We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Punthill Little Bourke

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Punthill Little Bourke to your Saves list
Punthill Little Bourke
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   11 - 17 Cohen Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
yorkshire
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Central location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

A great place to stay to explore Melbourne. The staff were very friendly, helpful and informative. The apartments are well appointed, have every thing you need for long or short stays. Cooking facilities, hotplates as well as a microwave,washing machine, iron and ironing board as well as a hairdryer. It's quite quiet considering the location asPunthill is in the heart of China Town so access to great restaurants, transport and shops are within easy walking distance.The Flower Drum just a round the corner in Market Lane is rated as a first class restaurant specialising in Cantonese cuisine.Her Majesty's Theatre is not far for those who enjoy the theatre and for those who like comedy the Exford Pub is close by too.A great place to stay whilst in Melbourne

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    183
    49
    8
    8
See reviews for
62
156
25
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I was travelling with my husband and 6-year-old son so we needed somewhere that was close to the shops. The best thing about Punthill is the great location, we were right in Chinatown. Buses, trams, restaurants, shopping and many tourist attractions were all within walking distance. The rooms were clean and had everything we needed. We booked a one bedroom apartment and asked for an extra bed for our son which was charged separately from the room, thought the mattress was a little lumpy. Service was very prompt every time we asked for extra toiletries or other room items.

Our only complaint would be the noise on Saturday nights. Sounds of partying and glass bottles being thrown away, but no problems on any other nights.

Room Tip: Corner one bedroom units have a nice, long corridor so you have a bit of extra space for luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Spacious one bedroom. Had a small balcony which was nice. I needed to let fresh air in frequently as the room did get hot & stuffy even in winter/autumn, so you would definitely need the aircon in summer. The bedroom is one of those screen off ones, so not completely private if travelling with others, but the sofa bed worked well. Housekeeping was great. A nice bonus these days to get daily cleaning / towels and bedmaking. The bedroom is very dark when closed up, but great for sleeping. Couldn't hear outside noise from the bedroom, but could from lounge / sofa bed. One think to get right is the master power switches. Unlike modern swipe card holders in most rooms that keep lights & power on when putting your swipe key in, this room has central power switches which take a bit of getting used to. However, overall there is nothing bad to say at all, except the pool could have been better. It is just a lap pool with no step or railings to help ypu in and out..Overall, a very good experience and higher quality than expected for the price. Thanks so much.

Room Tip: Lovely to have a balcony. Remember to ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

did enjoy my stay but i want balcony but you have to confirm by ring few day before,,, i did not get my balcony ...so ring to confirm .. by ring hotel....before hand... location near everything..... and bite noise on satursday night....

Room Tip: ring to conform.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Great place to stay if you want to be in the thick of the action. A short walk to attractions and shopping districts such as Bourke and Swanston streets.

The room was plentiful with ample space to store clothes. Although the lighting was a bit mix matched the room and lounge felt good to relax on in between eating and shopping missions. The view, looking out onto aircon of adjacent buildings, was not great and it seemed that the tiny balcony was mainly for smokers but I was only on the 4th floor (but staying in the city will get you that at times). Other rooms/floors may differ. The bathroom was spacey and the spa worked well, apart from needing some minor maintenance touch ups (the soap dispensers on the wall are a good idea but were covered in old soap underneath).

Parking was $19 per 24 hours and was located very close by at a multi-storey carpark. This seemed to be the average price in the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Great spot to explore Melbourne right in the middle of China Town. Excellent value for the money. Clean, large and although we were in the front rooms no noise from the street. Bed was new and it was evident the place had been updated . Guy on front desk was helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: Front rooms were fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
360 reviews 360 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

- Clothes iron was gummy and black, unusable
-staff rude: I asked for an extra flat sheet and the lady at the desk told me FIVE different times that this was the oddest request she has ever had and never heard of such a thing
- The washing machine/dryer did not work and ran for hours all night long (leaving clothes a wet mess once we forced it to shut off; when we mentioned it to staff we were told we did not use it properly, really? There are DETAILED directions on an orange card that we followed EXACTLY but it is our fault we had this problem?)
-we asked for an extra hour for check out and were told no, so I said for all of the problems I had with this room I think an extra hour is not too much to ask for, the man at the desk was grumpy (check out is 10-, check in is 2- there is plenty of time to clean the room, this is not such a big favor to ask for) the same man then shows up at our room moments later pounding repeatedly on our door, my friend was wet in a bath towel, just out of the shower, he did not call to ask if it was ok to come over to look at shower, just showed up unannounced pounding repeatedly on our door (do not disturb sign was on door) he tried to literally push his way into our room, my friend and I were annoyed and put off by this behavior, he said he was trying to help us by fixing the dryer, why not tell me/ask me on the phone he wanted to come up ask us if it was ok? We had already rung out the clothes and packed them in a plastic bag for travel.
-sofa bed did not work, had to have a staff member come up to our room late in the evening to fix it (this staff member was nice)
-not once was there an apology just attitude
-extra blankets were on the floor of the closet, no plastic wrapping, did not appear clean, seemed used by how they were folded.
-no soap in the soap pump container on wall

-we liked how there was a divider door for the main bed to the living room area
-well stocked kitchenette
-nice lay out of room
-clothes dryer rack in room

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeiranS, Manager at Punthill Little Bourke, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guests,
We are sorry to hear that your expectations were not realized when you stayed with us. We feel that the problem may have arisen because the reservation was made for 2 people but in fact 3 people occupied the apartment.
The washing machine/dryer has been checked and is working efficiently and it seems that possibly you chose the incorrect cycle.
We train and retrain staff continuously and pride ourselves on delivering excellent service with a smile and goodwill. Excellent customer service is vital in the hospitality industry and should be a priority for all Punthill staff.
We have addressed all matters mentioned by you with staff at the property and would love to welcome you back. Please contact our General Manager,Tania Sreco, when you next wish to travel to Melbourne and Tania will ensure you are well looked after and have a wonderful stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Punthill Little Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Little Bourke

Address: 11 - 17 Cohen Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Punthill Little Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Punthill Little Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Little Bourke Hotel Melbourne
Punt Hill Little Bourke Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punthill Little Bourke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.