We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartment style hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sebel Melbourne Docklands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Sebel Melbourne Docklands to your Saves list
The Sebel Melbourne Docklands
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Aquitania Way, New Quay, Docklands | Cnr Aquitania Way & Marmion Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia (Docklands)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Penrith, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great apartment style hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Went to Melbourne with a group of 9 Friends, 7 of us stayed in 4 Separate rooms at The Sebel at Docklands. The hotel is new, and very modern, the rooms are large and clean as is the rest of the hotel. The rooms all had two tv's one in the bedroom, one in the lounge room, the lounge room TV has foxtel, and has hundreds of channels. The hotel has its own tennis court, roof top garden with BBQ facilities, indoor pool, Spa, Sauna and gym all of which are top notch. Staff were helpful, had some small delays at check in. Hotel is on the free city circle tram line so easy to get around. Will stay again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Service was poor, rooms were dusty, light globes out in room, no manuals in rooms, spa not working and pool not heated. Overall very disappointing for a new player in the market. Better value elsewhere

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joeltrain36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Modern design & great location apartments. Will stay again, initially was a couple of small hiccups with room however the staff handled this immediately I notified them by moving me. Reception staff lovely & helpful, left my jacket in original room was in reception waiting as I had the do not disturb on new room & they knew how tried was instead of bothering me had left for me to grab on checkout. Lots of great restaurants nearby but rooms have kitchen if want to prepare own meals.

Room Tip: supermarket & the free circle route tram very close by. Also a great Italian along the waterfron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank vallju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, General Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear vallju,

Thankyou for your review of your recent stay with us. It is pleasing to read how the team were able to initially assist you and then exceed your expectations with their handling of your lost item. I have shared your feedback with the team.

Looking forward to your next stay with us.

Best regards,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

What an awesome hotel. From the interior of the reception to the modern mirrored lifts every detail has been thought about. We didn't use the pool but it looked amazing. Great for doing laps. Our room was excellent, very classy décor, Austar, king bed, air-con in bedrooms and lounge room. Very impressed. Hotel is in a good area as well, close to some great restaurants and cafés. Couldn't fault anything, thank you for our pleasant stay. Would definitely return.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, General Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear MelG,

I am very pleased to read your review and appreciate your positive comments about the apartments and our ameneities. Hopefully next time you will have time for a swim...

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I think the Sebel is a lovely hotel and have now stayed there twice. My only complaint is the older female receptionist. I found her to be totally unprofessional with no people skills on both stays. If she was employed by me I would have replaced her long ago. On reading other reviews it appears that I am not the only customers who have had problems with her. I have a stay booked at the Sebel in a few months and hope that I will not have to deal with her again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WAM414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark R, General Manager at The Sebel Melbourne Docklands, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear WAM414,

Thankyou for your recent feedback and positive comments regarding the property. I am disappointed regarding the interaction with one of our team members. I would appreciate if you would contact me on the below email so that I could discuss further with you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the coming months.

My email - mrobertson@sebeldocklands.com.au

Regards,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I was able to check in early upon arrival. The room was well equipped with amenities. Fresh, modern design throughout the building, and an accessible balcony to enjoy the weather from the room. Restaurants, cafés and shops are all within walking distance, also a tram stop is located around the corner, including the free city circle tram. Docklands is a lovely area to take a stroll around the water front.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank HeLikesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Nice clean modern room for an over night in Melbourne. The only negative is that reception / checkin area is not all that welcoming and process to checkin was slow in comparison to other hotels.

Room had all we needed including comfortable beds and lounge area as well as quality bathrooms.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Brad E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Docklands
Grand Mercure Docklands
Grand Mercure Docklands
#89 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 517 reviews
Docklands
Travelodge Docklands
Travelodge Docklands
#47 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 2,300 reviews
Quest Docklands
#64 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#30 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Melbourne Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Melbourne Docklands

Address: 18 Aquitania Way, New Quay, Docklands | Cnr Aquitania Way & Marmion Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sebel Melbourne Docklands 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABOUT THE SEBEL Spacious and elegantly decorated apartments offer guests privacy and headspace as well as kitchen facilities and a dining area, allowing for tailor made self sufficiency. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The Sebel Melbourne Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing