to detail there), and we are sure t was what we ate.

I guess its not the hotels fault, other than they should vet these food places before taking them on. Hope they can do that.

There are plenty of great restaurants about, wish we had have taken up that option, but we were tired.

Otherwise all else was great. Thanks

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear George W,
We are very pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your recent stay at Punthill Little Bourke in Chinatown.
The in-room menus provided in our apartments comprise of independent restaurants that can supply meals to those guests wishing to have a night in, and this is the first unsatisfactory feedback we have had about any of them. We will endeavour to contact the company to provide your feedback to them though.
Many of our guests also choose to dine at the Tea House Restaurant, which is an excellent and highly regarded restaurant adjoining our reception.
We do hope that your wife is feeling better now, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The hotel is set in the heart of China Town which is great if you're not booked in at Chinese New Year. The streets are blocked off for the festival and after 2 hours we finally found a parking spot and had to wheel our cases through the streets. Our apartment was small, had a leaking kettle, a broken fridge door and a leaking washing machine. Our soap dispenser in the bathroom was empty on arrival and remained that way for the 4 days we stayed there. The cooking facilities are limited and we had no table to sit at to eat. The fitness room consists of a couple of Swiss balls and weight benches. There are too many choices of accommodation in the city to return to this one.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear ArchieChesire,
We are sorry that your recent stay at Punthill Little Bourke was less than satisfactory.
We do encourage our guests to contact our staff at reception for any problems that may arise so that we can rectify the situation immediately. The issues you mention regarding the apartment you were allocated could have been seen to right away.
Our studio apartments have only limited cooking facilities; however, our one bedroom apartments have more comprehensive kitchens.
We would love this guest to contact us directly so that we can ascertain the apartment number to ensure that the issues mentioned are immediately rectified.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This apartment is slightly smaller than most serviced apartments I've been to, its about the size of a large hotel room. However, everything is neat and clean, and has everything you'd expect in a serviced apartment. Location-wise, its in the middle of Chinatown and quite easily accessible to most places in the city and public transport. Also, the bathroom is larger than expected and generally everything felt very comfortable.

Light sleepers might need to ask for a room on a higher floor as we were on the third floor and could hear the Chinese New Year festivities from the Chinatown street festival from our room. It didn't bother us as we were only in the room at night, when most of the noise from the street festival was over.

Front desk is friendly and helpful, I accidentally left a watch in my room after checking out and they rang quickly to inform me.

Fantastic price for what it is, will recommend to others.

Room Tip: Light sleepers should ask for a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Seha_Suhaimi,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill Little Bourke on TripAdvisor.
We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the property and also very happy to know that you will recommend Punthill to friends and family too!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill Apartment Hotels sometime soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My son and I shared a one bedroom apartment while taking a short trip for the tennis. Our apartment was central to everything. A short walk or easy tram ride to all the attractions like the tennis, soccer stadium, Victoria Street Market, the theatres etc.

Our apartment was clean, comfortable and very quiet.

It included a kitchenette that had everything I might need to make a small meal such as breakfast. Being in the middle of Chinatown, I had no need or desire to cook mother meals.

We had air conditioning, a big TV, comfortable beds and enough space to feel comfortable. Free internet is available downstairs and pay for use internet is available in the rooms.

I would stay there again and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Jennifer L,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill Little Bourke.
We are thrilled to know that you had such an enjoyable stay at the property and are happy to recommend Punthill Little Bourke to your friends too!
We hope to see you again at Punthill sometime soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter Valley
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We chose to stay here because of the Tripadvisor reviews, we are not disappointed. Our room was large, great bathroom & kitchen. Well located in the heart of Melbourne. Quiet & the staff were very accommodating. We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for peace & quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear CharlieDylan,
Thanks so much for your comments regarding Punthill Little Bourke.
We are very pleased to read that you had such an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill sometime soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFM
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

This "hotel" wannabe is not Nice at all. You can certainly not feel comfortable.
It is old and the light setting is just wrong. the bed mattress is far too soft. You can also hear quite a lot of noise coming from upstairs or next door. Walk to city centre 5 min. Located in middle of Chinatown.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear manuelamaier,
We are sorry that you found your recent stay at Punthill Little Bourke unsatisfactory.
All Punthill beds have a mattress topper on them which most guests find luxurious and comfortable, however a few guests do find them too soft, and we can definitely remove them if requested.
Most guests do find Punthill Little Bourke a very comfortable apartment hotel, and we strongly urge you to contact us directly so that we can discuss your concerns.
We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Punthill Apartment Hotels another time.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Punthill Little Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Little Bourke

Address: 11 - 17 Cohen Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Punthill Little Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Punthill Little Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Little Bourke Hotel Melbourne
Punt Hill Little Bourke Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punthill Little Bourke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.