We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for the price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Punthill Little Bourke

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Punthill Little Bourke to your Saves list
Punthill Little Bourke
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   11 - 17 Cohen Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Not bad for the price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2008

I planned a shopping/spa weekend with my sister and decided to go with Punt Hill Little Bourke, since it was so close to everything. Have stayed at Punt Hill Manhattan and was pretty impressed with it so decided to go with another location under the same company. We were quite lucky to get a room because it was end of November and it seemed everyone had booked places for holidays! Anyway, I called the hotel and the lady was very nice to give me a 1 bedroom apartment for a very reasonable price - $175 pn for 2 weekend nights (other places were jacking up their Saturday nights!)

Although not spectacular, the place was clean and quite spacious and comfortable. We had a queen bed, couch and all the usual kitchenware you would expect in an apartment. There was also good airconditioning and LCD TV's in front of our bed so it made relaxing an ease...especially since we were shopping on hot summery days! There is also a lap pool but it was so small in size we didn't bother trying it.

Being close to the city was a bonus and being slightly off Little Bourke St, it wasn't as hectic as it would be in the main street. However because we stayed weekend nights, restaurants take out their garbage quite late at night and I could hear everything. I would suggest asking for a room on a higher level or bring earplugs!

Apart from that, we were quite pleased. There is a great selection of in-house movies and the staff are pleasant to deal with.

  • Liked — The LCD tv and in house movies!
  • Disliked — the noise you can hear from Lt Bourk St at night
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    185
    50
    8
    8
See reviews for
63
157
25
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2006

We stayed in this tidy and clean hotel in Chinatown in July 2005.
The location was fantastic - right in the middle of Chinatown and hence not too far to wallk to the CBD, Lygon street, the prison, etc. Federation square and the museums are a little further away but the trams are convenient to get there. Heaps of restaurants, internet cafes and shops only a hop, skip and a jump away. We only paid about $130 per night making it a reasonable price conscious alternative to other budget hotels.

The room was clean, tidy, spacious and was quiet. We had views of back alleys and the back of another building but that was okay because we were out and about most of the time. The Gym/Lap pool was a bit overrated (the gym equipment all looked old and dodgy and the room wasn't the cleanest).

Overall a very reasonable place to stay in Melbourne and good value for what you get.

  • Stayed July 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2006

We had a fantastic stay at Punt Hill Little Bourke. We arrived on an early morning flight and went to Punt Hill to drop off our bags but unexpectedly were given access to our room immediately (check in was the usual 2.00pm), this was great as we could freshen up and hit the shops. The team at Little Bourke were so helpful, and very friendly - great ambassadors for their city. This is my fourth trip to Melbourne and this is the best hotel I have stayed in by far. My daughter swam in the lap pool every day and used the gym. We found the hotel to be very clean!
Punt Hill is in an excellent location, in vibrant Chinatown, we loved the sights, smells and sounds of this area of town. I will be staying here again on my next trip to Melbourne. Great work Punt Hill!!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armidale
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2005

We stayed in the Punt which is in Chinatown for three nights (pre booked) and didn't enjoy our stay. The room was not clean, crumbs on the lounge and the carpet and the blankets were covered in long black hairs. The airconditioner broke down on our first night, management did move us to another room, for which we were grateful. But overall our stay was not great

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Punthill Little Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Little Bourke

Address: 11 - 17 Cohen Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Punthill Little Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Punthill Little Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill Little Bourke Hotel Melbourne
Punt Hill Little Bourke Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punthill Little Bourke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.